The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $12.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Hawthorne Children's- Graphic Novels

Dragonbreath

by

Dragonbreath Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Danny Dragonbreath and his best friend, Wendell, have a carefully constructed trick-or-treating system designed to maximize their Halloween candy haul. But this year, despite Danny's awesome vampire costume, their plan is flopping. First, Danny's dad makes them trick-or-treat with Christiana Vanderpool, an annoying know-it-all (and girl) who doesn't even believe that dragons exist. And then the school bully dares them to go into a spooky old haunted house. Naturally, the house is inhabited by a creepy clown and a candy-crazed ghost of yore. It's going to take more than fire-breathing to get them out of this mess - they might even have to (horror of horrors!) perform a sacrificial candy offering.

Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Bad Kitty, and Big Nate, Ursula Vernon's hauntingly hilarious fifth book in the Dragonbreath series will make you check your closets and lock up your candy.

Review:

"Vernon's (Nurk: The Strange, Surprising Adventures of a Somewhat Brave Shrew) fiction/graphic novel hybrid stars an audacious young dragon who can't get the knack of breathing fire. After Danny Dragonbreath gets an F on his science paper about the ocean-written at the last-minute on the school bus and describing 'the rare and elusive snorkelbat'-his teacher tells him to rewrite it. To research the topic, Danny and his pal Wendell, a timid iguana, head for the Sargasso Sea. Guided by Danny's sea serpent cousin, Edward, the two encounter creatures like an octopus that can become polka-dotted or striped, 'mermen' guarding Atlantis and a vampire squid that emits 'a cloud of glowing snot.' (They also learn about the bends, which Edward equates to 'shaking a can of soda, only inside your body.') Illustrated with comic book-style art with a lime-green wash, the story gets some spark from wry asides presented in speech balloons ('Why couldn't you have gone to the library instead?' wails Wendell as a giant squid approaches). But scattered amusing snippets don't quite keep the tale afloat. Ages 8-12." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Danny Dragonbreath is the sole mythical creature in a school for reptiles and amphibians. He's a dragon with no fire, but a lot of guts. Using a hybrid of comic-book panels and text, Vernon introduces an irresistible set of characters with a penchant for getting themselves into sticky situations.

Synopsis:

Danny Dragonbreath knows girls are trouble, but the new foreign exchange student, Suki the Salamander, is beyond trouble. Not only has she reduced his best friend, Wendell, to a blithering lovesick tadpole, but she's also the object of an elaborate ninja frog kidnapping plot.

Synopsis:

Danny Dragonbreath can't breathe fire, but he has no fear. And that comes in handy when a bad grade at school inspires him to enlist his cousin the sea-serpent's help with a research project. Using a hybrid of comic-book panels and text, Ursula Vernon introduces an irresistible set of characters that will have readers laughing until smoke comes out of their noses!

Synopsis:

It's not easy for Danny Dragonbreath to be the sole mythical creature in a school for reptiles and amphibians?especially because he can't breathe fire like other dragons (as the school bully loves to remind him). But having a unique family comes in handy sometimes, like when his sea-serpent cousin takes Danny and his best iguana friend on a mindboggling underwater tour, complete with vomiting sea cucumbers and giant squid. It sure beats reading the encyclopedia to research his ocean report . . .

Using a hybrid of comic-book panels and text, Ursula Vernon introduces an irresistible set of characters with a penchant for getting themselves into sticky situations. It's perfect for both the classroom and fans of Wimpy Kid and Bad Kitty.

 

About the Author

Ursula Vernon has written one other middle-grade novel, Nurk: The Strangs, Surprising Adventures of a (Somewhat) Brave Shrew, which was selected for Oprah's Book Club Kids Reading List. She lives in Raleigh, NC, where she writes, draws, creates oddities, and is an occasional practictioner of the sword art of iaido.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803733633
Author:
Vernon, Ursula
Publisher:
Dial Books
Author:
Various
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Bullies
Subject:
Comics & Graphic Novels - General
Subject:
Animals - Marine Life
Subject:
Animals, mythical
Subject:
Dragons
Subject:
Comics & Graphic Novels
Subject:
Children s-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Dragonbreath
Series Volume:
5
Publication Date:
20090631
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
160
Dimensions:
6.92x5.78x.67 in. .65 lbs.
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. Alibi Junior High Used Hardcover $5.50
  2. The Worst-Case Scenario Survival... Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Frogs and Toads
Children's » Animals » Mythical
Children's » Comics and Graphic Novels » General
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Series » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Bullying

Dragonbreath Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 160 pages Dial Books - English 9780803733633 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Vernon's (Nurk: The Strange, Surprising Adventures of a Somewhat Brave Shrew) fiction/graphic novel hybrid stars an audacious young dragon who can't get the knack of breathing fire. After Danny Dragonbreath gets an F on his science paper about the ocean-written at the last-minute on the school bus and describing 'the rare and elusive snorkelbat'-his teacher tells him to rewrite it. To research the topic, Danny and his pal Wendell, a timid iguana, head for the Sargasso Sea. Guided by Danny's sea serpent cousin, Edward, the two encounter creatures like an octopus that can become polka-dotted or striped, 'mermen' guarding Atlantis and a vampire squid that emits 'a cloud of glowing snot.' (They also learn about the bends, which Edward equates to 'shaking a can of soda, only inside your body.') Illustrated with comic book-style art with a lime-green wash, the story gets some spark from wry asides presented in speech balloons ('Why couldn't you have gone to the library instead?' wails Wendell as a giant squid approaches). But scattered amusing snippets don't quite keep the tale afloat. Ages 8-12." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Danny Dragonbreath is the sole mythical creature in a school for reptiles and amphibians. He's a dragon with no fire, but a lot of guts. Using a hybrid of comic-book panels and text, Vernon introduces an irresistible set of characters with a penchant for getting themselves into sticky situations.
"Synopsis" by , Danny Dragonbreath knows girls are trouble, but the new foreign exchange student, Suki the Salamander, is beyond trouble. Not only has she reduced his best friend, Wendell, to a blithering lovesick tadpole, but she's also the object of an elaborate ninja frog kidnapping plot.
"Synopsis" by ,
Danny Dragonbreath can't breathe fire, but he has no fear. And that comes in handy when a bad grade at school inspires him to enlist his cousin the sea-serpent's help with a research project. Using a hybrid of comic-book panels and text, Ursula Vernon introduces an irresistible set of characters that will have readers laughing until smoke comes out of their noses!
"Synopsis" by ,
It's not easy for Danny Dragonbreath to be the sole mythical creature in a school for reptiles and amphibians?especially because he can't breathe fire like other dragons (as the school bully loves to remind him). But having a unique family comes in handy sometimes, like when his sea-serpent cousin takes Danny and his best iguana friend on a mindboggling underwater tour, complete with vomiting sea cucumbers and giant squid. It sure beats reading the encyclopedia to research his ocean report . . .

Using a hybrid of comic-book panels and text, Ursula Vernon introduces an irresistible set of characters with a penchant for getting themselves into sticky situations. It's perfect for both the classroom and fans of Wimpy Kid and Bad Kitty.

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.