This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 16, 2015

    Mary Pilon: IMG The Coffee Shops I Have Loved



    "Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee?" – Albert Camus In the five years it took for me to complete my book, The Monopolists, I wrote... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.95
List price: $25.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Religion Western- Jewish Biography

Pilgrim: Risking the Life I Have to Find the Faith I Seek

by

Pilgrim: Risking the Life I Have to Find the Faith I Seek Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Lee Kravitz is adrift.

Shaken deeply after 9/11 and the loss of his job, he begins to feel the pull toward rediscovering his spirituality—a yearning long-buried since young adulthood. But in this hes alone—his wife doesnt understand why their family life cant provide what he needs, and his friends cant relate. When he suffers what he thinks is a heart attack and finds himself calling out for God, Lee realizes he must take action, whatever the cost.

In Pilgrim, Lees journey takes him to many places—from the quiet reflection of Buddhist meditation groups and Quaker meetings to the joyous noise of Hindu ecstatic chanting sessions and a candlelit Christmas Eve mass—until he finds a place where he feels hes finally found the community he has sought. Along the way, he strives to reconcile his needs and beliefs with those of his family, knowing that he may be risking their bond.

In documenting his quest to pursue a contemplative life in the chaos of everyday existence, Lee offers a blueprint for anyone who might find himself lost at one point or another. Spanning areas of faith from Judaism to Protestantism to Nada yoga, the book also explores the latest research on the effects religion and God have on our brains, emotions, and health.

A thoughtful, stirring blend of memoir, religion, and science, Pilgrim is an engrossing narrative that speaks to the universal need to feel connected to the world around us.

Review:

"In his mid-50s, journalist and memoirist Kravitz (Unfinished Business) set off on a self-described 'spiritual shopping expedition.' Though raised Jewish, Kravitz's last extended sojourn into spirituality had been in college, and he was now married to an atheist who did not understand his desire for a richer spiritual life. This predictable memoir chronicles Kravitz's two years of 'shopping for God': attending Quaker meeting with a neighbor; taking a class called 'Foundations of Self-Healing and Contemplative Life,' which explored the Four Noble Truths; dipping into devotional chant. Along the way, friends get cancer and his aunt dies, bringing mortality home. This 'long and winding road' ultimately leads Kravitz to the Jewish Renewal movement. He lands in a small progressive Jewish community near his apartment on the Upper West Side. His wife does not wholly join in, but does take a challah-making workshop and begins preparing Shabbat dinners. It is okay, he concludes in anodyne fashion, if his kids don't become religious, as long as they lead 'empathic, meaning-filled lives.' Agent: David Black, David Black Agency. (May)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Struggling with her return to the Christian church after many years away, Kathleen Norris found it was the language of Christianity that most distanced her from faith. Words like "judgment," "faith," "dogma," "salvation," "sinner"—even "Christ"—formed what she called her "scary vocabulary," words that had become so codified or abstract that their meanings were all but impenetrable. She found she had to wrestle with them and make them her own before they could confer their blessings and their grace. Blending history, theology, storytelling, etymology, and memoir, Norris uses these words as a starting point for reflection, and offers a moving account of her own gradual conversion. She evokes a rich spirituality rooted firmly in the chaos of everyday life—and offers believers and doubters alike an illuminating perspective on how we can embrace ancient traditions and find faith in the contemporary world.

Synopsis:

A former editor in chief of Parade magazine embarks on a spiritual quest that goes to the heart of what really matters in life

Lee Kravitz is adrift—shaken deeply after 9/11 and the loss of his job, he begins to feel the pull toward rediscovering his spirituality. He faces resistance from his wife, who doesnt understand why their family life cant provide what he needs, but when he suffers what he thinks is a heart attack and calls out for God, Lee realizes he must take action. His journey takes him to many places—Quaker meetings, Catholic mass, and even sessions with an astrologer—and blends memoir, religion, and science, culminating in a narrative that speaks to the universal need to feel connected to the world around us.

In documenting his quest to pursue a contemplative life in the chaos of everyday existence and fit his religion-shaped needs into a secular mold, Lee offers a blueprint for anyone who might find himself lost at one point or another. With forays into meditation, Quakerism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Protestantism, Judaism, and more, Pilgrim is an engrossing, thoughtful, and stirring guide for readers of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott.

About the Author

Lee Kravitz is the author of the widely acclaimed memoir Unfinished Business and the former editor-in-chief of Parade magazine. Previously, he was founding editor of React magazine and an editorial director of Scholastic Inc. Lee serves as the board president of Youth Communication. He lives with his wife and children in New York City and Clinton Corners, New York.

