Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 29, 2014

    Neil Patrick Harris: IMG Neil Patrick Harris: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
List price: $13.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General
14 Local Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl (Dork Diaries)

by

Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl (Dork Diaries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Aand#160;smart superhero book for girls with plenty of glitter--perfect for fans of The Powerpuff Girls.

It all started with a mysterious purple goo...

What happens when four best friends find themselves splattered with a bubbling, genetically altering substance during a seemingly innocent sleepover in a secret, see-through, high-tech, futuristic lab? They develop superpowers, thatand#8217;s what! Iris, Cheri, Scarlet, and sometimes Opaline have become . . .

and#160;
THE ULTRA VIOLETS
and#160;
After a super baddie face-off with the mutants in the Mall of No Returns, the girls know Chronic Prep is in periland#133;

and#160;

Bursting with glitter rainbows IRIS must keep her crazy artistic skills a secret.

and#160;

CHERI and her sweetie skunk Darth Odor smell something fishy and none of the math is adding up.

and#160;

High-kick, ninja cha-cha dance moves win SCARLET the lead role in the school play but even that isnand#8217;t enough to distract her from the truth.

and#160;

And itand#8217;s all because OPALINE is turning their classmates into real debbie downers. Can the Ultra Violets stop her evil plan before their friendsand#8217; brains are French fried?

Better find out soon because...THE FUCHSIA IS NOW!

Review:

"In this follow-up to her popular Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not So Fabulous Life, Russell offers a slight but amusing tale of a middle-school nerd who finds she is not so nerdy after all. The book is structured as the diary of Nikki Maxwell, with pages designed to look like handwritten, heavily illustrated entries. The story follows Nikki's trials and tribulations in the face of harassment from the most popular girl in class, a possibly requited crush on her lab partner, kooky plans from her boy-crazy best friends, and complications from her pesky little sister. Things spin out of control when Nikki finds herself with three commitments the night of the big dance. The most affecting, original parts of the book are Nikki's attempts to balance her excitement over her budding romance and her loyalty to her friends. The rest of the plot covers the well-trod territory of the lonely but lovable outsider. Filled with manga-inspired artwork, the story should amuse younger readers, but not challenge them. Ages 9 — 13. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Recipe for disaster:

4 parties.

Add 2 friends and 1 crush.

Divide by 1 mean girl out to RUIN Nikki.

Mix well, put fingers over eyes, and CRINGE!

Settled in at her new school and flanked by awesome friends Chloe and Zoey, life is looking up for Nikki Maxwell, especially since her crush, Brandon, asked her to be his lab partner—a seriously awesome development. However, when Nikki overhears mean girl Mackenzie bragging that Brandon’s taking her to the Halloween dance, a bummed Nikki signs on to spend Halloween at a kids’ party with her little sister, Brianna, instead. After she finds out Mackenzie was lying and her dream of going to the party with Brandon could be a reality, Nikki has two events to juggle . . . plus plenty of other entertaining trials and tribulations along the way!

DorkDiaries.com

Synopsis:

A smart superhero book for girls with plenty of glitter--perfect for fans of The Powerpuff Girls.

It all started with the mysterious purple goo . . .

What happens when four best friends find themselves splattered with a bubbling, genetically altering substance during a seemingly innocent sleepover in a secret, see-through, high-tech, futuristic lab? They develop superpowers, that's what! Iris, Cheri, Scarlet, and Opaline are destined to become . . .

THE ULTRA VIOLETS

IRIS: Visionary, artist, leader—the glitter glue that holds the group together!

 
CHERI: A girly girl on platform rollerskates who's never met a rescue puppy or a nail polish she didnt immediately-and-madly love. 
 
SCARLET: Short enough that you wont see her sneaking up behind you. Freckled enough that you might mistake her for innocent. But look out!
 
OPALINE: Loveable, huggable, supershy, sweet as pie . . . or is she?

THE FUCHSIA IS NOW!

About the Author

Rachel Renee Russell is an attorney who prefers writing children’s books to legal briefs. She currently resides in Michigan.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416980087
Author:
Russell, Rachel Renee
Publisher:
Aladdin Paperbacks
Author:
Russell, Rachel Rene
Author:
Russell, E.
Author:
Russell, Rachel Ren
Author:
E
Author:
Bell, Sophie
Author:
Rachel Ren
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Comics & Graphic Novels - General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Subject:
humor; diaries; Dork Diaries; hybrid novel; crush; crush; middle school; friendship; dork; reading; popular kids; popular girls; books for girls; books for middle school; books for fourth graders; books for fifth graders; books for sixth graders; books fo
Edition Description:
Hardback - Paper Over Boards
Series:
The Ultra Violets
Series Volume:
2
Publication Date:
20100631
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f/c cvr; b/w int ill
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8 x 5.5 in 14.35 oz
Age Level:
09-12

Other books you might like

  1. Flat Stanley 40th Anniversary Edition
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other... Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Collectible » Girls Adventure
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence

Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl (Dork Diaries) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Aladdin Paperbacks - English 9781416980087 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this follow-up to her popular Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not So Fabulous Life, Russell offers a slight but amusing tale of a middle-school nerd who finds she is not so nerdy after all. The book is structured as the diary of Nikki Maxwell, with pages designed to look like handwritten, heavily illustrated entries. The story follows Nikki's trials and tribulations in the face of harassment from the most popular girl in class, a possibly requited crush on her lab partner, kooky plans from her boy-crazy best friends, and complications from her pesky little sister. Things spin out of control when Nikki finds herself with three commitments the night of the big dance. The most affecting, original parts of the book are Nikki's attempts to balance her excitement over her budding romance and her loyalty to her friends. The rest of the plot covers the well-trod territory of the lonely but lovable outsider. Filled with manga-inspired artwork, the story should amuse younger readers, but not challenge them. Ages 9 — 13. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Recipe for disaster:

4 parties.

Add 2 friends and 1 crush.

Divide by 1 mean girl out to RUIN Nikki.

Mix well, put fingers over eyes, and CRINGE!

Settled in at her new school and flanked by awesome friends Chloe and Zoey, life is looking up for Nikki Maxwell, especially since her crush, Brandon, asked her to be his lab partner—a seriously awesome development. However, when Nikki overhears mean girl Mackenzie bragging that Brandon’s taking her to the Halloween dance, a bummed Nikki signs on to spend Halloween at a kids’ party with her little sister, Brianna, instead. After she finds out Mackenzie was lying and her dream of going to the party with Brandon could be a reality, Nikki has two events to juggle . . . plus plenty of other entertaining trials and tribulations along the way!

DorkDiaries.com

"Synopsis" by ,
A smart superhero book for girls with plenty of glitter--perfect for fans of The Powerpuff Girls.

It all started with the mysterious purple goo . . .

What happens when four best friends find themselves splattered with a bubbling, genetically altering substance during a seemingly innocent sleepover in a secret, see-through, high-tech, futuristic lab? They develop superpowers, that's what! Iris, Cheri, Scarlet, and Opaline are destined to become . . .

THE ULTRA VIOLETS

IRIS: Visionary, artist, leader—the glitter glue that holds the group together!

 
CHERI: A girly girl on platform rollerskates who's never met a rescue puppy or a nail polish she didnt immediately-and-madly love. 
 
SCARLET: Short enough that you wont see her sneaking up behind you. Freckled enough that you might mistake her for innocent. But look out!
 
OPALINE: Loveable, huggable, supershy, sweet as pie . . . or is she?

THE FUCHSIA IS NOW!

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.