No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 15, 2015

    Mary Helen Specht: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Mary Helen Specht



    Migratory Animals is mostly set in Texas during the first years of the most recent recession, when the cast of characters — an eclectic group... Continue »
    1. $10.49 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Migratory Animals (P.S.)

      Mary Helen Specht 9780062346032

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Coyote Warrior: One Man, Three Tribes, and the Trial That Forged a Nation

Coyote Warrior: One Man, Three Tribes, and the Trial That Forged a Nation Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From White Shield to Washington DC, new Indian wars are being fought by Ivy League-trained lawyers called Coyote Warriors—among them a Mandan/Hidatsa named Raymond Cross. Coyote Warrior tells the epic story of the three tribes that saved Lewis and Clarks Corps of Discovery from starvation, those tribes' century-long battle to forge a new nation, and the extraordinary journey of one man to redeem a fathers dream and the dignity of his people.

 
Cross graduated from law school and, following his fathers death, returned home to resurrect his fathers fight against the federal government. His mission would lead him to Congress, which his father had battled forty years earlier, and into the hallowed chambers of the U.S. Supreme Court. There the great-great-grandson of Chief Cherry Necklace would lay at the feet of the nations highest court the case for the sanctity of the United States Constitution, treaty rights, and the legal survival of Indian Country.

Synopsis:

"A Civil Action" meets Indian country, as one man takes on the federal government and the largest boondoggle in U.S. history--and wins.

Synopsis:

- In the tradition of A Civil Action, COYOTE WARRIOR is the inspirational story of one man who went up against powerful interests and won. This landmark work combines riveting courtroom drama with an epic and true American history.- The Garrison Dam was the linchpin of a 110-dam irrigation and flood control system planned by the Army Corps of Engineers that, 50 years later, has cost U.S. taxpayers $20 billion and has yet to produce a single drop of irrigated water for the farmers who lobbied for it.- Raymond Cross's great-great-grandfather Chief Cherry Necklace sheltered Lewis and Clark during the frigid winter of 1804, saving them from freezing and certain starvation.- VanDevelder's work on native issues was awarded first-place honors by the Native American Journalists Association.

About the Author

Paul VanDevelder has been an investigative reporter, photojournalist, and documentary filmmaker for more than twenty years. His award-winning work has appeared in the New York Times, National Geographic Traveler, Audubon, Esquire, and the Seattle Times.
 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Randy, August 20, 2007 (view all comments by Randy)
You will come away angry after reading this book. Yes, justice is done in the end, but at what price? Coyote Warrior reminds us that the "Indian Wars" did not stop when the guns were silenced. The battle just shifted its venue.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803296312
Subtitle:
One Man, Three Tribes, and the Trial that Forged a Nation
Publisher:
Bison Books
Author:
Vandevelder, Paul
Subject:
History
Subject:
Indians of north america
Subject:
Legal History
Subject:
Native American
Subject:
United States - State & Local - Midwest
Subject:
United States Politics and government.
Subject:
United States Social policy.
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20051101
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Illus., map
Pages:
324
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Native American » General Native American Studies
History and Social Science » Native American » Pacific Northwest
History and Social Science » Native American » Plains
History and Social Science » Sociology » General

Coyote Warrior: One Man, Three Tribes, and the Trial That Forged a Nation
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 324 pages Bison Books - English 9780803296312 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , "A Civil Action" meets Indian country, as one man takes on the federal government and the largest boondoggle in U.S. history--and wins.
"Synopsis" by , - In the tradition of A Civil Action, COYOTE WARRIOR is the inspirational story of one man who went up against powerful interests and won. This landmark work combines riveting courtroom drama with an epic and true American history.- The Garrison Dam was the linchpin of a 110-dam irrigation and flood control system planned by the Army Corps of Engineers that, 50 years later, has cost U.S. taxpayers $20 billion and has yet to produce a single drop of irrigated water for the farmers who lobbied for it.- Raymond Cross's great-great-grandfather Chief Cherry Necklace sheltered Lewis and Clark during the frigid winter of 1804, saving them from freezing and certain starvation.- VanDevelder's work on native issues was awarded first-place honors by the Native American Journalists Association.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.