Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$45.75
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Adored

by

Adored Cover

ISBN13: 9780446576888
ISBN10: 0446576883
Condition:
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Siena McMahon inherited much more from her grandfather than his smoldering good looks. Like the famous Duke McMahon, she has a rapacious appetite for the opposite sex, a love of high-living and adventure, and one all-consuming desire: to be the most sought-after and dazzling star of her generation. This is the mesmerizing tale of Siena's journey to fame — her meteoric success as a high fashion model, her struggle to earn respect as an actress, and her legendary affairs with all the wrong men. It is also the story of her larger-than-life family, peopled with characters who give new meaning to the words "ruthless," "romantic," "powerful," and "glamorous." This is a story that brings back a beloved genre of storytelling — the big, sexy, larger-than-life blockbuster.

Review:

"Glamour, fashion, gossip, scheming — they're all here in a page-turning debut starring Siena McMahon, feisty granddaughter of Hollywood movie legend Duke McMahon. In the tradition of Jackie Collins and Danielle Steel, Bagshawe strews Sienna's path to stardom with bumps aplenty. Family trouble began before Siena was born, when Duke decided his mistress should move in with his wife and kids, but Siena, born in 1981, had a pretty cushy childhood as a granddaughter of the wife — at least until she finds her beloved grandfather dead in the family's Hollywood manse. Siena's father, jealous of the attention Duke lavished on Siena, cows his wife into packing their outspoken 10-year-old to an English boarding school, and when Siena later defies her father's plans for her (Oxford med school) to become a supermodel (and thus kick-start an acting career) he disinherits her. Bagshawe nimbly captures Siena's fierce ambition, and like her glam novel predecessors, she keeps the pages flying with steamy sex and keen behind-the-scenes takes on the fashion, movie and television businesses. Secondary characters, such as British director wannabe Max De Seville, Sienna's on again/off again love interest, shine almost as brightly as Siena, and Bagshawe nips in an entertaining side plot about Max's half-brother's struggle to keep his 16th-century Cotswold farm from the hands of a dodgy Cockney developer. This is one of those big, juicy summer beach reads — not too deep, just wildly entertaining. Agent, Luke Janklow. Major ad/promo. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

In the grand tradition of Sidney Sheldon and other masters of epic women's fiction comes a larger-than-life tale of a Hollywood dynasty, written by Tilly Bagshawe, a 31-year-old Cambridge graduate who has brilliantly revived the genre.

Synopsis:

This mesmerizing "New York Times" bestseller is the tale of one woman's journey to fame in Hollywood and her affairs with all the wrong men. It 's also the story of her larger-than-life family, characters who give new meaning to the words "ruthless" and "romantic."

Synopsis:

To the outside world, Siena McMahon has a fairy-tale life. Born into a great Hollywood dynasty-granddaughter of movie legend Duke McMahon, daughter of billionaire producer Pete McMahon-she is blessed with beauty, brains, and wealth...a proverbial princess. Yet behind the wrought-iron gates of the sprawling McMahon mansion in Hancock Park, her life is far from idyllic. The McMahons are bound together not by love but by infighting and ambition. When a gold-digging English aristocrat, Caroline Berkeley, worms her way into their lives and their home, the family's potent mix of jealousy and wealth explodes. Packed off to school in England, Siena starts making plans to leave the moment she arrives. She is determined to become a Hollywood star in her own right-just as her grandfather had said she would be. And once back in L.A., the rejections, betrayals, and failures she'll face will only make her stronger and tougher than ever before. But at what price? In the utterly dysfunctional landscape of her life-among friends, lovers, and family-she must find the people who will help her survive, help her become the person she was meant to be, help her be truly Adored. Set in the most glamorous cities of the world-L.A., London, Paris, and New York-Tilly Bagshawe's debut novel is like the real-world Hollywood it mirrors: deliciously escapist, wickedly sexy, and always irresistibly compelling.

