Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 9, 2014

    Aubrey: IMG Best YA Fiction of 2014



    So what is with all the hullabaloo about young adult literature these days? Do we have John Green to blame for getting us sucked in to the tragic... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession

by

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture:  A Novel of Mathematical Obsession Cover

ISBN13: 9781582340678
ISBN10: 1582340676
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

About the Author

Apostolos Doxiadis received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Columbia University in New York and a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics from the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris. He lives in Athens, Greece.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

hijackthis, May 23, 2009 (view all comments by hijackthis)
this is really a very good book. i read it 4 years ago and i like too muck the way it shows how Petros became involved with math and wha he was able to do in consequence of his obsession to prove that conjecture. i recommend to read it and i'm looking for a way to download it and read again.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582340678
Subtitle:
A Novel of Mathematical Obsession
Author:
Doxiadis, Apostolos K.
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Mathematics
Subject:
Greece
Subject:
Adventure stories
Subject:
Mathematicians
Subject:
Goldbach conjecture.
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
44
Publication Date:
20010203
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Yes
Pages:
220
Dimensions:
8.57x5.73x.87 in. .88 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. I Should Be Extremely Happy in Your...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. When We Were Orphans Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. God's Mountain Used Trade Paper $8.00
  4. War and Peace (Penguin Classics) Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Birdsong
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Holidays on Ice Used Trade Paper $4.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Popular Surveys and Recreational

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture: A Novel of Mathematical Obsession Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 220 pages Bloomsbury Publishing (NY) - English 9781582340678 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.