Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
List price: $16.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Bruised

by

Bruised Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

 
When Imogen, a sixteen-year-old black belt in Tae Kwon Do, freezes during a holdup at a local diner, the gunman is shot and killed by the police, and she blames herself for his death. Before the shooting, she believed that her black belt made her stronger than everyone else—more responsible, more capable. But now that her sense of self has been challenged, she must rebuild her life, a process that includes redefining her relationship with her family and navigating first love with the boy who was at the diner with her during the shoot-out. With action, romance, and a complex heroine, Bruised introduces a vibrant new voice to the young adult world—full of dark humor and hard truths.

Praise for Bruised

STARRED REVIEW

"Offering psychological drama and an introduction to martial-arts code of behavior, the book has a meaningful message about power, control, and the internal bruises carried by victims."

Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Her story is compelling, and readers will stick with her as new insights bring about a believable shift in her behavior…This distinctive debut will be appreciated by fans of contemporary fiction."

Kirkus Reviews

"This layered first novel explores the aftereffects of the trauma, convincingly depicting why Imogen blames herself for a situation over which she had no control. Skilton also sensitively depicts the bond and tentative romance that develops between Imogen and Ricky. The main story line about Imogens struggle to come to terms with what she did (and did not do) is nuanced and honest."

Horn Book

"This is a useful exploration of the difference between fantasy-style omnipotence and the complexity of real-life human strength."

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Skilton does a fine job capturing how a psychological process after trauma can take time and might manifest in unique, sometimes unexpected, ways."

VOYA Magazine

"Poignant and emotionally raw at times and humorous at others, this debut novel adeptly portrays a shattered life in the wake of an unexpected act of violence and the road back to normalcy."

School Library Journal

"Here is a writer to watch who handles complex issues with sensitivity in the vein of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen."

Booklist

Review:

"In this problem novel that quickly takes a romantic turn, first-time author Skilton paints a vivid portrait of a girl whose shame leads to an identity crisis. Sixteen-year-old Imogen is the youngest black belt in her tae kwon do dojang. She can break boards with her feet and toss a man twice her size, but when her skills are tested during a diner holdup, she cowers rather than acts, and a man dies. Having lost her confidence and her pride, Imogen is ready to give up martial arts until Ricky — another witness of the holdup — asks her to teach him how to throw a punch. While working with Ricky, Imogen makes discoveries about her passions and fears, while reflecting on her disabled father, playboy brother, and tae kwon do teacher, as well as Ricky himself, the one person who understands what she's going through. Offering psychological drama and an introduction to a martial-arts code of behavior, the book has a meaningful message about power, control, and the internal bruises carried by victims. Ages 12 — up. Agent: Sara Megibow, Nelson Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

When Imogen, a 16-year-old black belt in Tae Kwon Do, freezes during a holdup at a local diner, the gunman is shot and killed by the police, and she blames herself for his death. Before the shooting, she believed that her black belt made her stronger than everyone else—more responsible, more capable. But now that her sense of self has been challenged, she must rebuild her life, a process that includes redefining her relationship with her family and navigating first love with the boy who was at the diner with her during the shootout. With action, romance, and a complex heroine, Bruised introduces a vibrant new voice to the young adult world—full of dark humor and hard truths.

About the Author

Sarah Skilton lives in Los Angeles with her magician husband and their son. By day she works in the film and TV business. She is a black belt in Tae Kwon Do, which came in handy when writing Bruised. Visit her online at sarahskilton.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781419703874
Author:
Skilton, Sarah
Publisher:
Amulet Books
Subject:
Martial arts
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20130331
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7 up to 17
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
from 12 up to 99

Other books you might like

  1. Rot & Ruin #03: Flesh & Bone Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  2. Asylum
    New Trade Paper $9.99
  3. Vegan Virgin Valentine Used Trade Paper $3.95
  4. The 5th Wave
    New Mass Market $12.50
  5. Zom-B #01: Zom-B Sale Hardcover $6.98
  6. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
    Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Situations » General
Children's » Sports and Outdoors » Sports Fiction » Martial Arts
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Zoology » Mammals
Young Adult » General

Bruised Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Amulet Books - English 9781419703874 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this problem novel that quickly takes a romantic turn, first-time author Skilton paints a vivid portrait of a girl whose shame leads to an identity crisis. Sixteen-year-old Imogen is the youngest black belt in her tae kwon do dojang. She can break boards with her feet and toss a man twice her size, but when her skills are tested during a diner holdup, she cowers rather than acts, and a man dies. Having lost her confidence and her pride, Imogen is ready to give up martial arts until Ricky — another witness of the holdup — asks her to teach him how to throw a punch. While working with Ricky, Imogen makes discoveries about her passions and fears, while reflecting on her disabled father, playboy brother, and tae kwon do teacher, as well as Ricky himself, the one person who understands what she's going through. Offering psychological drama and an introduction to a martial-arts code of behavior, the book has a meaningful message about power, control, and the internal bruises carried by victims. Ages 12 — up. Agent: Sara Megibow, Nelson Literary Agency." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
When Imogen, a 16-year-old black belt in Tae Kwon Do, freezes during a holdup at a local diner, the gunman is shot and killed by the police, and she blames herself for his death. Before the shooting, she believed that her black belt made her stronger than everyone else—more responsible, more capable. But now that her sense of self has been challenged, she must rebuild her life, a process that includes redefining her relationship with her family and navigating first love with the boy who was at the diner with her during the shootout. With action, romance, and a complex heroine, Bruised introduces a vibrant new voice to the young adult world—full of dark humor and hard truths.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.