The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Spirituality- General

Speaking of Faith: Why Religion Matters--And How to Talk about It

by

Speaking of Faith: Why Religion Matters--And How to Talk about It Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The host of public radios Speaking of Faith explores the role of faith in the world and in human life today

Krista Tippett is the creator and host of public radios phenomenally popular program Speaking of Faith, a weekly conversation about religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas. As a journalist and then as a diplomat in Berlin, Tippett was enthralled by the promise of political solutions to divisive issues. When politics did not provide worthy answers, Tippett attended Yale Divinity School to pursue larger questions about what makes a meaningful life. In her quest for faiths illumination of lifes complexities, passions, and frailties, she developed a compelling style of discoursea life of conversationthat she now shares with millions of people every week. Tippetts unique, in-depth conversations with theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who share their experiences, combined with her engaging style, are revolutionizing the way many think and speak of faith in their families and communities and in the larger world.

Speaking of Faith is the story of this conversational journey and what it yields. Tippett draws on her life experiences and her studies, as well as on conversations with Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, Thich Nhat Hanh, and other renowned figures, to explore such complex subjects as justice, science, fundamentalism, evil, love, and mystery, all within the context of spirituality. In the tradition of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott, Krista Tippett here shares a life of conversation that anyone, secular or religious, will find thought provoking about what faith does and canmean to us today. BACKCOVER: Praise for Krista Tippett and her public radio programSpeaking of Faith:

The brilliance of Krista Tippetts idea is to trust people to use the first person singular, to commit themselves with passion and clarity as they enlarge our urgent national conversation.

Martin Marty, Emeritus Professor of American Religious History, University of Chicago

Speaking of Faith isnt just a good idea and a welcome concept for a muchneeded forum on religion, belief and spirituality in contemporary lifeit already is that forum.

Patricia Hampl, Poet, memoirist, and MacArthur Genius Grant recipient

Synopsis:

From the creator and host of public radio's "Speaking of Faith," this is the story of the conversational journey of discourse among theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who explore such complex subjects as justice, evil, and love--all within the concept of spirituality.

Synopsis:

An intimate, thought-provoking, and original appraisal of the meaning of religion in our time- from the creator and host of public radio's Speaking of Faith

Krista Tippett, widely becoming known as the Bill Moyers of radio, is one of the country's most intelligent and insightful commentators on religion, ethics, and the human spirit. With this book, she draws on her own life story and her intimate conversations with both ordinary and famous figures, including Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, and Thich Nhat Hanh, to explore complex subjects like science, love, virtue, and violence within the context of spirituality and everyday life. Her way of speaking about the mysteries of life-and of listening with care to those who endeavor to understand those mysteries-is nothing short of revolutionary.

About the Author

A journalist and former diplomat, Krista Tippett has created, hosted, and produced the popular weekly public radio program Speaking of Faith at American Public Media since 2003.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143113188
Author:
Tippett, Krista
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Subject:
Religion, Politics & State
Subject:
Sociology of Religion
Subject:
Faith
Subject:
General Religion
Subject:
Religion
Subject:
Spiritual life
Subject:
Religion Western-Social and Political Issues
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20080231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
7.24x5.72x.49 in. .40 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Start Where You Are: A Guide to... Used Trade Paper $10.00
  2. The Turtle Warrior
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. The Sphinx at dawn :two stories Used Mass Market $5.95
  4. The Wet Engine: Exploring the Mad...
    Used Hardcover $9.95
  5. Keeping the Peace: Practicing... Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. The Crime of Living Cautiously New Hardcover $20.00

Related Subjects


Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Christianity » Inspirational
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Religion » Spirituality » General
Religion » Western Religions » General and Comparative Religion
Religion » Western Religions » Social and Political Issues

Speaking of Faith: Why Religion Matters--And How to Talk about It Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.50 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143113188 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , From the creator and host of public radio's "Speaking of Faith," this is the story of the conversational journey of discourse among theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who explore such complex subjects as justice, evil, and love--all within the concept of spirituality.
"Synopsis" by ,
An intimate, thought-provoking, and original appraisal of the meaning of religion in our time- from the creator and host of public radio's Speaking of Faith

Krista Tippett, widely becoming known as the Bill Moyers of radio, is one of the country's most intelligent and insightful commentators on religion, ethics, and the human spirit. With this book, she draws on her own life story and her intimate conversations with both ordinary and famous figures, including Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, and Thich Nhat Hanh, to explore complex subjects like science, love, virtue, and violence within the context of spirituality and everyday life. Her way of speaking about the mysteries of life-and of listening with care to those who endeavor to understand those mysteries-is nothing short of revolutionary.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.