Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | July 16, 2015

    Annie Liontas: IMG "You Want Me to Smell My Fingers?": Five Unforgettable Greek Idioms



    The word "idiom" originates in the Greek word ídios ("one's own") and means "special feature" or "special phrasing." Idioms are peculiar because,... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Let Me Explain You

      Annie Liontas 9781476789088

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$22.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Biography- Religious

My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith

by

My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Finalist, Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Biography

In the tradition of Augustine's Confessions, Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors. Intertwining their experiences as Catholics in late-medieval England, as Puritan settlers in 17th Century New England, and as 19th Century New England transcendentalists with his childhood in an Episcopalian boarding school and later conversion to Roman Catholicism, Clark presents not only a memoir but a testament of faith.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Augustine's "Confessions", Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors.

About the Author

Robert Clark is the author of the novels In the Deep Midwinter and Mr. White's Confession, as well as River of the West, a cultural history of the Columbia River, and The Solace of Food, a biography of James Beard. He is also the recipient of the Edgar Award for Best Mystery. A native of St. Paul, Minneapolis, he lives in Seattle with his wife and two children.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312243142
Author:
Clark, Robert
Publisher:
St. Martins Press-3pl
Subject:
Religious
Subject:
Biography
Subject:
Family
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General Religion
Subject:
General
Subject:
Biography-Religious
Subject:
Christianity - Catholic
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20001031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 x 0.699 in

Other books you might like

  1. Rain of Gold Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Coming of Age: The Story of Our... Used Hardcover $3.25
  3. Draw Real People! Used Trade Paper $8.95
  4. An Adventure with Olivia Owl Used Hardcover $7.95
  5. Bark George Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. God Among the Shakers a Search for Still Used Trade Paper $0.50

Related Subjects

Biography » Religious
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

My Grandfather's House: A Genealogy of Doubt and Faith New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.00 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Picador USA - English 9780312243142 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Augustine's "Confessions", Robert Clark tells the story of his return to the Catholic Church through the prism of the religious history of his ancestors.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.