About the Author

Tilly Bagshawe is a freelance journalist and regular contributor to The Sunday Times, Daily Mail, and other major British publications. She lives in Los Angeles and London with her husband and daughter.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

lisco6237, June 5, 2011 (view all comments by lisco6237)
This is a very gripping story, however it would be a much better book,if the F _ _ _ word were left out of it. Do you not think people can fill in the blanks without such words being used? Buy yourself a dictionary and learn a new way to speak and your story will be just as good or better. I see no need for the use of this word. It adds nothing to the story and makes it impossible for me to share the book with my pastors wife or any of my friends.I am sure your books would sell just as well if you cleaned them up a little. Thanks for letting me vent.
"Mike" Bradberry

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780446576888
Author:
Bagshawe, Tilly
Publisher:
Warner Books
Subject:
General
Subject:
Grandfathers
Subject:
Motion picture industry
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20050731
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
548
Dimensions:
9.12x6.41x1.60 in. 2.16 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Valley of the Dolls
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  2. The Tenth Circle
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  3. Playing with the Grown-Ups Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  4. Tripwire (Jack Reacher Novels) Used Trade Paper $8.95
  5. Otherwise Engaged Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Running with Scissors: A Memoir
    Used Trade Paper $1.00

Related Subjects

» Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Adored New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$45.75 In Stock
Product details 548 pages Warner Books - English 9780446576888 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Glamour, fashion, gossip, scheming — they're all here in a page-turning debut starring Siena McMahon, feisty granddaughter of Hollywood movie legend Duke McMahon. In the tradition of Jackie Collins and Danielle Steel, Bagshawe strews Sienna's path to stardom with bumps aplenty. Family trouble began before Siena was born, when Duke decided his mistress should move in with his wife and kids, but Siena, born in 1981, had a pretty cushy childhood as a granddaughter of the wife — at least until she finds her beloved grandfather dead in the family's Hollywood manse. Siena's father, jealous of the attention Duke lavished on Siena, cows his wife into packing their outspoken 10-year-old to an English boarding school, and when Siena later defies her father's plans for her (Oxford med school) to become a supermodel (and thus kick-start an acting career) he disinherits her. Bagshawe nimbly captures Siena's fierce ambition, and like her glam novel predecessors, she keeps the pages flying with steamy sex and keen behind-the-scenes takes on the fashion, movie and television businesses. Secondary characters, such as British director wannabe Max De Seville, Sienna's on again/off again love interest, shine almost as brightly as Siena, and Bagshawe nips in an entertaining side plot about Max's half-brother's struggle to keep his 16th-century Cotswold farm from the hands of a dodgy Cockney developer. This is one of those big, juicy summer beach reads — not too deep, just wildly entertaining. Agent, Luke Janklow. Major ad/promo. (July)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , In the grand tradition of Sidney Sheldon and other masters of epic women's fiction comes a larger-than-life tale of a Hollywood dynasty, written by Tilly Bagshawe, a 31-year-old Cambridge graduate who has brilliantly revived the genre.
"Synopsis" by , This mesmerizing "New York Times" bestseller is the tale of one woman's journey to fame in Hollywood and her affairs with all the wrong men. It 's also the story of her larger-than-life family, characters who give new meaning to the words "ruthless" and "romantic."
"Synopsis" by , To the outside world, Siena McMahon has a fairy-tale life. Born into a great Hollywood dynasty-granddaughter of movie legend Duke McMahon, daughter of billionaire producer Pete McMahon-she is blessed with beauty, brains, and wealth...a proverbial princess. Yet behind the wrought-iron gates of the sprawling McMahon mansion in Hancock Park, her life is far from idyllic. The McMahons are bound together not by love but by infighting and ambition. When a gold-digging English aristocrat, Caroline Berkeley, worms her way into their lives and their home, the family's potent mix of jealousy and wealth explodes. Packed off to school in England, Siena starts making plans to leave the moment she arrives. She is determined to become a Hollywood star in her own right-just as her grandfather had said she would be. And once back in L.A., the rejections, betrayals, and failures she'll face will only make her stronger and tougher than ever before. But at what price? In the utterly dysfunctional landscape of her life-among friends, lovers, and family-she must find the people who will help her survive, help her become the person she was meant to be, help her be truly Adored. Set in the most glamorous cities of the world-L.A., London, Paris, and New York-Tilly Bagshawe's debut novel is like the real-world Hollywood it mirrors: deliciously escapist, wickedly sexy, and always irresistibly compelling.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.