The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism



My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $18.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside ADV- THRILLERS
1 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Little America

by

Little America Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this suspenseful and atmospheric spy novel in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carre, Henry Bromell unfolds a labyrinthine tale of intrigue and moral ambiguity.

In 1958, at the height of the Cold War, CIA agent Mack Hooper arrived in the tiny middle-eastern kingdom of Kurash with a mission to befriend and protect its inexperienced young ruler. Now, forty years later, the country no longer exists and Mack?s son Terry is trying to piece together his father?s story. Was he a friend to the young king, or a diplomat-seducer sent to betray him? And what happened to the lost kingdom? Moving deftly between the feudal world of Kurash and the martini-washed enclaves of the American spies, Little America is a riveting and unexpectedly moving tale of honor and betrayal as well as a brilliant evocation of espionage in the darkest days of the Cold War.

Review:

"An absorbing read that brings a particular time and place vividly to life." Carrie Bissey, Booklist (starred review)

Review:

"Wonderfully appealing characters....A novel of...considerable emotional power." The New York Times

Review:

"A remarkably well written and highly original novel....A thriller at the classiest level." Los Angeles Times

About the Author

Henry Bromell lives in Los Angeles.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375718915
Author:
Bromell, Henry
Publisher:
Vintage Books
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Fathers and sons
Subject:
Spies
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st paperback ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries
Publication Date:
May 14, 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.30x5.06x.86 in. .66 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Sputnik Sweetheart
    Used Trade Paper $8.00
  2. The Last Samurai Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. Midnight Sun Used Hardcover $5.95
  4. Behind the Scenes at the Museum
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. The Curious Incident of the Dog in...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. The Cornish Trilogy Used Trade Paper $10.50

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

Little America Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780375718915 Reviews:
"Review" by , "An absorbing read that brings a particular time and place vividly to life."
"Review" by , "Wonderfully appealing characters....A novel of...considerable emotional power."
"Review" by , "A remarkably well written and highly original novel....A thriller at the classiest level."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.