No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 14, 2015

    Marie Mutsuki Mockett: IMG On Trimming Roses



    Gardens do not wait. Weeds grow and flowers wilt. In the days and weeks following my father's death, my parents' garden continued to flourish and... Continue »
    1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $17.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton GN- SUPERHERO&SERIES
1 Burnside GN- SUPERHERO&SERIES

This title in other editions

Identity Crisis :JLA

by and

Identity Crisis :JLA Cover

ISBN13: 9781401204587
ISBN10: 1401204589
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The best-selling, critically acclaimed comics event written written by New York Times best-selling author Brad Meltzer (Green Arrow) with art by Rags Morales and Michael Bair (Wonder Woman) is now available in a stunning softcover edition! This volume collects 2004's evocative 7-issue miniseries that took all-too-human look into the lives of super-heroes, and the terrible price they pay for doing good.

When the spouse of a JLA member is brutally murdered, the entire super-hero community searches for the killer, fearing their own loved ones may be the next targets! But before the mystery is fully solved, a number of long-buried secrets rise to the surface, threatening to tear apart and divide the heroes before they can bring the mysterious killer to justice.

Bonus features for this edition include extended commentary by Meltzer and Morales, the rest of the creative team talking about their favorite moments, a look at Morales's sketchbook and more!

Review:

"This seven-issue miniseries by bestselling author Meltzer (The Zero Game) was both wildly popular and reviled, and the collection shows that both views have merit. It does knock the rust off scores of DC characters while opening avenues to explore post-9/11 morality. On the other hand, it trashes the roles of characters whom readers have come to consider old friends and tampers outrageously with years' worth of continuity. The story begins shockingly when the wife of the minor super hero Elongated Man is brutally murdered. Things get increasingly serious as other members of the Justice League of America find that their loved ones are targets. The super villains are a lot nastier than they used to be; the heroes, meanwhile, are forced to admit that they could have been responsible for some of what's gone wrong when they started tampering with the minds of villains who deserved it or even fellow heroes who merely disapproved of the idea. This makes familiar heroes more morally ambiguous — more human — and the old, easy trust is lost, with long-term consequences still to be revealed in future DC story lines. In the meantime, Meltzer's script and Bair's inking of Morales's penciled art serves the realistic aspect of the characters very well, making this book a genuine comics landmark. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"[T]his story has had great impact on DC's current output, making it a must-read for many." Library Journal

Synopsis:

This volume collects 2004's evocative seven-issue miniseries that takes an all-too-human look into the lives of superheroes, and the terrible price they pay for doing good.

About the Author

Meltzer graduated summa cum laude from the University of Michigan and earned a law degree from Columbia University in 1996.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Andree, September 5, 2013 (view all comments by Andree)
In the vein of "Watchmen" and "V for Vendetta", "Identity Crisis" is as hard hitting as any gritty crime novel. The Justice League deals with some brutal things, and the mystery here is deep and dark. The characterizations are amazingly sharp-it gives us a good look into the personal lives of superheroes, and we realize that they may not be as candy coated as they seem. I would definitely recommend this to any DC fan.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781401204587
Author:
Brad Meltzer and Rags Morales
Publisher:
DC Comics
Introduction by:
Whedon, Joss
Introduction:
Whedon, Joss
Illustrator:
Morales, Rags
Author:
Meltzer, Brad
Author:
Morales, Rags
Subject:
Graphic Novels - Superheroes
Subject:
Heroes
Subject:
Justice League of America (Fictitious charact
Subject:
Super Heroes
Subject:
Comic books, strips, etc.
Subject:
Murder
Subject:
Graphic Novels
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20060831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
10.15 x 6.6 x 0.38 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Our Worlds at War (Superman) Used Trade Paper $15.95
  2. Aphrodite IX New Trade Paper $14.99
  3. Danger Girl: The Ultimate Collection Used Trade Paper $12.95
  4. The Magdalena: Blood Divine Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Infinite Crisis New Trade Paper $17.99
  6. The Fourth Order New Mass Market $7.99

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Crime and Mystery
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Superheroes
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » General

Identity Crisis :JLA Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 288 pages DC Comics - English 9781401204587 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This seven-issue miniseries by bestselling author Meltzer (The Zero Game) was both wildly popular and reviled, and the collection shows that both views have merit. It does knock the rust off scores of DC characters while opening avenues to explore post-9/11 morality. On the other hand, it trashes the roles of characters whom readers have come to consider old friends and tampers outrageously with years' worth of continuity. The story begins shockingly when the wife of the minor super hero Elongated Man is brutally murdered. Things get increasingly serious as other members of the Justice League of America find that their loved ones are targets. The super villains are a lot nastier than they used to be; the heroes, meanwhile, are forced to admit that they could have been responsible for some of what's gone wrong when they started tampering with the minds of villains who deserved it or even fellow heroes who merely disapproved of the idea. This makes familiar heroes more morally ambiguous — more human — and the old, easy trust is lost, with long-term consequences still to be revealed in future DC story lines. In the meantime, Meltzer's script and Bair's inking of Morales's penciled art serves the realistic aspect of the characters very well, making this book a genuine comics landmark. (Sept.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[T]his story has had great impact on DC's current output, making it a must-read for many."
"Synopsis" by , This volume collects 2004's evocative seven-issue miniseries that takes an all-too-human look into the lives of superheroes, and the terrible price they pay for doing good.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.