The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.98
List price: $17.99
Sale Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Picture Books- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Picture Books- General

King Jack and the Dragon

by

King Jack and the Dragon Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A lively playtime adventure that becomes a warm and cozy bedtime bookperfect for every little knight-in-training. From the illustrator of the award-winning Were Going on a Bear Hunt.

 

Night is falling and playtime is nearly over. But brave King Jack and his faithful knights Zak and Caspar are still protecting their castle fort from fierce dragons and terrible beasts. This captivating, joyful make-believe adventure is the perfect bedtime story for brave children everywhere. Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Dinosaur Roar will especially enjoy this imaginative tale.

An ALA Notable Book

Bank Street Book Committee Best Childrens Books of the Year

Kate Greenaway Award

“Its an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parents embrace.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

“A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

 

“Sure to be read aloud again and again, this testament to imaginative play exudes warmth.”—Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Fort making is one of the great enterprises of childhood, but just in case the art has been lost to some, Bently (The Great Dog Bottom Swap) and Oxenbury (There's Going to Be a Baby) open their felicitous collaboration with what is essentially an illustrated instruction manual: 'A big cardboard box,/ an old sheet and some sticks,/ a couple of trash bags,/ a few broken bricks,/ a fine royal throne/ from a ragged old quilt,/ a drawbridge, a flag — / and the castle was built.' Declaring himself king, Jack leads his friends Zack and Caspar in defending the fort against a menagerie of imaginary creatures. But when Jack's knights are carried off by giants (their parents), Jack finds that a solo defense of the fort is no picnic: 'He wished he was anything else but a king.' Bently's verse never misses a beat, and Oxenbury shifts between monochromatic, engraving-like drawings and pale watercolors; the images feel as if they were drawn from a classic fairy tale book and contemporary life simultaneously. It's an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent's embrace. Ages 3 — 5. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Brave King Jack and his faithful knights, Sir Zack and baby Casper, spend all day fighting fierce dragons and terrible beasts in their homemade fort. But night is falling, bedtime is looming, and playtime is nearly over. When Sir Zack and Caspar are taken inside for bed, King Jack - alone on his throne - finds himself feeling a bit less brave . . . especially when he hears a thing approaching, a thing with four legs.

A fantasy adventure and comforting bedtime tale in one. With Helen Oxenbury's spare, expressive illustrations, this classic in the making is perfect for imaginative preschoolers everywhere, and certainly for fans of There's a Nightmare in my Closet and Where the Wild Things Are.

Synopsis:

An irresistible knights-and-dragons fantasy for the very young, in the tradition of Oxenbury's enduring classic We're Going on a Bear Hunt

Jack, Zack, and baby Caspar spend all day fighting dragons in their homemade fort. But when Sir Zack and Caspar are taken inside for bed, King Jack - alone on his throne - finds himself feeling a bit less brave . . . especially when he hears a thing approaching, a thing with four legs.

A rollicking read-aloud with a charming surprise ending and Helen Oxenbury's spare, expressive illustrations, this kid-pleaser is a classic in the making.

About the Author

Peter Bently lives in Devon, England, with his wife and their two children.

Helen Oxenbury, the New York Times bestselling illustrator of Ten Little Fingers, Ten Little Toes and We're Going on a Bear Hunt, lives with her husband, the illustrator John Burningham, in North London, England.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803736986
Author:
Bentley, Peter
Publisher:
Dial Books
Author:
Oxenbury, Helen
Author:
Bently, Peter
Subject:
Children s Animals-Animal Stories-Mythical
Subject:
Children s-Imagination and Play
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20110831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from P up to K
Language:
English
Pages:
32
Dimensions:
7 x 5.04 x 0.64 in 0.56 lb
Age Level:
from 3 up to 5

Other books you might like

  1. The Boy from the Dragon Palace: A... Sale Hardcover $11.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Mythical
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » Imagination and Play
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
Children's » Picture Books » General

King Jack and the Dragon Sale Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.98 In Stock
Product details 32 pages Dial Books - English 9780803736986 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Fort making is one of the great enterprises of childhood, but just in case the art has been lost to some, Bently (The Great Dog Bottom Swap) and Oxenbury (There's Going to Be a Baby) open their felicitous collaboration with what is essentially an illustrated instruction manual: 'A big cardboard box,/ an old sheet and some sticks,/ a couple of trash bags,/ a few broken bricks,/ a fine royal throne/ from a ragged old quilt,/ a drawbridge, a flag — / and the castle was built.' Declaring himself king, Jack leads his friends Zack and Caspar in defending the fort against a menagerie of imaginary creatures. But when Jack's knights are carried off by giants (their parents), Jack finds that a solo defense of the fort is no picnic: 'He wished he was anything else but a king.' Bently's verse never misses a beat, and Oxenbury shifts between monochromatic, engraving-like drawings and pale watercolors; the images feel as if they were drawn from a classic fairy tale book and contemporary life simultaneously. It's an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent's embrace. Ages 3 — 5. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
Brave King Jack and his faithful knights, Sir Zack and baby Casper, spend all day fighting fierce dragons and terrible beasts in their homemade fort. But night is falling, bedtime is looming, and playtime is nearly over. When Sir Zack and Caspar are taken inside for bed, King Jack - alone on his throne - finds himself feeling a bit less brave . . . especially when he hears a thing approaching, a thing with four legs.

A fantasy adventure and comforting bedtime tale in one. With Helen Oxenbury's spare, expressive illustrations, this classic in the making is perfect for imaginative preschoolers everywhere, and certainly for fans of There's a Nightmare in my Closet and Where the Wild Things Are.

"Synopsis" by , An irresistible knights-and-dragons fantasy for the very young, in the tradition of Oxenbury's enduring classic We're Going on a Bear Hunt

Jack, Zack, and baby Caspar spend all day fighting dragons in their homemade fort. But when Sir Zack and Caspar are taken inside for bed, King Jack - alone on his throne - finds himself feeling a bit less brave . . . especially when he hears a thing approaching, a thing with four legs.

A rollicking read-aloud with a charming surprise ending and Helen Oxenbury's spare, expressive illustrations, this kid-pleaser is a classic in the making.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.