No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 15, 2015

    Mary Helen Specht: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Mary Helen Specht



    Migratory Animals is mostly set in Texas during the first years of the most recent recession, when the cast of characters — an eclectic group... Continue »
    1. $10.49 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Migratory Animals (P.S.)

      Mary Helen Specht 9780062346032

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Voyage of the Bassett

Voyage of the Bassett Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Believing is Seeing"

In the tradition of such favorite classics as Gulliver’s Travels and Journey to the Center of the Earth, Voyage of the Basset takes the reader on a fantastical journey of discovery. Through richly detailed full-color paintings and line drawings, magical kingdoms emerge from a sea of dreams.

Cassandra Aisling, who is nine years and eleven months old, doesn’t care “a jot” about what sensible people think. She likes strange, mysterious, and magical things. So when her world gets tumbled upside down, she boards the H.M.S. Basset, ready to explore the landscape of her imagination. Pledging allegiance to the Basset’s motto, “Credendo do Vides…Believing is Seeing,” Cassandra, her skeptical older sister Miranda, and their father, Professor Algernon Aisling, set out in search of the ancient legends. From the flickering flight of fairies and the mermaids’ siren songs to a labyrinth-bound Minotaur and a fire-breathing dragon, the Aisling family witnesses firsthand the wonder of mythological worlds.

In this lavishly illustrated edition, Cassandra’s adventures intertwine with her father’s scientific scribblings to present both new tales and the essence of classical myths. From the two voices, readers learn the power of imagination, the importance of believing in oneself, the value of family, and the need for creative, cooperative problem-solving. The story of a magical journey and the exquisite fantasy artwork will appeal to young and old alike.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Gulliver's Travels and Journey to the Center of the Earth, Voyage of the Bassett takes the reader on a fantastical journey of discovery. Through more than 120 richly detailed full-color paintings and line drawings, magical kingdoms emerge from a sea of dreams.

Synopsis:

Cassandra Aisling, who was nine years and eleven months old (which made her very, very close to ten), didn't care a joy what sensible people thought. She liked strange, mysterious and magical things. So when her world got not just tilted, but wholly, truly and topsy-turvily tangled and tumbled upside down, she boarded the H.M.S. Basset, ready to explore the landscape of imagination.

Pledging allegiance to the Basset's motto, Credendo Vides...By Believing, One Sees..., Cassandra, her skeptical older sister, Miranda, and their father, professor Algernon Aisling, set out in search of the ancient legends. From the flickering flight of faeries to the mermaids' siren songs, a labyrinth-bound Minotaur to a fire-breathing dragon, the Aisling family witnesses firsthand the wonder of mythological worlds. Cassandra's adventures intertwine with her father's scientific scribblings to present both new tales and the essence of classic myth.

In the tradition of such favorites as Gulliver's Travels and Around the World in 80 Days, Voyage of the Basset takes the reader on a fantastical journey of discovery. Through richly detailed, full-color images and line drawings, magical kingdoms emerge from a sea of dreams.

Synopsis:

PROFESSOR AISLING'S JOURNEY

Credendo Vides...By Believing, One Sees

Aboard the H.M.S. Beagle, Charles Darwin traveled to the ends of the world, discovered his theory of evolution and sailed into history. Aboard the H.M.S. Basset, Professor Algernon Aisling, his daughters and their crew of dwarves and gremlins sail to a place just a little left of reality to preserve imagination.

About the Author

When he's not chronicling the lives of extravagantly dressed dwarves and faeries, James C. Christensen is a professor of art at Brigham Young University. Born in Culver City, California, he received his formal art education from BYU and UCLA. He has had one-man shows across the United States, and his work is prized in collections throughout the U.S., Canada, and Europe. The recipient of many awards for painting, James Christensen is also the creator of limited edition fine art prints and whimsical works of art in porcelain and bronze. His first book, A Journey of the Imagination: The Art of James Christensen, was published in 1994. He lives in Utah with his wife, Carole, and their two youngest daughters.Alan Dean Foster is a popular novelist and short-story writer whose work includes novelizations of the Star Wars and Alien series.Renwick St. James has created illustrations, poetry and stories that have delighted her growing legion of fans. Her first collaboration with James Christensen was A Journey of the Imagination.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781885183583
With:
Christensen, James C.
With:
Foster, Alan Dean
With:
St James, Renwick
Illustrator:
Christensen, James C.
Author:
St James, Renwick
Author:
Christensen, James C.
Author:
Renwick St. James
Author:
Foster, Alan Dean
Publisher:
Artisan
Location:
New York :
Subject:
General
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
Children's fiction
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - Fantasy
Subject:
Fantastic fiction
Subject:
Mythology
Subject:
Fantasy
Subject:
Characters in literature
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
JUVENILE FICTION / Action and Adventure / General
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Action & Adventure - General
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
92200.7-02D
Publication Date:
19960110
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
Children/juvenile
Language:
English
Illustrations:
10 x 10
Pages:
168
Dimensions:
10.41x10.48x.91 in. 2.35 lbs.
Age Level:
09-12

Related Subjects

» Children's » Folk Tales » Mythical Creatures
» Children's » Picture Books » A to Z
» Children's » Picture Books » Mythology
» Children's » Picture Books » Storybooks

Voyage of the Bassett
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 168 pages Artisan Publishers - English 9781885183583 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Gulliver's Travels and Journey to the Center of the Earth, Voyage of the Bassett takes the reader on a fantastical journey of discovery. Through more than 120 richly detailed full-color paintings and line drawings, magical kingdoms emerge from a sea of dreams.
"Synopsis" by , Cassandra Aisling, who was nine years and eleven months old (which made her very, very close to ten), didn't care a joy what sensible people thought. She liked strange, mysterious and magical things. So when her world got not just tilted, but wholly, truly and topsy-turvily tangled and tumbled upside down, she boarded the H.M.S. Basset, ready to explore the landscape of imagination.

Pledging allegiance to the Basset's motto, Credendo Vides...By Believing, One Sees..., Cassandra, her skeptical older sister, Miranda, and their father, professor Algernon Aisling, set out in search of the ancient legends. From the flickering flight of faeries to the mermaids' siren songs, a labyrinth-bound Minotaur to a fire-breathing dragon, the Aisling family witnesses firsthand the wonder of mythological worlds. Cassandra's adventures intertwine with her father's scientific scribblings to present both new tales and the essence of classic myth.

In the tradition of such favorites as Gulliver's Travels and Around the World in 80 Days, Voyage of the Basset takes the reader on a fantastical journey of discovery. Through richly detailed, full-color images and line drawings, magical kingdoms emerge from a sea of dreams.

"Synopsis" by ,
PROFESSOR AISLING'S JOURNEY

Credendo Vides...By Believing, One Sees

Aboard the H.M.S. Beagle, Charles Darwin traveled to the ends of the world, discovered his theory of evolution and sailed into history. Aboard the H.M.S. Basset, Professor Algernon Aisling, his daughters and their crew of dwarves and gremlins sail to a place just a little left of reality to preserve imagination.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.