Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession

by

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture:  A Novel of Mathematical Obsession Cover

ISBN13: 9781582340678
ISBN10: 1582340676
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $10.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

About the Author

Apostolos Doxiadis received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Columbia University in New York and a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics from the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris. He lives in Athens, Greece.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

hijackthis, May 23, 2009 (view all comments by hijackthis)
this is really a very good book. i read it 4 years ago and i like too muck the way it shows how Petros became involved with math and wha he was able to do in consequence of his obsession to prove that conjecture. i recommend to read it and i'm looking for a way to download it and read again.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582340678
Author:
Doxiadis, Apostolos K.
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Mathematics
Subject:
Greece
Subject:
Adventure stories
Subject:
Mathematicians
Subject:
Goldbach conjecture.
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series Volume:
44
Publication Date:
20000219
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.57x5.73x.87 in. .88 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. I Should Be Extremely Happy in Your...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. When We Were Orphans Used Mass Market $3.95
  3. The Last Samurai Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. God's Mountain New Trade Paper $13.00
  5. War and Peace (Penguin Classics) Used Trade Paper $7.50
  6. Birdsong
    Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Popular Surveys and Recreational

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Bloomsbury Publishing (NY) - English 9781582340678 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and eBooks — here at Powells.com.