Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

The Rules of Survival

by

The Rules of Survival Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It all starts when Matthew observes a heroic scene in a convenience store: A man named Murdoch puts himself between an abusive father and his son. Matt is determined to get to know this man. And when, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matt's mother, it seems as if life may become peaceful for the first time.

Matt and his sisters have never before known a moment of peace in a household ruled by their unpredictable, vicious mother. And so, after Murdoch inevitably breaks up with her and the short period of family calm is over, Matt sees that he needs to take action. He refuses to let his family remain at risk. Can he call upon his hero, Murdoch? And if not, what might his desperation lead him to do?

A thought-provoking exploration of self-reliance and the nature of evil and a heart-wrenching portrait of a family in crisis, this is Nancy Werlin's most compulsively readable novel yet.

Review:

"Teens will empathize with these siblings and the secrets they keep in this psychological horror story." School Library Journal

Review:

"Werlin reinforces her reputation as a master of the YA thriller, pulling off a brilliant departure in this dark but hopeful tale, with pacing and suspense guaranteed to leave readers breathlessly turning the pages." Booklist

Synopsis:

This National Book Award Finalist is a thought-provoking exploration of emotional abuse, self-reliance and the nature of evil. A heart-wrenching portrait of family crisis, this is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Andersons Speak and Jay Ashers Thirteen Reasons Why.

 

For Matt and his sisters, life with their cruel, physically abusive mother is a day-to-day struggle for survival. But then Matt witnesses a man named Murdoch coming to a childs rescue in a convenience store; and for the first time, he feels a glimmer of hope. Then, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matts mother. Life is suddenly almost good. But the relief lasts only a short time. When Murdoch inevitable breaks up with their mother, Matt knows that hell need to take some action. Can he call upon Murdoch to be his hero? Or will Matt have to take measures into his own hands?

 

A gripping, powerful novel that will stay with you long after youve read it. Nancy Werlin, the New York Times Bestselling author of Impossible, shows why she is a master of her genre.

 

 

“[A] dark but hopeful tale, with pacing and suspense guaranteed to leave readers breathlessly turning the pages.”—Booklist (starred review)

 

“Beautifully framed as a letter from Matthew to his younger sister, the suspense is paced to keep Matthews survival and personal revelations chock-full of dramatic tension. Bring tissues.”—Kirkus (starred review)

 

“Grace and insight.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

 

National Book Award Finalist

LA Times Book Prize Finalist

ALA Best Books of the Year

ALA Quick Pick

 

Synopsis:

It all starts when Matthew observes a heroic scene in a convenience store: A man named Murdoch puts himself between an abusive father and his son. Matt is determined to get to know this man. And when, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matt's mother, it seems as if life may become peaceful for the first time.

Matt and his sisters have never before known a moment of peace in a household ruled by their unpredictable, vicious mother. And so, after Murdoch inevitably breaks up with her and the short period of family calm is over, Matt sees that he needs to take action. He refuses to let his family remain at risk. Can he call upon his hero, Murdoch? And if not, what might his desperation lead him to do?

A thought-provoking exploration of self-reliance and the nature of evil and a heart-wrenching portrait of a family in crisis, this is Nancy Werlin's most compulsively readable novel yet.

About the Author

Nancy Werlin was born and raised in Peabody, Massachusetts, USA and now lives near Boston. She received her bachelor's degree in English from Yale. Since then, she has worked as a technical writer and editor for several computer software and Internet companies, while also writing fiction.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803730014
Author:
Werlin, Nancy
Publisher:
Speak
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Subject:
Brothers and sisters
Subject:
Suspense/Thriller
Subject:
Emotional problems
Subject:
Emotional problems of children
Subject:
Social Issues - Domestic Violence
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20080313
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
8.52x6.32x.94 in. .83 lbs.
Age Level:
13-17

Other books you might like

  1. Cut
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. Life as We Knew It
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  3. New Moon (Twilight Saga #2)
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Sold
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  5. Such a Pretty Girl
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  6. Something Remains Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Situations » Physical and Emotional Abuse
Young Adult » General

The Rules of Survival Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Dial Books - English 9780803730014 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Teens will empathize with these siblings and the secrets they keep in this psychological horror story."
"Review" by , "Werlin reinforces her reputation as a master of the YA thriller, pulling off a brilliant departure in this dark but hopeful tale, with pacing and suspense guaranteed to leave readers breathlessly turning the pages."
"Synopsis" by ,
This National Book Award Finalist is a thought-provoking exploration of emotional abuse, self-reliance and the nature of evil. A heart-wrenching portrait of family crisis, this is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Andersons Speak and Jay Ashers Thirteen Reasons Why.

 

For Matt and his sisters, life with their cruel, physically abusive mother is a day-to-day struggle for survival. But then Matt witnesses a man named Murdoch coming to a childs rescue in a convenience store; and for the first time, he feels a glimmer of hope. Then, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matts mother. Life is suddenly almost good. But the relief lasts only a short time. When Murdoch inevitable breaks up with their mother, Matt knows that hell need to take some action. Can he call upon Murdoch to be his hero? Or will Matt have to take measures into his own hands?

 

A gripping, powerful novel that will stay with you long after youve read it. Nancy Werlin, the New York Times Bestselling author of Impossible, shows why she is a master of her genre.

 

 

“[A] dark but hopeful tale, with pacing and suspense guaranteed to leave readers breathlessly turning the pages.”—Booklist (starred review)

 

“Beautifully framed as a letter from Matthew to his younger sister, the suspense is paced to keep Matthews survival and personal revelations chock-full of dramatic tension. Bring tissues.”—Kirkus (starred review)

 

“Grace and insight.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

 

National Book Award Finalist

LA Times Book Prize Finalist

ALA Best Books of the Year

ALA Quick Pick

 

"Synopsis" by ,
It all starts when Matthew observes a heroic scene in a convenience store: A man named Murdoch puts himself between an abusive father and his son. Matt is determined to get to know this man. And when, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matt's mother, it seems as if life may become peaceful for the first time.

Matt and his sisters have never before known a moment of peace in a household ruled by their unpredictable, vicious mother. And so, after Murdoch inevitably breaks up with her and the short period of family calm is over, Matt sees that he needs to take action. He refuses to let his family remain at risk. Can he call upon his hero, Murdoch? And if not, what might his desperation lead him to do?

A thought-provoking exploration of self-reliance and the nature of evil and a heart-wrenching portrait of a family in crisis, this is Nancy Werlin's most compulsively readable novel yet.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.