The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $8.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General

The Breadwinner

by

The Breadwinner Cover

ISBN13: 9780888994165
ISBN10: 0888994168
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An eye-opening, heart-rending tale of love, honor and betrayal from NBC foreign news correspodent Atia Abawi

Fatima is a Hazara girl, raised to be obedient and dutiful. Samiullah is a Pashtun boy raised to defend the traditions of his tribe. They were not meant to fall in love. But they do. And the story that follows shows both the beauty and the violence in current-day Afghanistan as Fatima and Samiullah fight their families, their cultures and the Taliban to stay together. Based on the people Atia Abawi met and the events she covered during her nearly five years in Afghanistan, this stunning novel is a must-read for anyone who has lived during America's War in Afghanistan.

Perfect for fans of Patricia McCormick, Linda Sue Park, and Khaled Hosseini, this story will stay with readers for a long time to come.

Advanced Praise for THE SECRET SKY:

"[The Secret Sky is] a tale of the indomitable Afghan spirit of hope and love. Among the many novels set in Afghanistan for young people or for adults, The Secret Sky stands alone. Unputdownable. Unforgettable." –Trent Reedy, author of Words in the Dust

“The Secret Sky brilliantly captures the magic and the heartbreak of Afghanistan as only someone rooted in its mystery can....This first novel by a top foreign correspondent has the authenticity of raw journalism and the poetry of a gifted writer. A must read for anyone who wants to understand the contradictions of the Afghan soul.” –Andrea Mitchell, NBC News Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent and anchor of Andrea Mitchell Reports

 

“A riveting tale written from the heart....This powerful love story will leave you angry at injustice, and awed by courage. It shocks and inspires.” –Lyse Doucet, Chief International Correspondent, BBC

The Secret Sky is an amazing combination of utterly searing and beautifully romantic. It was like reading The Kite Runner—a gripping story that gave insight to this brutal yet magical culture.” –Daphne Benedis-Grab, author of The Girl in the Wall

 

Synopsis:

Young Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan. Because Parvana's father has a foreign education, he is arrested by the Taliban. Women cannot appear in public unless covered head to toe, go to school, or work outside the home, so the family becomes increasingly desperate until Parvana conceives a plan.

Synopsis:

The Breadwinner brings to life an issue that has recently exploded in the international media — the reality of life under the Taliban. Young Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan. Because he has a foreign education, her father is arrested by the Taliban, the religious group that controls the country. Since women cannot appear in public unless covered head to toe, or go to school, or work outside the home, the family becomes increasingly desperate until Parvana conceives a plan. She cuts her hair and disguises herself as a boy to earn money for her family. Parvanas determination to survive is the force that drives this novel set against the backdrop of an intolerable situation brought about by war and religious fanaticism. Deborah Ellis spent several months talking with women and girls in Afghan refugee camps in Pakistan and Russia. This suspenseful, timely novel is the result of those encounters. Royalties from the sale of The Breadwinner will go toward educating Afghan girls in Pakistani refugee camps. “...a potent portrait of life in contemporary Afghanistan, showing that powerful heroines can survive even in the most oppressive ... conditions.” — Booklist

About the Author

Atia Abawi is a foreign news correspondent who was stationed for almost five years in Kabul, Afghanistan. She was born to Afghan parents in West Germany and was raised in the United States. She currently lives in Jerusalem with her husband, Conor Powell. You can follow her on Twitter @AtiaAbawi.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Gaye, November 12, 2006 (view all comments by Gaye)
This book tells the story of a young girl's life in Afganistan. It is an excellent choice for young girls who are interested in learning about a lifestyle totally alien to them.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780888994165
Author:
Ellis, Deborah
Publisher:
Groundwood Books
Author:
Abawi, Atia
Location:
Toronto
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Afghanistan
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Girls
Subject:
Social Situations - Violence
Subject:
People & Places - Asia
Subject:
Sex role
Subject:
Women's rights
Subject:
Survival
Subject:
Loyalty
Subject:
Disguise
Subject:
Families
Subject:
Kåabol
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Violence
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Love & Romance
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
141
Publication Date:
20011031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5 in 6 oz
Age Level:
10-12

Other books you might like

  1. The Broken Blade (Fiction)
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  2. The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Found
    Sale Trade Paper $3.98
  4. The Singing Tree (Puffin Newbery...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Golden Mountain Chronicles #1903:... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. A Wrinkle in Time
    Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects


Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Young Adult » Featured Titles
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Violence
Young Adult » General

The Breadwinner Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Groundwood Books - English 9780888994165 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Young Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan. Because Parvana's father has a foreign education, he is arrested by the Taliban. Women cannot appear in public unless covered head to toe, go to school, or work outside the home, so the family becomes increasingly desperate until Parvana conceives a plan.
"Synopsis" by ,
The Breadwinner brings to life an issue that has recently exploded in the international media — the reality of life under the Taliban. Young Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan. Because he has a foreign education, her father is arrested by the Taliban, the religious group that controls the country. Since women cannot appear in public unless covered head to toe, or go to school, or work outside the home, the family becomes increasingly desperate until Parvana conceives a plan. She cuts her hair and disguises herself as a boy to earn money for her family. Parvanas determination to survive is the force that drives this novel set against the backdrop of an intolerable situation brought about by war and religious fanaticism. Deborah Ellis spent several months talking with women and girls in Afghan refugee camps in Pakistan and Russia. This suspenseful, timely novel is the result of those encounters. Royalties from the sale of The Breadwinner will go toward educating Afghan girls in Pakistani refugee camps. “...a potent portrait of life in contemporary Afghanistan, showing that powerful heroines can survive even in the most oppressive ... conditions.” — Booklist
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.