Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $15.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Sociology- General
1 Local Warehouse Anthropology- General

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse

by

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Why can’t we solve our problems anymore? Why do threats such as the Gulf oil spill, worldwide recession, terrorism, and global warming suddenly seem unstoppable? Are there limits to the kinds of problems humans can solve?
 
Rebecca Costa confronts- and offers a solution to-these questions in her highly anticipated and game-changing book, The Watchman’s Rattle.
 
Costa pulls headline for today’s news to demonstrate how accelerating complexity quickly outpaces that rate at which the human brain can develop new capabilities. With compelling evidenced based on research in the rise and fall of Mayan, Khmer, and Roman empires, Costa shows how t ht tendency to find a quick solutions- leads to frightening long term consequence: Society’s ability to solve its most challenging, intractable problems becomes gridlocked, progress slows, and collapse ensues.
 
A provocative new voice in the tradition of thought leaders Thomas Friedman, Jared Diamond and Malcolm Gladwell, Costa reveals how we can reverse the downward spiral. Part history, part social science, part biology, The Watchman’s Rattle is sure to provoke, engage and incite change.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Thomas Friedman, Rebecca Costa reveals the four telltale patterns that emerge when escalating complexity paralyzes a society.

About the Author

With a proven track record of introducing new concepts and technologies, Rebecca Costa is a former CEO and founder of Silicon Valley start-up, Dazai Advertising, Inc. (sold to J. Walter Thompson in 1997), whose clients have included Apple Computer, Applied Materials, Oracle Corporation, 3M, Amdahl, United TeleCom, and General Electric Corporation. She attributes her natural ability to spot global patterns to a cross-cultural education and upbringing. She graduated from the University of California, Santa Barbara, with a BA in Social Sciences, and earned an MBA from Santa Clara University. She lives on the central coast of California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781593156862
Author:
Costa, Rebecca
Publisher:
Vanguard Press
Author:
Costa, Rebecca D.
Subject:
General science
Subject:
Science Reference-Philosophy of Science
Subject:
Future Studies
Subject:
Mathematics-Systems Theory
Edition Description:
First Trade Paper Edition
Publication Date:
20121131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. The Watchman's Rattle: Thinking Our...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. Canine Body Language: A Photographic...
    New Trade Paper $39.95
  3. The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Anthropology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Future Studies
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
Reference » Science Reference » Philosophy of Science
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Systems Theory

The Watchman's Rattle: A Radical New Theory of Collapse Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Vanguard Press - English 9781593156862 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Thomas Friedman, Rebecca Costa reveals the four telltale patterns that emerge when escalating complexity paralyzes a society.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.