Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    New Favorites | November 25, 2014

    Powell's Staff: IMG Our Favorite New Favorites of 2014



    Every week, we gather together a small pile of newly released titles that we agree should be on everyone's radar. We deem these titles our New... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$24.00
List price: $39.95
Used Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Audio Books- Fiction

More copies of this ISBN

The Lace Reader

by

The Lace Reader Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barrys bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

Synopsis:

Every gift has a price . . . Every piece of lace has a secret . . .

My name is Towner Whitney. No, That's not exactly true. My real first name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time . . .

Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator of The Lace Reader, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations, but the disappearance of two women brings Towner home to Salem and the truth about the death of her twin sister to light. The Lace Reader is a mesmerizing tale that spirals into a world of secrets, confused identities, lies, and half-truths in which the reader quickly finds it's nearly impossible to separate fact from fiction, but as Towner Whitney points out early on in the novel, "There are no accidents."

About the Author

Born and raised in Massachusetts, Brunonia Barry lives in Salem with her husband and their beloved golden retriever, Byzantium.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061661556
Author:
Barry, Brunonia
Publisher:
HarperAudio
Read:
Tbd
Read:
Bresnahan, Alyssa
Performed by:
Bresnahan, Alyssa
Performed:
Bresnahan, Alyssa
Author:
by Brunonia Barry
Author:
Bresnahan, Alyssa
Subject:
General
Subject:
Psychics
Subject:
Salem (mass.)
Subject:
Suspense fiction
Subject:
Audiobooks
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Audio
Publication Date:
20080729
Binding:
CD-audio
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.92x5.22x1.10 in. .68 lbs.
Media Run Time:
600

Other books you might like

  1. The Unforgiving Minute: A Soldier's...
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Netherland (Vintage Contemporaries)
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. The Spare Room Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  4. Still Alice New Mass Market $7.99

Related Subjects

Audio Books » Fiction and Poetry » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

The Lace Reader Used Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$24.00 In Stock
Product details pages HarperAudio - English 9780061661556 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Every gift has a price . . . Every piece of lace has a secret . . .

My name is Towner Whitney. No, That's not exactly true. My real first name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time . . .

Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator of The Lace Reader, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations, but the disappearance of two women brings Towner home to Salem and the truth about the death of her twin sister to light. The Lace Reader is a mesmerizing tale that spirals into a world of secrets, confused identities, lies, and half-truths in which the reader quickly finds it's nearly impossible to separate fact from fiction, but as Towner Whitney points out early on in the novel, "There are no accidents."

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.