Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Graphic Novels- General

The Killer: Volume 1

by

The Killer: Volume 1 Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A man solitary and cold, methodical and unencumbered by scruples or regrets, the killer waits in the shadows, watching for his next target. And yet the longer he waits, the more he thinks he's losing his mind, if not his cool. A brutal, bloody and stylish noir story of a professional assassin lost in a world without a moral compass, this is a case study of a man alone, armed to the teeth and slowly losing his mind.

Review:

"'A bestseller in Europe, Le Tueur has finally reached America. A French hit man has long been at the top of his game, but the psychic weight of his crimes is slowly catching up with him, and, after he botches one job and attracts a policeman determined to bring him down, he may be breaking down just when he needs his skills the most. The French have long been masters of moody noir films like Band of Outsiders or Le Samourai, so The Killer carries some heavy expectations. Fortunately, Jacamon's art is more than up to the task. His layouts are exciting, equally adept at choreographing brutal action, placing the 'camera' for maximum suspense, and playing with panel borders to convey the protagonist's gradual mental breakdown. His figures are reminiscent of Darwyn Cooke's (The Spirit) cartoony realism, using deceptively simple lines and expressive faces to suggest far greater depth to the characters. Saturating panels with washed-out greens, blues and yellows, he changes palettes to establish shifts in location or flashbacks. The story is slight and a little disjointed, relying too heavily on self-consciously 'cool' narration and abrupt flashbacks to pad out a by-the-numbers plot. Fans of Goddard or Melville should enjoy how well Jacamon captures their aesthetic on the page. (July)' Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

About the Author

In 1998, Matz’s hit series, The Killer, with artist Luc Jacamon, made its comic book debut. It became a bestseller that found its way onto the shelves of bookstores in many countries, all the way to the USA with Archaia. It was then optioned by Paramount for a movie that has drawn the interest of director David Fincher ("The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo"). Matz has also created a new line of comic books, Rivages/Casterman/Noir, which are adaptations of noir novels. But Matz’s day job for the last 15 years has been to write for the videogame industry, as he has been an employee at Ubisoft. Now in charge of the writing department, Matz has been involved with games such as “Splinter Cell,” “Ghost Recon,” “Rainbow Six,” “Prince of Persia,” and the “Assassin’s Creed” series.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781932386448
Author:
Matz
Publisher:
Archaia
Illustrator:
Jacamon, Luc
Author:
Jacamon, Luc
Subject:
Graphic Novels - Crime & Mystery
Subject:
Crime & Mystery
Subject:
Graphic Novels-Crime and Mystery
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
The Killer
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20090721
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
10.25 x 6.88 in
Age Level:
from 18

Related Subjects

» Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Crime and Mystery
» Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » General
» Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Mystery and Thrillers
» Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
» Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine

The Killer: Volume 1 Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.50 In Stock
Product details 128 pages Archaia Studios Press - English 9781932386448 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "'A bestseller in Europe, Le Tueur has finally reached America. A French hit man has long been at the top of his game, but the psychic weight of his crimes is slowly catching up with him, and, after he botches one job and attracts a policeman determined to bring him down, he may be breaking down just when he needs his skills the most. The French have long been masters of moody noir films like Band of Outsiders or Le Samourai, so The Killer carries some heavy expectations. Fortunately, Jacamon's art is more than up to the task. His layouts are exciting, equally adept at choreographing brutal action, placing the 'camera' for maximum suspense, and playing with panel borders to convey the protagonist's gradual mental breakdown. His figures are reminiscent of Darwyn Cooke's (The Spirit) cartoony realism, using deceptively simple lines and expressive faces to suggest far greater depth to the characters. Saturating panels with washed-out greens, blues and yellows, he changes palettes to establish shifts in location or flashbacks. The story is slight and a little disjointed, relying too heavily on self-consciously 'cool' narration and abrupt flashbacks to pad out a by-the-numbers plot. Fans of Goddard or Melville should enjoy how well Jacamon captures their aesthetic on the page. (July)' Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and eBooks — here at Powells.com.