Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Brian Doyle: IMG The Rude Burl of Our Masks



One day when I was 12 years old and setting off on my newspaper route after school my mom said will you stop at the doctor's and pick up something... Continue »
  1. $13.27 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Children and Other Wild Animals

    Brian Doyle 9780870717543

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Oryx and Crake

by

Oryx and Crake Cover

ISBN13: 9781844080281
ISBN10: 1844080285
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

From Powells.com:

Margaret Atwood's eleventh novel, Oryx and Crake, is one of her most remarkable. Set in a not-too-distant future, many of the experiments with genetics and biotechnology that Atwood describes (think "pigoons," pig-like creatures designed to grow human organs without the expense of an entire clone) have already begun. Oryx and Crake explores human beings at their most frightening and hopeful, and takes a necessary look at the intersection of power, apathy, and desire. This is Atwood at her marvelous, provocative best. Jill, Powells.com

Publisher Comments:

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize.

Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes — into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humor, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.

Review:

"[I]ngenious and disturbing....A landmark work of speculative fiction, comparable to A Clockwork Orange, Brave New World, and Russian revolutionary Zamyatin's We. Atwood has surpassed herself." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Rigorous in its chilling insights and riveting in its fast-paced 'what if' dramatization, Atwood's superb novel is as brilliantly provocative as it is profoundly engaging." Booklist

Review:

"[R]iveting, disturbing....Chesterton once wrote of the 'thousand romances that lie secreted in The Origin of Species.' Atwood has extracted one of the most hair-raising of them, and one of the most brilliant." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Set in a future some two generations hence, Oryx and Crake can hold its own against any of the 20th century's most potent dystopias — Brave New World, 1984, The Space Merchants — with regard to both dramatic impact and fertility of invention, while it leaves such lesser recent contenders as Paul Theroux and Doris Lessing in the dust." Washington Post

Review:

"Majestic....Keep[s] us on the edges of our seats." The Washington Post

Review:

"Towering and intrepid....Atwood does Orwell one better." New Yorker

Synopsis:

By Margaret Atwood, this is a mystery and an adventure story.

About the Author

Margaret Atwood's books have been published in over thirty-five countries. She is the author of more than thirty books of fiction, poetry, and critical essays. In addition to The Handmaids Tale, her novels include Cats Eye — shortlisted for the Booker Prize; Alias Grace, which won the Giller Prize in Canada and the Premio Mondello in Italy; and her most recent, The Blind Assassin, winner of the 2000 Booker Prize. She lives in Toronto with writer Graeme Gibson. Oryx and Crake is her eleventh novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

jthinks, August 12, 2010 (view all comments by jthinks)
Margaret Atwood is amazing. Should I stop there? I'm not sure whether to categorize this as a coming-of-age tale, a sci-fi thriller, or a tragic love story. Ends with as many questions as answers, satisfyingly haunting.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
jthinks, August 12, 2010 (view all comments by jthinks)
Margaret Atwood is amazing. Should I stop there? I'm not sure whether to categorize this as a coming-of-age tale, a sci-fi thriller, or a tragic love story. Ends with as many questions as answers, satisfyingly haunting.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Sharon Skinner, October 14, 2007 (view all comments by Sharon Skinner)
Atwood provides critical social commentary while pointing out the traps and pitfalls created by combining cutting edge scientific discoveries with human arrogance. Her use of real and current science makes the reader ponder whether or not we have already gone too far to turn back. Highly recommended.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 4 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781844080281
Author:
ATWOOD, MARGARET
Publisher:
Libri
Location:
N
Copyright:
Edition Description:
NEW ED
Publication Date:
20040325
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
197 x 126 in.

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Environment

Oryx and Crake
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 448 pages Libri - English 9781844080281 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[I]ngenious and disturbing....A landmark work of speculative fiction, comparable to A Clockwork Orange, Brave New World, and Russian revolutionary Zamyatin's We. Atwood has surpassed herself."
"Review" by , "Rigorous in its chilling insights and riveting in its fast-paced 'what if' dramatization, Atwood's superb novel is as brilliantly provocative as it is profoundly engaging."
"Review" by , "[R]iveting, disturbing....Chesterton once wrote of the 'thousand romances that lie secreted in The Origin of Species.' Atwood has extracted one of the most hair-raising of them, and one of the most brilliant."
"Review" by , "Set in a future some two generations hence, Oryx and Crake can hold its own against any of the 20th century's most potent dystopias — Brave New World, 1984, The Space Merchants — with regard to both dramatic impact and fertility of invention, while it leaves such lesser recent contenders as Paul Theroux and Doris Lessing in the dust."
"Review" by , "Majestic....Keep[s] us on the edges of our seats." The Washington Post
"Review" by , "Towering and intrepid....Atwood does Orwell one better."
"Synopsis" by , By Margaret Atwood, this is a mystery and an adventure story.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.