Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Breach of Trust

Breach of Trust Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Former college football star and criminal defense attorney Jason Kolarich returns in this shocking thriller from the award-winning author of The Hidden Man.

Jason Kolarich has spent the past year struggling to recover from the horrific deaths of his wife and baby daughter.

On the night of their deaths, Kolarich was at the office, awaiting a call from a confidential informant named Ernesto Ramirez-a call that never came. Kolarich blames himself not only for the deaths of his wife and child, but for the informant's murder as well. He can't bring back his family, but he can find out who killed Ramirez and bring the killer to justice.

Unfortunately, Kolarich's guns-blazing approach to justice lands him smack in the middle of an FBI probe of a deeply corrupt governor and his cronies. To avoid jail, Kolarich must enter a world of wiretaps, double-dealing, and kickbacks, where he soon discovers that the murder of his informant was only the tip of the iceberg.

This breach of trust runs up to the highest levels of power, and exposing it may drag Kolarich into the fight of his life.

Review:

"Ellis's fine second Jason Kolarich legal thriller (after The Hidden Man) finds the former Chicago prosecutor, whose first wife and child died in a car accident, happily remarried with a new baby daughter and working as a defense attorney for the prestigious law firm of Shaker, Riley and Flemming. Jason is a rising star in the practice until he falls afoul of Assistant U.S. Attorney Chris Moody, who blackmails him into working a dangerous undercover assignment aimed at exposing corruption in local government. When tragedy strikes again, Jason immerses himself in his undercover work to ease his personal pain. Several murders occur, but it's the unraveling of the complicated web of government criminal malfeasance that makes the novel a smart, compelling page-turner. Tough and quick with a wisecrack, Jason always takes the hard road when he could far more easily bend or compromise. Readers will eagerly await his next outing. (Feb.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

On the night his wife and infant daughter died, attorney Jason Kolarich was awaiting a call from an informant. He blames himself not only for the deaths of his family, but for the informant's murder as well. Kolarich can't bring back his family, but he can find the person who killed the informant. And he discovers that his informant's murder was only the tip of the iceberg-and that exposing the truth will drag him into the fight of his life.

About the Author

"In Breach of Trust, you think you're signing on for a sharply written, expertly plotted thriller with a wink-and-nod relationship to recent events in Illinois politics. In the end, you get that and a lot more: You get a morality tale, bleak and brutal and tender, about a broken man's hunt for justice."

-Chicago Tribune

"With The Hidden Man and the just-released Breach of Trust, Ellis has created an iron-willed, unbreakable character who can take the novelist's best punch and come back for more."

-Chicago Sun Times

"The reality of ex-Illinois governor Rod Blagojevich's trial (Ellis was the impeachment prosecutor) lends credibility to this intense, suspenseful tale set in a political cesspool. Ellis has turned out a sharp political thriller that should appeal to fans of David Baldacci and Vince Flynn."

-Library Journal

"David Ellis understands political corruption like no other writer out there-and lucky for us, his pages throb with action and suspense. Trust me, you won't be able to put Breach of Trust down."

-James Patterson

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399157103
Publisher:
Berkley
Subject:
Legal
Author:
Ellis, David
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Crime
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20120103
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
560
Dimensions:
9.3 x 6.34 x 1.48 in 1.4 lb
Age Level:
17-17

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Crime

Breach of Trust
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 560 pages Putnam Adult - English 9780399157103 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Ellis's fine second Jason Kolarich legal thriller (after The Hidden Man) finds the former Chicago prosecutor, whose first wife and child died in a car accident, happily remarried with a new baby daughter and working as a defense attorney for the prestigious law firm of Shaker, Riley and Flemming. Jason is a rising star in the practice until he falls afoul of Assistant U.S. Attorney Chris Moody, who blackmails him into working a dangerous undercover assignment aimed at exposing corruption in local government. When tragedy strikes again, Jason immerses himself in his undercover work to ease his personal pain. Several murders occur, but it's the unraveling of the complicated web of government criminal malfeasance that makes the novel a smart, compelling page-turner. Tough and quick with a wisecrack, Jason always takes the hard road when he could far more easily bend or compromise. Readers will eagerly await his next outing. (Feb.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by ,

On the night his wife and infant daughter died, attorney Jason Kolarich was awaiting a call from an informant. He blames himself not only for the deaths of his family, but for the informant's murder as well. Kolarich can't bring back his family, but he can find the person who killed the informant. And he discovers that his informant's murder was only the tip of the iceberg-and that exposing the truth will drag him into the fight of his life.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.