Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Metaphysics- Fiction

The Ledge of Quetzal, Beyond 2012: A Magical Adventure to Discover the Real Promise of the Mayan Prophecy

by

The Ledge of Quetzal, Beyond 2012: A Magical Adventure to Discover the Real Promise of the Mayan Prophecy Cover

ISBN13: 9781578634590
ISBN10: 1578634598
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $3.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

On December 21, 2012, there will be an opportunity for the meek to prevail.

So speaks one of the Mexican sages in Jock Whitehouse's 2012 anti-apocalypse book The Ledge of Quetzal.

"There was a growing momentum of darkness in the world. As climate change spawned wildfires, tornadoes, hurricanes and floods; as earthquakes and mudslides turned entire villages into rubble; as political, social and religious differences gave rise to terrorism, genocide, and war; as the world teetered on the edge of economic chaos, it was not hard to imagine apocalypse in the making. The Maya, however, along with numerous other cultures and disciplines, had somehow discerned the largest cosmic cycles of man's destiny and the forces that surrounded it. And in those cycles they found, like the pause of a pendulum at its apogee, an opportunity for total change. It was like a second chance for all mankind."

Yes, the weather is changing, world economies are shaky, terrorism and nationalism and fanatical leaders threaten global security. Some say civilization is ending.

Can it be saved? Yes. Who can do that? We can.

That's the message that comes through in this wild adventure story - in the tradition of Castaneda and Coelho, deep into the heart of southern Mexico and its rich traditions of plant-based hallucinogens and the spiritual clarity they awaken.

About the Author

Jock Whitehouse was raised in Mexico, where his family took him at the age of 5 to recover from rheumatic fever. As lone, adventuresome Americans, they spent the next 15 years traveling into remote, sparsely populated areas of Mexico where Jock experienced firsthand the mystical native traditions and language that inform the mythological core of his allegory. He returned to the States for college and lived there for 40 years before returning to Mexico, his true spiritual center. He studied writing under Rod Serling and has written professionally for business for over 30 years. About the Illustrator:

Having worked as an animator for Walt Disney, and with over 35 years as a sculptor in bonze, Tom Knapp has to his credit more than 20 life-and heroic-size bronzes in public venues in the USA and around the world, including the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame sculpture commissioned for the front of the Rose Bowl Stadium in Pasadena, CA. Today, Tom specializes in printmaking and illustration, and is actively represented in more than fifteen major galleries in the United States and Mexico. He lives in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Miriam Knight, November 4, 2009 (view all comments by Miriam Knight)
In the same way that poetry communicates with the reader on a different level of consciousness, Jock Whitehouse’s narrative of his hero’s magical journey to ultimate surrender evokes a deeper recognition of truth than any autobiography could have. Using interesting time jumps and juxtapositions, the book interweaves Mayan history, myth and archaeology with the search of Daniel Bancroft for the meaning of the visions and experiences that draw him to the Ledge of Quetzal in Mexico.

Daniel tries to fit into society’s norms, and fails repeatedly. It is only after a “chance” meeting with the teacher who would connect his intuition and his guides that he starts on the path to wisdom and awakening. In a magical experience reminiscent of Indiana Jones, he experiences complete surrender to divinity and is transformed by it. The apocalyptic visions of 2012 become a time of testing for all humanity. Daniel becomes the mirror of our divinity to anyone who has the courage to look and accept it. Will we look in this mirror and see our divine selves and choose the way of love and paradise? Or will we reject this reality and see only chaos and despair? Either way, we will be right, so let us choose wisely.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781578634590
Author:
Whitehouse, Jock
Publisher:
Weiser Books
Illustrator:
Knapp, Tom
Author:
Knapp, Tom
Subject:
Prophecy
Subject:
Twenty-first century
Subject:
Mayas -- Prophecies.
Subject:
New Age; 2012; drunvalo; mayan prophecy
Subject:
Metaphysics-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
, Y
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
New Age; 2012; drunvalo; mayan prophecy

Related Subjects


Metaphysics » 2012 and Mayan Calendar
Metaphysics » Fiction
Metaphysics » General
Metaphysics » Magic Witchcraft and Paganism
Metaphysics » Nostradamus and Other Prophecies

The Ledge of Quetzal, Beyond 2012: A Magical Adventure to Discover the Real Promise of the Mayan Prophecy Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 144 pages Weiser Books - English 9781578634590 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.