Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | October 21, 2014

    Anne Rice: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Anne Rice



    These are the songs that wake me up, take me out of my worries and anxieties, wash my brain cells, and send me to the keyboard to write with new... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
5 Remote Warehouse Self Help- Relationships
4 Remote Warehouse Self Help- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Quirkyalone: A Manifesto for Uncompromising Romantics

by

Quirkyalone: A Manifesto for Uncompromising Romantics Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Featured in USA Today, Time,and on CNN and MSNBC, Quirkyaloneis an incisive, savvy, hilarious singles manifesto. A much-needed antidote to books in the tradition of The Rules, Quirkyalonehas sparked a movement for men and women of all ages who enjoy being single and don't date just for the sake of dating. Equal parts advice, cultural criticism, and pitch-perfect pop-culture references, Quirkyalonecomes to grips with some of the hardest everyday choices people have to make: Loneliness or solitude? Friendship or romantic love? Here you'll find essays, quizzes, lists (movies, songs, books), not your average relationship-book wisdom, and words from other quirkyalones. Sasha Cagen coined the term "quirkyalone" in 2000 in an article in Utne. The quirkyalone movement spread through digital word of mouth and blossomed into its own holiday on February 14. Since then, International Quirkyalone Day was celebrated in twenty-four cities, including New Delhi, Sydney, and Vancouver. Cagen's guide is the anti-relationship relationship book for the hip, smart singleton.

quirkyalonen:a person who enjoys being single (but is not opposed to being in a relationship) and generally prefers to be alone rather than date for the sake of being in a couple; someone with unique traits and an optimistic spirit; a sensibility that transcends relationship status

adj:of, relating to, or embodying quirkyalones

see also:romantic, wistful, idealistic, independent

Synopsis:

quirkyalone (kwur.kee.uh.lohn) n. adj.

A person who enjoys being single (but is not opposed to being in a relationship) and generally prefers to be alone rather than date for the sake of being in a couple. With unique traits and an optimistic spirit; a sensibility that transcends relationship status. Also adj. Of, relating to, or embodying quirkyalones. See also: romantic, idealist, independent.

Are you a quirkyalone? Do you know someone who is?

Do you believe life can be prosperous and great with or without a mate?

Do you value your friendships as much as your romantic relationships?

Do gut instincts guide your most important decisions?

Are you often among the first on the dance floor?

Coupled or single, man or woman, social butterfly or shrinking violet, quirkyalones have walked among us, invisible until now. Through the coining of a new word, this tribe has been given a voice.

Meet the quirkyalones.

Read about:

The quirkyalone nation: where we live, what we do

Quirkytogethers (quirkyalones who have entered long–term relationships)

Sex and the single quirkyalone

Romantic obsession: the dark side of the quirkyalone's romantic personality

Quirkyalones throughout history (profiles in courage)

About the Author

Sasha Cagen's essays have appeared in the Village Voice and Utne. She is the founding editor of To-Do List, a magazine that uses the idea of a to-do list to explore the details of daily life. To-Do List was named the Reader's Choice for Best New Magazine of 2000 in the Utne Alternative Press awards. A native of Rhode Island, Sasha Cagen lives in San Francisco.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780060750619
Subtitle:
A Manifesto for Uncompromising Romantics
Author:
Cagen, Sasha
Publisher:
HarperOne
Subject:
Interpersonal Relations
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Topic - Relationships
Subject:
Self-Help/Relationships
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20060103
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
176
Dimensions:
11 x 9 in 15.84 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Focusing (Bantam New Age Books) Used Mass Market $5.50
  2. Im Too Young To Be Seventy & Other Decis Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. Cunt: A Declaration of Independence
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. The New Biographical Dictionary of... Used Trade Paper $14.95
  5. The Washington Story: A Novel in... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. The Secret Language of...
    Sale Hardcover $12.98

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Relationships
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Relationships
Metaphysics » Healing

Quirkyalone: A Manifesto for Uncompromising Romantics New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.99 In Stock
Product details 176 pages HarperSanFrancisco - English 9780060750619 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , quirkyalone (kwur.kee.uh.lohn) n. adj.

A person who enjoys being single (but is not opposed to being in a relationship) and generally prefers to be alone rather than date for the sake of being in a couple. With unique traits and an optimistic spirit; a sensibility that transcends relationship status. Also adj. Of, relating to, or embodying quirkyalones. See also: romantic, idealist, independent.

Are you a quirkyalone? Do you know someone who is?

Do you believe life can be prosperous and great with or without a mate?

Do you value your friendships as much as your romantic relationships?

Do gut instincts guide your most important decisions?

Are you often among the first on the dance floor?

Coupled or single, man or woman, social butterfly or shrinking violet, quirkyalones have walked among us, invisible until now. Through the coining of a new word, this tribe has been given a voice.

Meet the quirkyalones.

Read about:

The quirkyalone nation: where we live, what we do

Quirkytogethers (quirkyalones who have entered long–term relationships)

Sex and the single quirkyalone

Romantic obsession: the dark side of the quirkyalone's romantic personality

Quirkyalones throughout history (profiles in courage)

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.