It's Raining Books Sale

Recently Viewed clear list

Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Interview

David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

Qualifying orders ship free.
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
10 Remote Warehouse Poetry- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

A Murmuration of Starlings (Crab Orchard Award Series in Poetry)


A Murmuration of Starlings (Crab Orchard Award Series in Poetry) Cover


Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A Murmuration of Starlings elegizes the martyrs of the civil rights movement, whose names are inscribed on the stone table of the Civil Rights Memorial in Montgomery, Alabama. Individually, Jake Adam Yorks poems are elegies for individuals; collectively, they consider the violence of a racist culture and the determination to resist that racism.

York follows Sun Ra, a Birmingham jazz musician whose response to racial violence was to secede from planet Earth, considers the testimony in the trial of J. W. Milam and Roy Bryant for the murder of Emmet Till in 1955, and recreates events of Selma, Alabama, in 1965. Throughout the collection, an invasion of starlings images the racial hatred and bloodshed. While the 1950s spawned violence, the movement in the early 1960s transformed the language of brutality and turned the violence against the violent, says York. So, the starlings, first produced by violence, become instruments of resistance.

Yorks collection responds to and participates in recent movements to find and punish the perpetrators of the crimes that defined the civil rights movement. A Murmuration of Starlings participates in the search for justice, satisfaction, and closure.




About the Author

Jake Adam York is an associate professor of English at the University of Colorado–Denver. His first book of poems, Murder Ballads, was published in 2005. His poems have appeared in such journals as Blackbird, Diagram, Greensboro Review, Gulf Coast, H_NGM_N, New Orleans Review, Shenandoah, and Southern Review. York was raised in northeast Alabama.

Product Details

York, Jake Adam
Southern Illinois University Press
Single Author / American
American - General
Poetry-A to Z
Edition Description:
1st Edition
Crab Orchard Award Series in Poetry
Publication Date:
Grade Level:
9 x 6 x 0.4 in

Other books you might like

  1. Crush (Yale Series of Younger Poets)
    New Trade Paper $17.00
  2. The Invention of the Kaleidoscope... Used Trade Paper $9.50
  3. At the Drive-In Volcano Used Trade Paper $9.00
  4. Human Dark with Sugar Used Trade Paper $10.50
  5. Richard Brautigan's Trout Fishing in...
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  6. The Art of the Poetic Line New Trade Paper $12.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » A to Z

A Murmuration of Starlings (Crab Orchard Award Series in Poetry) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 96 pages Southern Illinois University Press - English 9780809328376 Reviews:
  • back to top
Follow us on...

Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at