The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $14.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Uncle Petros

by

Uncle Petros Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Petros Papachristos devotes his life to proving one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture. In a host of countries, spanning various wars, and against a tableau of famous historical figures, Petros struggles for success — until the day he inexplicably disappears into the Greek countryside.

Decades later, his ambitious nephew searches out Petros' hidden past and drives the retired recluse back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture...but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

Review:

"[An] intellectual joyride." Miami Herald

Review:

"Delightful fun, well-conceived and nicely executed." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"[D]espite its flaws, the novel is captivating." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Paints a fascinating picture of how a mathematician could fall into a mental trap by devoting his efforts to a too difficult problem." John Nash, Nobel Laureate, 1994, subject of A Beautiful Mind

Synopsis:

"Fermat's Last Theorem" collides with Sophie's World in this novel of intellectual adventure and the exhilaration of pure mathematics.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

Apostolis Doxadis received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Columbia University and a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics from the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris. He has run a number of successful computer companies, as well as written and directed for both the screen and the stage. The second of his two feature films, Tetriem, won the prize of the International Center for Artistic Cinema at the 1988 Berlin International Film Festival. Mr. Doxiadis lives in Athens, Greece

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

About the Author

Apostolis Doxadis received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Columbia University and a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics from the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris. He has run a number of successful computer companies, as well as written and directed for both the screen and the stage. The second of his two feature films, Tetriem, won the prize of the International Center for Artistic Cinema at the 1988 Berlin International Film Festival. Mr. Doxiadis lives in Athens, Greece

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582341286
Subtitle:
A Novel of Mathematical Obsession
Author:
Doxiadis, Apostolos K.
Author:
Doxiadis, Apostolos K.
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Subject:
General
Subject:
Mathematics
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mathematicians
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20010203
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
220
Dimensions:
8.27 x 5.5 x 0.605 in

Other books you might like

  1. Exercises for the Whole Brain:... Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. The Look of Architecture Used Hardcover $9.95
  3. The Advent of the Algorithm: The... New Trade Paper $20.95
  4. Bringing Down the Great Wall:... New Trade Paper $23.95
  5. Magical Maze: Seeing the World... Used Hardcover $14.95
  6. Running on Empty: How the Democratic... Used Trade Paper $1.25

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Popular Surveys and Recreational

Uncle Petros Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 220 pages Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - English 9781582341286 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[An] intellectual joyride."
"Review" by , "Delightful fun, well-conceived and nicely executed."
"Review" by , "[D]espite its flaws, the novel is captivating."
"Review" by , "Paints a fascinating picture of how a mathematician could fall into a mental trap by devoting his efforts to a too difficult problem."
"Synopsis" by , "Fermat's Last Theorem" collides with Sophie's World in this novel of intellectual adventure and the exhilaration of pure mathematics.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

Apostolis Doxadis received a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Columbia University and a Master's Degree in Applied Mathematics from the Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris. He has run a number of successful computer companies, as well as written and directed for both the screen and the stage. The second of his two feature films, Tetriem, won the prize of the International Center for Artistic Cinema at the 1988 Berlin International Film Festival. Mr. Doxiadis lives in Athens, Greece

"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.