Tournament of Books 2015

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    The Powell's Playlist | March 13, 2015

    Kent Russell: IMG Kent Russell's Playlist for I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son

    I don't listen to music while I write. Frankly, I don't see how anyone can. Since all style is rhythm, and since I cannot write anything that's as... Continue »
    1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

Qualifying orders ship free.
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Music- Theory and Composition

This title in other editions

The Muse That Sings: Composers Speak about the Creative Process


The Muse That Sings: Composers Speak about the Creative Process Cover


Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Muse That Sings is a unique behind-the-scenes look at both twentieth-century music and the nuts and bolts of creative work. Here, twenty-five of America's leading composers--from Adams to Zorn, from Bolcom to Vierk--talk candidly about their craft, their motivations, their difficulties, and how they how proceed from musical idea to finished composition.

While focusing on the process and the stories behind specific works, the composers also touch on topics that will interest anyone involved in creative work. They discuss teachers and mentors, the task of revision, relationships with performers, and the ongoing struggle for a balance between freedom and discipline.

They reveal sources of inspiration, artistic goals, and the often unexpected ways their musical ideas develop. Some describe personal tonal systems; others discuss the impact of computers and other electronic tools on their work; still others reflect philosophically on the inner impulses and outer influences that continue to drive them.

While serious music has a reputation for being difficult and inaccessible, The Muse That Sings provides a powerful antidote. The composers in this book speak clearly and thoughtfully in response to key questions of concern to all readers interested in contemporary music.

Each interview has been edited to stand alone as a concise meditation on muse and technique, and the book includes selected discographies as well as brief biographical sketches.

Anyone with an interest in twentieth-century music or in the creative process will find this lively collection a valuable source of inspiration and insight.

About the Author

Award-winning fine arts writer Ann McCutchan is also the author of Marcel Moyse: Voice of the Flute (1994). She is a Lecturer in the School of Music at the University of Texas.

Table of Contents

Alphabetical List of Composers

Foreword by Leonard Slatkin (Music Director, National Symphony Orchestra)


1. Eric Stokes (b. 1930)

2. Steve Reich (b. 1936)

3. William Bolcom (b. 1938)

4. John Corigliano (b. 1938)

5. John Harbison (b. 1938)

6. Joan Tower (b. 1938)

7. John Adams (b. 1947)

8. Claude Baker (b. 1948)

9. Dan Welcher (b. 1948)

10. Daniel S. Godfrey (b. 1949)

11. Fred Lerdahl (b. 1949)

12. Shulamit Ran (b. 1949)

13. Christopher Rouse (b. 1949)

14. Steven Stucky (b. 1949)

15. Libby Larsen (b. 1950)

16. Lois V Vierk (b. 1951)

17. John Zorn (b. 1953)

18. Michael Daugherty (b. 1954)

19. James Mobberley (b. 1954)

20. Bruce Adolphe (b. 1955)

21. Bright Sheng (b. 1955)

22. Richard Danielpour (b. 1956)

23. David Lang (b. 1957)

24. Sebastian Currier (b. 1959)

25. Aaron Jay Kernis (b. 1960)

Product Details

Mccutchan, Ann
Oxford University Press, USA
McCutchan, Ann
null, Ann
History & Criticism - General
Instruction & Study - Theory
Instruction & Study - Composition
Music | Music Theory, Analysis,
Music | Music Theory, Analysis, and Composition
Music | Music Theory, Analysis, & Composition
Music-Theory and Composition
Publication Date:
Grade Level:
25 halftones
9.30x6.10x.65 in. .93 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. A Polish Renaissance (20th Century... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  2. Antonio Stradivari: His Life and Work Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. The Compleat Conductor New Trade Paper $44.50
  4. Beethoven's Letters Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. Lies My Teacher Told Me
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Art and Geometry: A Study in Space... Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Music » History and Criticism
Arts and Entertainment » Music » Instruction and Study » Composition
Arts and Entertainment » Music » Instruction and Study » Theory
History and Social Science » Law » Legal Guides and Reference
History and Social Science » Military » Strategy Tactics and Deception
Reference » Bibliography and Library Science

The Muse That Sings: Composers Speak about the Creative Process New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$66.25 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Oxford University Press - English 9780195168129 Reviews:
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at