25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays, Recipes | August 19, 2015

    Cara Nicoletti: IMG Ramona Quimby Yogurt-Marinated Chicken Thighs



    As a kid, I read for two reasons: the first, and most common, was to escape from my everyday life by imagining a different one — to read about... Continue »
    1. $19.60 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Nautical- Nautical Lore

Red Summer: The Danger and Madness of Commercial Salmon Fishing in Alaska

by

Red Summer: The Danger and Madness of Commercial Salmon Fishing in Alaska Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Painting a visceral portrait of the life of commercial fishermen in the remote Eskimo village of Egekik, Alaska, this intense memoir depicts the author's four summers spent with a crew of seasonal salmon netters. Distinguishing itself from a typical adventure, this recollection relates the unforgiving supervision of the experienced female crew-chief, who along with her rugged shipmates lives by the credo: do the work or leave. From an encounter with an overly-inquisitive grizzly bear and being swamped by a mother-ship in open waters to the customary run-ins with colorful locals, this record is certain to appeal to adventurers, nature lovers, and armchair travelers alike. In the tradition of Jon Krakauer, Peter Matthiessen, and Sebastien Junger, this is an honest and vivid story of what it means to leave so-called civilization behind for a life full of danger, excitement, untold beauty, and physically grueling work.

About the Author

Bill Carter is a former commercial fisherman and an award-winning documentary filmmaker and photographer. He has written for Mens Journal, Outside, Rolling Stone, and Spin and is the author of Fools Rush In. His documentary film, Miss Sarajevo, was awarded the International Monitor Award, the Golden Hugo Award, and the Maverick Director Award. He lives in Bisbee, Arizona.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780982433287
Subtitle:
The Danger and Madness of Commercial Salmon Fishing in Alaska
Author:
Carter, Bill
Publisher:
Schaffner Press, Inc.
Subject:
Animals - Fish
Subject:
Polar Regions
Subject:
Fishing - General
Subject:
United States - Pacific - Alaska
Subject:
Regional
Subject:
Fisheries & Aquaculture
Subject:
Fishing
Subject:
Americana - Alaska
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20100601
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8 x 5 x 1 in

Related Subjects


Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General
Science and Mathematics » Oceanography » Fisheries
Science and Mathematics » Oceanography » General
Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » Fishing and Hunting » Fishing » General
Transportation » Nautical » Nautical Lore

Red Summer: The Danger and Madness of Commercial Salmon Fishing in Alaska Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Schaffner Press - English 9780982433287 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.