Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$21.25
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

This title in other editions

Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses

by

Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sTheLiar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316909099
Author:
Mclain, Paula
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Author:
McLain, Paula
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Royalty
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Biography - General
Publication Date:
20040531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
260
Dimensions:
8.54x5.55x.72 in. .81 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Artist's Daughter Used Hardcover $7.50
  2. Water for Elephants Used Mass Market $1.50
  3. Night
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. The Tragedy of Pudd'nhead Wilson New Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Treasure Island (Puffin Classics) Used Trade Paper $2.50
  6. Where the Red Fern Grows
    Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Women

Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$21.25 In Stock
Product details 260 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316909099 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sTheLiar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years-in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.