Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $8.25
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Science Fiction and Fantasy- A to Z

This title in other editions

One Day on Mars

by

One Day on Mars Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

1.       This is the real thing—science fiction written by a real scientist who is also a gifted writer, following in the footsteps of Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Charles Sheffield, and other top-selling scientist-authors.

2.       Like Travis’s Warp Speed, this new novel has a rapid-fire story action and suspense. At the same time, cutting-edge science is deftly incorporated into the story, in the tradition of Larry Niven, Robert A. Heinlein, James P. Hogan, and other masters of real science fiction.

3.       Featured book on Baen.com.

4.       Award-winning cover art.

It’s 24 on Mars: a nonstop futuristic thrill-ride, all in one day, through the critical events which were the breaking point for the underclass of Martian citizens and precipitated a revolution to break the Martian colonists free from the formidable Sol System government. The formerly red planet—now in danger of again becoming red, blood red—would never be the same, nor would the human race. It was one day that changed the course of history for the Solar System, raging from hand-to-hand combat to piloted armored mecha suits clashing to an enormous space battle, with dedicated heroes on both sides of the conflict wondering if they were doing the right thing—and if they would live to see another day. And wondering, as well, if the spark of this new war, that would eventually reach across whole star systems, would bring them peace One Day on Mars.

Synopsis:

This nonstop futuristic thrill-ride takes readers through the critical events which had been the breaking point for the underclass of Martian citizens. Their actions had precipitated a revolution to free themselves from the formidable Sol System government.

About the Author

Travis S. Taylor—“Doc” Taylor to his friends—has earned his soubriquet the hard way: He has a doctorate in optical science and engineering, a master's degree in physics, a master's degree in aerospace engineering, all from the University of Alabama in Huntsville; a master's degree in astronomy, and a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering from Auburn University. Dr. Taylor has worked on various programs for the Department of Defense and NASA for the past sixteen years. He's currently working on several advanced propulsion concepts, very large space telescopes, space-based beamed energy systems, and next generation space launch concepts. In his copious spare time, Doc Travis is also a black belt martial artist, a private pilot, a SCUBA diver, has raced mountain bikes, competed in triathlons, and has been the lead singer and rhythm guitarist of several hard rock bands. He currently lives in Alabama with his wife Karen, and their daughter.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416591573
Author:
Taylor, Travis S
Publisher:
Baen
Author:
Taylor, Travis S.
Author:
Taylor, Travis
Subject:
Science Fiction - Adventure
Subject:
Science Fiction - Space Opera
Subject:
Science / General
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
War stories
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Adventure
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20090224
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
464
Dimensions:
6.75 x 4.19 in 8.015 oz

Other books you might like

  1. By Schism Rent Asunder Used Mass Market $3.95
  2. Zoe's Tale Used Mass Market $3.95
  3. Vampire Earth #07: Fall with Honor Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. The Judas Strain (Sigma Force Novels) Used Mass Market $4.50
  5. Map of Bones: A SIGMA Force Novel
    Used Mass Market $1.95
  6. Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher Novels)
    Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

» Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
» Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Adventure

One Day on Mars Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 464 pages Baen Books - English 9781416591573 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , This nonstop futuristic thrill-ride takes readers through the critical events which had been the breaking point for the underclass of Martian citizens. Their actions had precipitated a revolution to free themselves from the formidable Sol System government.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and eBooks — here at Powells.com.