25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

On Order

$39.00
New Compact Disc
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Children's- General

The Penderwicks

by

The Penderwicks Cover

ISBN13: 9780307284518
ISBN10: 0307284514
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A National Book Award winner, this modern classic is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

From the Hardcover edition.

Review:

"Ah, summertime and the living is easy — even if it's off to a rough start — in this sprightly audio edition of Birdsall's debut novel, which won the National Book Award. The Penderwick family, consisting of four daughters, their widower dad and family pet Hound, are at a loss when the cottage they routinely rent on Cape Cod each summer is sold. They luck into a new situation, however, staying at a cottage on the grounds of a mansion in the Berkshires, and their adventurous holiday provides the plot here. Mrs. Tifton, owner of the manse is rather chilly to the Penderwick clan, but her son Jeffrey proves to be an ideal playmate. Listeners fond of gentle stories of closely-knit families and innocent fun will flock to this recording. Denaker is perfect in the role of kindly narrator, though she's less so in the sometimes grating voices of little sister Batty and Latin-spouting Mr. Penderwick. Nonetheless, her performance captures the appealing, timeless nature of the tale. Ages 8-12." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

About the Author

Jeanne Birdsall lives in Massachusetss with her husband, four cats, a rabbit, a puppy, and a pet snail. She is working on another book about the Penderwick sisters.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

PoissonVerte, September 10, 2006 (view all comments by PoissonVerte)
The Penderwicks is an incredible novel for young readers! Clean and easy to read and understand. Also, VERY hard to put down! I used this as a read-aloud for my 6 & 7 year old daughter's and they were completely engrossed in the story, not wanting me to stop reading. Perfect novel for any age, great for 8 -12 year old to read alone!
We can't wait for more books by Jeanne Birdsall!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307284518
Read:
Denaker, Susan
Manufactured:
Listening Library
Read by:
Denaker, Susan
Read:
Denaker, Susan
Manufactured by:
Listening Library
Manufactured:
Listening Library
Author:
Birdsall, Jeanne
Author:
Denaker, Susan
Publisher:
Listening Library
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
Single-parent families
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Children s-General
Edition Description:
Six CD
Series:
The Penderwicks
Publication Date:
20060131
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Grade Level:
from 1
Language:
English
Dimensions:
6.26x5.58x1.01 in. .40 lbs.
Media Run Time:
405
Age Level:
08-12

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Reference » Family and Genealogy

The Penderwicks New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$39.00 Backorder
Product details pages Listening Library - English 9780307284518 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Ah, summertime and the living is easy — even if it's off to a rough start — in this sprightly audio edition of Birdsall's debut novel, which won the National Book Award. The Penderwick family, consisting of four daughters, their widower dad and family pet Hound, are at a loss when the cottage they routinely rent on Cape Cod each summer is sold. They luck into a new situation, however, staying at a cottage on the grounds of a mansion in the Berkshires, and their adventurous holiday provides the plot here. Mrs. Tifton, owner of the manse is rather chilly to the Penderwick clan, but her son Jeffrey proves to be an ideal playmate. Listeners fond of gentle stories of closely-knit families and innocent fun will flock to this recording. Denaker is perfect in the role of kindly narrator, though she's less so in the sometimes grating voices of little sister Batty and Latin-spouting Mr. Penderwick. Nonetheless, her performance captures the appealing, timeless nature of the tale. Ages 8-12." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.