Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 19, 2015

    Emma Hooper: IMG From Musician to Novelist



    I was asleep on the floor of the magicians' apartment. Not one, but three magicians lived there, and their mysterious, mischievous, and sometimes... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Literature- Contemporary Women
9 Remote Warehouse Literature- Contemporary Women

This title in other editions

Marriage Matters

by

Marriage Matters Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

She barely has time to attend a wedding, let alone plan one, but Chloe has just caught the bouquet. So has her married mother… and her widowed grandmother. Now three generations of women are set to walk down the aisle in one wedding extravaganza...For fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.  

On top of grad school, clinical hours, and part-time work, Chloe is surprised to find a ring on her finger. Sharing the news about the engagement is easy, except with her best friend, Ben. Their relationship has always been platonic...so why is Chloe so afraid he is going to object?

Kristine is successful at running her travel bookstore, but her twenty-five year marriage is on the rocks. When her husband suggests a vow renewal ceremony, she agrees to say I Do...until a tempting employee makes her wonder whether or not she wants to be married at all.

June knows whats best for her and everyone around her. Given a second chance at love, shes delighted to plan the family wedding of her dreams. But when June gets a little carried away in her enthusiasm, she risks losing more than the love of her life... she risks losing her family.

In Cynthia Ellingsens heartwarming and hilarious novel of first loves, second chances, and unexpected twists, three generations of brides-to-be discover that love is always better as a family affair.

Synopsis:

In this “funny, touching, and heartwarmingly romantic” (JULIE JAMES) novel, a bride-to-be contends with wedding plans, work pressures, and second thoughts…. For fans of Emily Giffin and Julie James.

On top of grad school, clinical hours, and part-time work, Chloe is surprised to find a ring on her finger.  Sharing the news about the engagement is easy, except with her best friend, Ben. Their relationship has always been platonic and he has stood by her through thick and thin…so what's his problem with the new man in her life?

As she gets caught up in the whirlwind of planning a five-star wedding, she cant stop the nagging feeling that something isn't quite right. And Ben, the one person she wants by her side, is suddenly MIA… The guests are invited, the gifts wrapped, the flowers ordered, and her bridal gown fits like a dream.  The only thing left is a walk down the aisle.  Backing out now would be the biggest mistake of her life, right?  Unless the biggest mistake would actually be saying, “I do”…

Synopsis:

In this novel brimming with heart and humor, a mother, a daughter, and a grandmother decide they will all get married on the same day in one wedding extravaganza--with results that are hilarious, touching, and very surprising.  For fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

 

On top of grad school and clinical hours, Chloe now has an engagement ring on her finger. Sharing the news is easy, except with her best friend. Their relationship has always been platonic . . . so why is Chloe afraid he will object?

 

Kristines marriage is on the rocks. When her husband suggests a vow renewal ceremony, she agrees to say “I do” . . . until a tempting employee makes her wonder if she wants to be married at all.

 

Given a second chance at love, June is delighted to plan the wedding of her dreams—for everyone. But when her meddling goes too far, she risks losing more than the love of her life . . . she risks losing her family.

 

About the Author

Cynthia Ellingsen is an author and screenwriter.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780425273685
Author:
Ellingsen, Cynthia
Publisher:
Berkley Books
Subject:
Literature-Contemporary Women
Subject:
Say Yes to the Dress
Subject:
The Bachelorette
Subject:
The Bachelor
Subject:
Say Yes to the Dress; chick lit; family fiction; marriage, romance; contemporary romance; contemporary romance novel; 3 generations; mother daughter; grandmother; The Bachelor; The Bachelorette; dating; best friends; wedding; bride; wedding planning; enga
Subject:
Say Yes to the Dress; chick lit; family fiction; marriage, romance; contemporary romance; contemporary romance novel; 3 generations; mother daughter; grandmother; The Bachelor; The Bachelorette; dating; best friends; wedding; bride; wedding planning; enga
Subject:
chick lit; family fiction; marriage,contemporary romance; mother daughter; grandmother;
Subject:
dating; best friends; wedding; bride; wedding planning; engagement; wedding dress; bridal gown; wedding bouquet; emily giffin; jennifer weiner; Julie James; Rachel Gibson; Susan Elizabeth Phillips; Wendy Wax; Karen White; women s fiction; summer; beach bo
Subject:
dating; best friends; wedding; bride; wedding planning; engagement; wedding dress; bridal gown; wedding bouquet; emily giffin; jennifer weiner; Julie James; Rachel Gibson; Susan Elizabeth Phillips; Wendy Wax; Karen White; women s fiction; summer; beach bo
Subject:
bride; beach;love; single women; relationships;career;travel; vacation; single; dating; humor;comedy; family life;second chance; aging; doctor;wedding;21st century; chick lit; marriage,contemporary romance; mother daughter; grandmother; friendship; weddin
Subject:
bride; beach;love; single women; relationships;career;travel; vacation; single; dating; humor;comedy; family life;second chance; aging; doctor;wedding;21st century; chick lit; marriage,contemporary romance; mother daughter; grandmother; friendship; weddin
Subject:
bride; beach;love; single women; relationships;career;travel; vacation; single; dating; humor;comedy; family life;second chance; aging; doctor;wedding;21st century; chick lit; marriage,contemporary romance; mother daughter; grandmother; friendship; weddin
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20140631
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
6.75 x 4.19 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Contemporary
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General

Marriage Matters New Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 496 pages Berkley Books - English 9780425273685 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
In this “funny, touching, and heartwarmingly romantic” (JULIE JAMES) novel, a bride-to-be contends with wedding plans, work pressures, and second thoughts…. For fans of Emily Giffin and Julie James.

On top of grad school, clinical hours, and part-time work, Chloe is surprised to find a ring on her finger.  Sharing the news about the engagement is easy, except with her best friend, Ben. Their relationship has always been platonic and he has stood by her through thick and thin…so what's his problem with the new man in her life?

As she gets caught up in the whirlwind of planning a five-star wedding, she cant stop the nagging feeling that something isn't quite right. And Ben, the one person she wants by her side, is suddenly MIA… The guests are invited, the gifts wrapped, the flowers ordered, and her bridal gown fits like a dream.  The only thing left is a walk down the aisle.  Backing out now would be the biggest mistake of her life, right?  Unless the biggest mistake would actually be saying, “I do”…

"Synopsis" by ,
In this novel brimming with heart and humor, a mother, a daughter, and a grandmother decide they will all get married on the same day in one wedding extravaganza--with results that are hilarious, touching, and very surprising.  For fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

 

On top of grad school and clinical hours, Chloe now has an engagement ring on her finger. Sharing the news is easy, except with her best friend. Their relationship has always been platonic . . . so why is Chloe afraid he will object?

 

Kristines marriage is on the rocks. When her husband suggests a vow renewal ceremony, she agrees to say “I do” . . . until a tempting employee makes her wonder if she wants to be married at all.

 

Given a second chance at love, June is delighted to plan the wedding of her dreams—for everyone. But when her meddling goes too far, she risks losing more than the love of her life . . . she risks losing her family.

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.