Table of Contents

Amazing Grace Preface

Eschatology

Antichrist

Silence

Salvation

Inheritance: Blessing and Curse

Incarnation

Detachment

Conversion: The Family Story

Exorcism

Perfection

Prayer

Belief, Doubt, and Sacred Ambiguity

Repentance

Annunciation

Inheritance: What Religion Were You Raised in, and WhatAre You Now?

Commandments

Idolatry

Bible

Righteous

Conversion: The Stories

God

Blood

Virgin Mary, Mother of God

Anger

Conversion: The Feminist Impasse

Chosen

Fear

Conversion: One More Boom

Grace

Intolerance/Forbearance

Christ

Sinner, Wretch, and Reprobate

Faith

Good and Evil

Preaching

The Bible: Illiteracies and Ironies

Heresy/Apostasy

Creeds

Orthodoxy

God-Talk

Inquisition

Oppression

Herod

Conversion: The Wild West

Ecstasy

Medieval

Christian

The Bible Study

Worship

Conversion: My Ebenezer

The Bible: Give Me a Word

"Organized" Religion

Hospitality

Church

Lectio Divina

Mystic

Trinity

Seeking

Conversion: The Scary Stuff

Evangelism

Imagination (Or, How Many Christians Does It Take to Balance N. Scott Momaday?)

Unchurched

Hell

Judgment

Apocalypse

Prayer as Remembrance: The Expert Marksman's Medal

Dogma

Angels

Wickedness

Interpretation: "I Know Not"

Revelation

Pentecostal

Prayer as Mystery

Neighbor

Theology

Asceticism

Heaven

Infallibility

Truth

The New Jerusalem

Acknowledgments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781594631252
Author:
Kravitz, Lee
Publisher:
Hudson Street Press
Author:
Norris, Kathleen
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
Biography-Religious
Subject:
General Religion
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140531
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Religious
Metaphysics » General
Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Religion » Judaism » Jewish Biographies
Religion » Spirituality » General
Religion » Western Religions » Mysticism

Pilgrim: Risking the Life I Have to Find the Faith I Seek Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Hudson Street Press - English 9781594631252 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In his mid-50s, journalist and memoirist Kravitz (Unfinished Business) set off on a self-described 'spiritual shopping expedition.' Though raised Jewish, Kravitz's last extended sojourn into spirituality had been in college, and he was now married to an atheist who did not understand his desire for a richer spiritual life. This predictable memoir chronicles Kravitz's two years of 'shopping for God': attending Quaker meeting with a neighbor; taking a class called 'Foundations of Self-Healing and Contemplative Life,' which explored the Four Noble Truths; dipping into devotional chant. Along the way, friends get cancer and his aunt dies, bringing mortality home. This 'long and winding road' ultimately leads Kravitz to the Jewish Renewal movement. He lands in a small progressive Jewish community near his apartment on the Upper West Side. His wife does not wholly join in, but does take a challah-making workshop and begins preparing Shabbat dinners. It is okay, he concludes in anodyne fashion, if his kids don't become religious, as long as they lead 'empathic, meaning-filled lives.' Agent: David Black, David Black Agency. (May)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,

Struggling with her return to the Christian church after many years away, Kathleen Norris found it was the language of Christianity that most distanced her from faith. Words like "judgment," "faith," "dogma," "salvation," "sinner"—even "Christ"—formed what she called her "scary vocabulary," words that had become so codified or abstract that their meanings were all but impenetrable. She found she had to wrestle with them and make them her own before they could confer their blessings and their grace. Blending history, theology, storytelling, etymology, and memoir, Norris uses these words as a starting point for reflection, and offers a moving account of her own gradual conversion. She evokes a rich spirituality rooted firmly in the chaos of everyday life—and offers believers and doubters alike an illuminating perspective on how we can embrace ancient traditions and find faith in the contemporary world.

"Synopsis" by ,
A former editor in chief of Parade magazine embarks on a spiritual quest that goes to the heart of what really matters in life

Lee Kravitz is adrift—shaken deeply after 9/11 and the loss of his job, he begins to feel the pull toward rediscovering his spirituality. He faces resistance from his wife, who doesnt understand why their family life cant provide what he needs, but when he suffers what he thinks is a heart attack and calls out for God, Lee realizes he must take action. His journey takes him to many places—Quaker meetings, Catholic mass, and even sessions with an astrologer—and blends memoir, religion, and science, culminating in a narrative that speaks to the universal need to feel connected to the world around us.

In documenting his quest to pursue a contemplative life in the chaos of everyday existence and fit his religion-shaped needs into a secular mold, Lee offers a blueprint for anyone who might find himself lost at one point or another. With forays into meditation, Quakerism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Protestantism, Judaism, and more, Pilgrim is an engrossing, thoughtful, and stirring guide for readers of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.