The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.50
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Children's Picture Books- A to Z

Ladybug Girl

by

Ladybug Girl Cover

ISBN13: 9780803731950
ISBN10: 0803731957
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: None
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Joone likes the color orange, ice-cream sandwiches, and playing outside. She lives in a yurt with her grandfather and her pet turtle, Dr. Chin, who rides around on her hat. Grandpa teaches Joone something new every day. Sometimes Joone teaches him something new, too, like how to make a daisy chain. Together they enjoy life’s small joys—sunsets, tree houses, and most of all, each other.
 
Emily Kate Moon’s debut picture book is a charming tribute to the outdoors and a tender portrait of a grandfather and granddaughter’s loving relationship. Fans of Ladybug Girl, Freckleface Strawberry, and even Dora the Explorer will fall in love with this independent, free-spirited little girl.

Review:

"Preschooler Lulu, told to amuse herself, mopes about for a bit, then finds that her ladybug costume — red tutu, wings, red polka-dot boots and a headband with antennae — helps her morph into a bigger, braver character. 'Is that rock in your way, ants?' she asks. 'I can help you! I'm Ladybug Girl!' Similarly heroic deeds follow as Lulu makes the case that, contrary to her older brother's claim, she's not little — she feels 'as big as the whole outdoors.' Husband-and-wife team Soman and Davis's first collaboration shows potential. Little girls whose confidence, ambition and dress-up collections outrun their actual ages will recognize themselves in Lulu, and parents may enjoy her, too. The characterization is believable and the visual pacing solid, and the family's basset hound, his movements echoing Lulu's, serves as a likable foil. The chatty text, however, often explains what's already shown, and the narrative perspective sometimes appears to waver between adult and child ('Lulu can't read yet, but she knows her letters. She finds a lot of L's'). Ages 4-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

The first hardcover picture book in the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series, which encourages independence and creative play, and celebrates imagination for every preschool child!

 

When Lulu puts on her ladybug costume, she becomes Ladybug Girl, a superhero who uses her imagination to have adventures right in her own backyard. Her dog, Bingo the basset hound, is always by her side and the two prove that they are not too little to explore nature, build forts, and make their own big fun.

 

For fans of Fancy Nancy and Toot and Puddle, the Ladybug Girl series honors individuality, creativity, and a love of the outdoors!

 

Synopsis:

Ladybug Girl has outgrown her favorite pair of boots! So her mom takes her to the shoe store to buy another pair. Children will learn their colors with Ladybug Girl as she tries on new boots--until she finds the perfect pair!

About the Author

Jacky Davis and David Soman live in Rosendale, New York.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803731950
Author:
Davis, Jacky
Publisher:
Dial Books
Illustrator:
Soman, David
Author:
Soman, David
Author:
Moon, Emily Kate
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Imagination
Subject:
Imagination & Play
Subject:
Family - Siblings
Subject:
Play
Subject:
Children s-Imagination and Play
Subject:
Readers - Beginner
Subject:
Concepts - Colors
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Picture book
Series:
Ladybug Girl
Publication Date:
20080331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
40
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Children's Book Type:
Picture / Wordless
Age Level:
04-08

Other books you might like

  1. Someday Used Hardcover $6.50
  2. Old Bear
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  3. Great Good Thing Used Mass Market $1.00
  4. I Am the Messenger
    Used Trade Paper $7.00

Related Subjects


Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » Imagination and Play
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General
Children's » Picture Books » Miniature Books
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy
Children's » Sale Books

Ladybug Girl Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.50 In Stock
Product details 40 pages Dial Books - English 9780803731950 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Preschooler Lulu, told to amuse herself, mopes about for a bit, then finds that her ladybug costume — red tutu, wings, red polka-dot boots and a headband with antennae — helps her morph into a bigger, braver character. 'Is that rock in your way, ants?' she asks. 'I can help you! I'm Ladybug Girl!' Similarly heroic deeds follow as Lulu makes the case that, contrary to her older brother's claim, she's not little — she feels 'as big as the whole outdoors.' Husband-and-wife team Soman and Davis's first collaboration shows potential. Little girls whose confidence, ambition and dress-up collections outrun their actual ages will recognize themselves in Lulu, and parents may enjoy her, too. The characterization is believable and the visual pacing solid, and the family's basset hound, his movements echoing Lulu's, serves as a likable foil. The chatty text, however, often explains what's already shown, and the narrative perspective sometimes appears to waver between adult and child ('Lulu can't read yet, but she knows her letters. She finds a lot of L's'). Ages 4-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
The first hardcover picture book in the New York Times bestselling Ladybug Girl series, which encourages independence and creative play, and celebrates imagination for every preschool child!

 

When Lulu puts on her ladybug costume, she becomes Ladybug Girl, a superhero who uses her imagination to have adventures right in her own backyard. Her dog, Bingo the basset hound, is always by her side and the two prove that they are not too little to explore nature, build forts, and make their own big fun.

 

For fans of Fancy Nancy and Toot and Puddle, the Ladybug Girl series honors individuality, creativity, and a love of the outdoors!

 

"Synopsis" by ,
Ladybug Girl has outgrown her favorite pair of boots! So her mom takes her to the shoe store to buy another pair. Children will learn their colors with Ladybug Girl as she tries on new boots--until she finds the perfect pair!
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.