25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
6 Remote Warehouse Biography- Medical
4 Remote Warehouse Biography- Medical

This title in other editions

White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School

by

White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

White Coat is Dr. Ellen Lerner Rothman's vivid account of her four years at Harvard Medical School. Describing the grueling hours and emotional hurdles she underwent to earn the degree of M.D., Dr. Rothman tells the story of one woman's transformation from a terrified first-year medical studen into a confident, competent doctor.

Touching on the most relevant issues in medicine today--such as HMOs, aIDS, and assisted suicide--Dr. Rothman recounts her despair and exhilaration as a medical student, from the stress of exams to th hard-won rewards that came from treating patients.

The anecdotes in White Coat are funny, heartbreaking, and at times horrifying. Each chapter taes us deeper into Dr. Rothman's medical school experience, illuminating her struggle to walk the line between too much and not enough intimacy with her patients. For readers of Perri Klass and Richard Selzer, Dr. Rothman looks candidly at medicine and presents an unvarnished perspective on a subject that matters to us all. White Coat opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor in a book that will change the way we look at our medical establishment.In White Coat, Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues — such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide — the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives.

With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences — from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat.

For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of ER, White Coat is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

In White Coat, Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues — such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide — the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives.

With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences — from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat.

For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of ER, White Coat is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

Synopsis:

In White Coat, Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor.

With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences — from a dream of holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of ER, White Coat is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

About the Author

Ellen Lerner Rothman, M.D., lives with her husband, Carlos Lerner, in Brookline, Massachusetts. She is currently doing her residency in the Boston Combined Pediatrics Program at Boston Children's Hospital and Boston City Hospital. This is her first book. Ellen Lerner Rothman, M.D., lives with her husband, Carlos Lerner, in Brookline, Massachusetts. She is currently doing her residency in the Boston Combined Pediatrics Program at Boston Children's Hospital and Boston City Hospital. This is her first book.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780688175894
Subtitle:
Becoming A Doctor At Harvard Medical School
Author:
Rothman, Ellen Lerner
Author:
Rothman, Ellen L.
Author:
Rothman, Ellen
Author:
Roth, Jr.
Author:
man, Ellen L.
Publisher:
William Morrow Paperbacks
Subject:
General
Subject:
Women
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Education & Training
Subject:
Medical
Subject:
Medical students
Subject:
Medical - General
Subject:
Biography/Medical
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20000426
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9 x 9 in 4.80 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Second Opinions: Stories of... Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. The Greatest Benefit to Mankind a... Used Hardcover $10.50
  3. First, Do No Harm New Mass Market $7.99
  4. Becoming a Doctor: A Journey of... Used Trade Paper $2.50
  5. Not Entirely Benign Procedure: Four... Used Hardcover $5.95

Related Subjects

Biography » Medical
Biography » Women
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Essays
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Biographies

White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.99 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Quill - English 9780688175894 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In White Coat, Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor.

With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences — from a dream of holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of ER, White Coat is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.