Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Morgue and Me

The Morgue and Me Cover

ISBN13: 9780670010967
ISBN10: 0670010960
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“A throw-back style detective novel that readers of all stripes should pay attention to.” —The Los Angeles Times 

Christopher just needed a job to kill time the summer after graduation. He didnt expect to stumble across a murder cover-up when he was hired as a janitor at the morgue. With the sheriff as his prime suspect, he turns to Tina, a gorgeous newspaper reporter, to help him get to the bottom of the case. Suddenly they find themselves in a full-blown investigation involving bribery, kidnappings, more murders…and his best friend. 

With plenty of plot twists, red herrings, and dry wit, The Morgue and Me is a page-turning modern take on the classic detective genre perfect for fans of Veronica Mars and Shelter.

 

“A dark and stellar debut.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

 

“Fast-paced and full of red herrings, itll keep you guessing.” —New York Post

Edgar Award nominee

Agatha Award nominee

YALSA Best Books for Young Adults nominee

Review:

"Ford's dark and stellar debut, which nicely updates many classic mystery tropes, tells the story of high school valedictorian Christopher Newell, who takes a summer job at the hospital morgue before heading to college. Naturally, he stumbles across something he shouldn't — $15,000 in cash and a dead body that the medical examiner has ruled a suicide, even though the body had been shot five times in the torso. Certain that the medical examiner and the sheriff are connected, Christopher starts to investigate alongside Tina, a sexy young reporter for the local paper. The plot covers a wide range of characters, including Christopher's ex-neighbor (and crush), Julia; her police officer older brother, Tim; the town's mayor and his daughter; and Christopher's best friend, Mike, an amateur bookie. Christopher and Tina uncover interlocking mysteries involving blackmail, corruption and murder, which span years of the town's history. Ford spins a tale that's complex but not confusing, never whitewashing some of the harsher crimes people commit. The result is a story that holds its own as a mainstream mystery as well as a teen novel. Ages 12 — up. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Christopher didn't expect his summer job to be in the morgue. Or that he would accidentally discover a murder cover-up. Or that his discovery would lead him to a full-blown investigation involving bribery, kidnappings, more murders . . . and his best friend.

Synopsis:

Christopher just needed a job to kill time the summer after high school graduation. He didn?t expect it to be in the morgue. Or that he would accidentally discover a murder cover-up. Or that his discovery would lead him to a full-blown investigation involving bribery, kidnappings, more murders . . . and his best friend. And he certainly could never have predicted that Tina?loud, insanely hot, ambitious newspaper reporter Tina?would be his partner. But all of that did happen. And Christopher?s life will never be the same.

With plenty of plot twists, red herrings, and dry wit, The Morgue and Me is a page-turning modern take on the classic detective genre.

About the Author

While attending high school, John C. Ford delivered pizzas and parked cars, but he never worked in a morgue. This is his debut novel. He lives in Washington, D.C.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Beverly B, August 3, 2013 (view all comments by Beverly B)
The Morgue and Me is an excellent YA introduction to the classic murder mystery with a reluctant but determined hero, a misfit sidekick, quirky family members, plenty of suspects and plenty of bad guys. Author, John C. Ford says his inspiration was Elmore Leonard, but protagonist, Christopher, reminds me more of Spenser in the Robert B. Parker books. Christopher is smart, but shy. His best friend accuses him of spending too much time in his own head which is true, and it is also what makes him a great amateur sleuth. When his plans to get a summer job in the astronomy department at the town university fall through, his mother wants him to come work in her biology lab on campus. The idea of spending the summer with his mother motivates him to go out and land a job working as a custodian at the county morgue. A few days in to the job, he happens upon a conspiracy to cover up a murder. He can't go to the police because the sheriff is in on the cover-up. Instead, he recruits a young gorgeous, hipster reporter to help him solve the murder. The Morgue and Me has all of the classic good mystery elements - car chases, attacks in empty parking lots, being followed, threatening messages, friends acting suspiciously. It is fast paced and pretty short which makes it a good choice for reluctant readers. Chris is a very likable character. Many young teens will admire his spunk and relate to his awkwardness. YA readers will have fun trying to solve the murder and connect all of the mysterious relationships before Christopher does. Maybe they will even be inspired to read an Elmore Leonard mystery.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670010967
Publisher:
Viking Books
Subject:
Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Author:
Ford, John C.
Subject:
Photography
Subject:
Journalists
Subject:
Michigan
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - Mystery
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20090731
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-12

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Mystery » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Young Adult » General

The Morgue and Me
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 320 pages Viking Books - English 9780670010967 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Ford's dark and stellar debut, which nicely updates many classic mystery tropes, tells the story of high school valedictorian Christopher Newell, who takes a summer job at the hospital morgue before heading to college. Naturally, he stumbles across something he shouldn't — $15,000 in cash and a dead body that the medical examiner has ruled a suicide, even though the body had been shot five times in the torso. Certain that the medical examiner and the sheriff are connected, Christopher starts to investigate alongside Tina, a sexy young reporter for the local paper. The plot covers a wide range of characters, including Christopher's ex-neighbor (and crush), Julia; her police officer older brother, Tim; the town's mayor and his daughter; and Christopher's best friend, Mike, an amateur bookie. Christopher and Tina uncover interlocking mysteries involving blackmail, corruption and murder, which span years of the town's history. Ford spins a tale that's complex but not confusing, never whitewashing some of the harsher crimes people commit. The result is a story that holds its own as a mainstream mystery as well as a teen novel. Ages 12 — up. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Christopher didn't expect his summer job to be in the morgue. Or that he would accidentally discover a murder cover-up. Or that his discovery would lead him to a full-blown investigation involving bribery, kidnappings, more murders . . . and his best friend.
"Synopsis" by ,
Christopher just needed a job to kill time the summer after high school graduation. He didn?t expect it to be in the morgue. Or that he would accidentally discover a murder cover-up. Or that his discovery would lead him to a full-blown investigation involving bribery, kidnappings, more murders . . . and his best friend. And he certainly could never have predicted that Tina?loud, insanely hot, ambitious newspaper reporter Tina?would be his partner. But all of that did happen. And Christopher?s life will never be the same.

With plenty of plot twists, red herrings, and dry wit, The Morgue and Me is a page-turning modern take on the classic detective genre.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.