Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Christianity- Prayer and Devotion

More copies of this ISBN

The Water Will Hold You: A Skeptic Learns to Pray

by

The Water Will Hold You: A Skeptic Learns to Pray Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Review:

"Ten years ago Crittenden walked timidly into an Episcopal church in Berkeley, Calif. Overwhelmed with grief, she needed something to sustain her. Therapy had helped her deal with her beloved younger brother's death, but it was not enough. A priest suggested prayer. In this exquisitely written memoir, she traces her experience of prayer from hesitant beginnings — 'I left 'God' out of it, as I repeated the simple statement. 'You are here, I am here' ' — to regular, disciplined practice. Prayer, she told an uncle, was like writing. 'If I waited for inspiration, I'd never write a word.... I had to make prayer a habit, to go to it the way I went each morning to the desk. Not to summon prayer, but to tap into what was already there.' Crittenden, whose essay on her mother's death appeared in Best American Spiritual Writing 2004, faced repeated bereavement as she learned to trust God, herself and others. Nowadays, she writes, 'being in community holds me like a trapeze harness for sailing out over the void.' Fans of Nora Gallagher and Patricia Hampl will welcome her narrative of spiritual exploration and discovery." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

About the Author

LINDSEY CRITTENDEN has received degrees from the University of California in Berkeley and in Davis, and she now teaches writing in the extension program of UC Berkeley. She is the author of an award-winning short story collection as well as essays and articles that have appeared in many national publications. She lives in San Francisco, California.

Visit the author at www.lindseycrittenden.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307347350
Author:
Crittenden, Lindsey
Publisher:
Harmony
Subject:
Spirituality - General
Subject:
Spiritual life
Subject:
Prayer
Subject:
Spiritual biography
Subject:
Spirituality
Subject:
Religion Comparative-General
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20070331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.43x6.34x1.06 in. .90 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Real Fast Food
    Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects


Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Christianity » Prayer and Devotion
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

The Water Will Hold You: A Skeptic Learns to Pray Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.50 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Harmony - English 9780307347350 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Ten years ago Crittenden walked timidly into an Episcopal church in Berkeley, Calif. Overwhelmed with grief, she needed something to sustain her. Therapy had helped her deal with her beloved younger brother's death, but it was not enough. A priest suggested prayer. In this exquisitely written memoir, she traces her experience of prayer from hesitant beginnings — 'I left 'God' out of it, as I repeated the simple statement. 'You are here, I am here' ' — to regular, disciplined practice. Prayer, she told an uncle, was like writing. 'If I waited for inspiration, I'd never write a word.... I had to make prayer a habit, to go to it the way I went each morning to the desk. Not to summon prayer, but to tap into what was already there.' Crittenden, whose essay on her mother's death appeared in Best American Spiritual Writing 2004, faced repeated bereavement as she learned to trust God, herself and others. Nowadays, she writes, 'being in community holds me like a trapeze harness for sailing out over the void.' Fans of Nora Gallagher and Patricia Hampl will welcome her narrative of spiritual exploration and discovery." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.