This is Real Life Sale

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    Lists | March 13, 2015

    Hanya Yanagihara: IMG Nine Tips for Finishing That Novel

    My second novel, A Little Life — about a group of men in New York and their friendship over the course of 30 years — will be published... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Little Life

      Hanya Yanagihara 9780385539258

Qualifying orders ship free.
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Self Help- Grief

Surviving Grief ... and Learning to Live Again


Surviving Grief ... and Learning to Live Again Cover

ISBN13: 9780471534716
ISBN10: 0471534714
All Product Details


Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An insightful, compassionate account of the grieving process that helps us through the pain and isolation experienced with the loss of a loved one.… We’re never really prepared for the loss of someone we love. Thrown into a state of emotional chaos we experience rage, guilt, anxiety, and intense sadness all at once. It’s the oldest story in the world, we tell ourselves — millions of people have had to cope with this before — and yet, we always believe that what we are experiencing is unique to us. We feel isolated in our anguish and often ashamed of what we are feeling. A profoundly compassionate and insightful book, Surviving Grief… & Learning to Live Again offers you the support and understanding you need to get you through this difficult time. Written by Dr. Catherine Sanders, a therapist and researcher specializing in bereavement issues and one who has lived through the loss of close family members, it helps you to see that what you are feeling is part of a natural process of readjustment and renewal. According to Dr. Sanders, grieving, like any other natural regenerative process, must be allowed to run its proper course if we are ever to regain our equilibrium and continue on with our lives. To help us better understand the process, she describes the five universal phases of grief: Shock, Awareness of Loss, Conservation and The Need to Withdraw, Healing, and Renewal, and guides us through each. Drawing directly from her own experiences and those of her clients and her research studies, she delves deeply and compassionately into the different experiences of grief, and talks about what it means to lose a mate, a parent, or a child. And she discusses the factors that can have an influence on the grieving process, such as age, gender, and the circumstances surrounding the loved one’s death.


Aims to help the reader to understand and deal with the grieving process following the death of a loved one. The author defines five specific stages of grief that the reader will experience and explains how to cope with each one.


Includes bibliographical references (p. 215-216) and index.

About the Author

CATHERINE M. SANDERS, PhD, is a psychologist in private practice. As an expert on grief and loss, she has conducted research, written many journal articles and has lectured extensively on the subject. She received the 1990 award for Outstanding Contribution in the Field of Death-Related Counseling from the Association for Death Education and Counseling.

Table of Contents

The Pain of Grief.

The First Phase: Shock.

The Second Phase: Awareness of Loss.

The Third Phase: Conservation and the Need to Withdraw.

The Fourth Phase: Healing--The Turning Point.

The Fifth Phase: Renewal.

When a Child Dies--Parental Bereavement.

The Death of a Spouse--Losing a Mate.

On Becoming an Adult Orphan--A Parent Dies.

How the Family Grieves.

The Power of Mourning Rituals.

Transcending Grief--Alive Again.



What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

cawater, December 28, 2009 (view all comments by cawater)
This is a wonderful, helpful book for anyone who mourns the death of a loved one. It explains the rollercoaster emotions and phases associated with grief and loss. This book does NOT get into the spiritual aspects of dealing with loss. As a Christian, reliance on my faith and God is huge. But if one is a non-believer or follower of another faith, this secular focus is probably good.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

Sanders, Catherine M.
New York :
Death, Grief, Bereavement
Bereavement -- Psychological aspects.
Self-Help; Grief
Psychology : General
Series Volume:
vol. 1
Publication Date:
Grade Level:
8.40x5.50x.60 in. .55 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. To Begin Again: The Journey Toward... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  2. Living with Grief After Sudden Loss:... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. Grace in Dying: A Message of Hope,... Used Trade Paper $9.95
  4. Courage to Grieve Used Trade Paper $0.75
  5. It Must Have Been Moonglow:... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  6. The Art of Saying Goodbye Used Trade Paper $8.50

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Grief
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Algebra » General

Surviving Grief ... and Learning to Live Again New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$40.00 In Stock
Product details 240 pages John Wiley & Sons - English 9780471534716 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Aims to help the reader to understand and deal with the grieving process following the death of a loved one. The author defines five specific stages of grief that the reader will experience and explains how to cope with each one.
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at