Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.25
List price: $17.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
3 Remote Warehouse Sociology- Children and Family

This title in other editions

The Lost Children of Wilder: The Epic Struggle to Change Foster Care

by

The Lost Children of Wilder: The Epic Struggle to Change Foster Care Cover

ISBN13: 9780679758341
ISBN10: 0679758348
Condition:
All Product Details

Only 3 left in stock at $16.25!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

IIn 1973, a young ACLU attorney filed a controversial class-action lawsuit that challenged New York Citys operation of its foster-care system. The plaintiff was an abused runaway named Shirley Wilder who had suffered from the systems inequities. Wilder, as the case came to be known, was waged for two and a half decades, becoming a battleground for the conflicts of race, religion, and politics that shape Americas child-welfare system.

The Lost Children of Wilder gives us the galvanizing history of this landmark case and the personal story at its core. Nina Bernstein takes us behind the scenes of far-reaching legal and legislative battles, but she also traces the life of Shirley Wilder and her son, Lamont, born when Shirley was only fourteen and relinquished to the very system being challenged in her name. Bernsteins account of Shirley and Lamonts struggles captures the heartbreaking consequences of the child welfare systems best intentions and deepest flaws. In the tradition of There Are No Children Here, this is a major achievement of investigative journalism and a tour de force of social observation, a gripping book that will haunt every reader who cares about the needs of children.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of J. Anthony Lukas and Alex Kotlowitz, a top-notch investigative reporter presents a harrowing account of our failed child-welfare system and reveals the human cost of that failure.

The Lost Children of Wilder is the story of a long-running–and only partially successful–lawsuit that challenged the basic fairness of New York’s foster care system. It’s also the story of a family trapped in the system: Shirley Wilder, in whose name the lawsuit was filed, who entered foster care at 12; her son, Lamont, whom she gave birth to at 14; and his own son, whom he is barely able to support. This comprehensive account of their troubled lives and the impact they have had on the way welfare works is destined to be a classic.

About the Author

Nina Bernstein lives in New York City.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

DulceRosa, September 21, 2006 (view all comments by DulceRosa)
Nina Bernstein takes us deep into a world that most of us are not familiar with. She extracts the sugar-coated system of child services and brings us the gruesome reality of what it was like to be a helpless young victim of a biased society. This book could not have been written any better.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679758341
Author:
Bernstein, Nina
Publisher:
Vintage Books
Location:
New York
Subject:
Children's Studies
Subject:
Child welfare
Subject:
Social Services & Welfare
Subject:
Social Work
Subject:
Child Advocacy
Subject:
Foster children
Subject:
Public Policy - Social Services & Welfare
Subject:
Foster children -- New York (State) -- New York.
Subject:
Wilder, Shirley
Subject:
Sociology-Children and Family
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage
Series Volume:
3195
Publication Date:
20020231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
8.06x5.25x1.07 in. .80 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Learning Outside the Lines: Two Ivy... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  2. The Family of Adoption: Completely... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. Giving Away Simone: A Memoir Used Hardcover $9.95
  4. Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Outsiders Within: Writing on... Used Trade Paper $11.00
  6. Twenty Things Adopted Kids Wish...
    Used Trade Paper $8.00

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Adoption and Foster Care
History and Social Science » Law » Divorce and Child Custody
History and Social Science » Law » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Children and Family
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Social Work

The Lost Children of Wilder: The Epic Struggle to Change Foster Care New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.25 In Stock
Product details 496 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780679758341 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of J. Anthony Lukas and Alex Kotlowitz, a top-notch investigative reporter presents a harrowing account of our failed child-welfare system and reveals the human cost of that failure.

The Lost Children of Wilder is the story of a long-running–and only partially successful–lawsuit that challenged the basic fairness of New York’s foster care system. It’s also the story of a family trapped in the system: Shirley Wilder, in whose name the lawsuit was filed, who entered foster care at 12; her son, Lamont, whom she gave birth to at 14; and his own son, whom he is barely able to support. This comprehensive account of their troubled lives and the impact they have had on the way welfare works is destined to be a classic.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.