The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Health and Medicine- Medical Biographies

Singular Intimacies: Becoming a Doctor at Bellevue

by

Singular Intimacies: Becoming a Doctor at Bellevue Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Abraham Verghese and Atul Gawande, a gripping memoir of learning medicine in the trenches

Singular Intimacies is the story of becoming a doctor by immersion at Bellevue Hospital, the oldest public hospital in the country—and perhaps the most legendary. It is both the classic inner-city hospital and a unique amalgam of history, insanity, beauty, and intellect. When Danielle Ofri enters these 250-year-old doors as a tentative medical student, she is immediately plunged into the teeming world of urban medicine: mysterious illnesses, life-and-death decisions, patients speaking any one of a dozen languages, overworked interns devising creative strategies to cope with the feverish intensity of a big-city hospital.

Yet the emphasis of Singular Intimacies is not so much on the arduous hours in medical training (which certainly exist here), but on the evolution of an instinct for healing. In a hospital without the luxury of private physicians, where patients lack resources both financial and societal, where poverty and social strife are as much a part of the pathology as any microbe, it is the medical students and interns who are thrust into the searing intimacy that is the doctor-patient relationship. In each memorable chapter, Ofris progress toward becoming an experienced healer introduces not just a patient in medical crisis, but a human being with an intricate and compelling history. Ofri learns to navigate the tangled vulnerabilities of doctor and patient, not simply battle the disease.

Dr. Danielle Ofri is an attending physician in the medical clinic at Bellevue, with an academic appointment at NYU. She is the co-founder and editor-in-chief of the Bellevue Literary Review, and her essays have been published in over a dozen literary and medical journals; one chapter of this book was selected by Stephen Jay Gould for The Best American Essays of 2002 and received the Missouri Review Editors Prize for Nonfiction. She is also associate chief editor of the award-winning textbook The Bellevue Guide to Outpatient Medicine.

About the Author

Dr. Danielle Ofri, author of Singular Intimacies (Beacon / 7252-4 / $24.00 hc), is an attending physician at Bellevue and the cofounder and editor-in-chief of the Bellevue Literary Review. She is currently a regular contributor to the Los Angeles Times and the New England Journal of Medicine.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780807072523
Subtitle:
Becoming a Doctor at Bellevue
Author:
Ofri, Danielle
Publisher:
Beacon Press
Location:
Boston, Mass.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Education & Training
Subject:
Medical - Physicians
Subject:
Physicians
Subject:
Women physicians
Subject:
Medical history taking
Subject:
General Medical
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20030415
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.83x5.79x.98 in. .98 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Intern Blues: The Timeless... New Trade Paper $15.99
  2. Complications
    Used Hardcover $9.50
  3. The South Beach Diet: The Delicious,... Used Hardcover $3.50
  4. Blindsided: Lifting a Life Above... Used Hardcover $1.95
  5. Womens Bodies Womens Wisdom
    Used Book Club Paperback $1.25

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Essays
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Biographies

Singular Intimacies: Becoming a Doctor at Bellevue Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Beacon Press - English 9780807072523 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.