We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | June 3, 2015

    Jami Attenberg: IMG Long Live the Queen of the Bowery



    Previous to Saint Mazie, I've only ever written about characters I've made up from scratch before. Then I read an essay by Joseph Mitchell in his... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.00
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
24 Partner Warehouse Philosophy- General

More copies of this ISBN

Passion for Peace, New and Revised : Struggle for Non-violence (Rev 06 Edition)

by

Passion for Peace, New and Revised : Struggle for Non-violence (Rev 06 Edition) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

This comprehensive volume contains Thomas Merton's principal writings on non-violence, war, and racism. Much of what he wrote between 1961 and 1968 is prophetic and speaks penetratingly to our time. Wars and rumors of war are still with us. Justice and love remain a dream. In most of these articles, it's as if Merton is actually writing in the 1990s. He is speaking to us — reminding us of the essential oneness that roots the equal dignity of all peoples. Merton's writings on social issues flowed from a deep contemplative vision.

Editor William Shannon puts each essay in context and reveals how this vision developed. We see a side of Merton's character that does not come through in his other books: his passion for peace and the ardor with which he pleaded for it in a world where people so desperately yearn for it. Passion for Peace is a book of testament, vision, and hope.

Synopsis:

Violence, war, and terrorism fill our televisions, newspapers, and websites. To meet the great need for nonviolent wisdom in the tradition of Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Gandhi, Crossroad presents this new and reedited version of Thomas Mertons Passion for Peace. The book, never before available in an attractive trade edition, presents Mertons most important insights into themes such as the nature of violence, armed conflict, Christian responsibility, and the individual in the state.

Synopsis:

This book is a series of Thomas Merton's most important writings on peace, racial issues and non-violence.

About the Author

Thomas Merton (1915-1968) was a Trappist monk, spiritual director, political activist, social critic, and one of the most-read spiritual writers of the twentieth century. He is the author of many books, including The Seven Storey Mountain.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780824524159
Author:
Merton,thomas
Publisher:
Crossroad Publishing Company
Editor:
Shannon, William H.
Author:
Merton, Thomas
Subject:
Inspirational - Catholic
Subject:
Sociology of Religion
Subject:
Race relations
Subject:
Clergy
Subject:
Christianity - History - General
Subject:
Christian Life - Inspirational - Catholic
Subject:
POL034000
Subject:
Nonviolence -- Religious aspects.
Subject:
Peace -- Religious aspects -- Catholic Church.
Subject:
Christianity-Inspirational
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Abridged:
Y
Publication Date:
20061031
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
176
Dimensions:
7.50 x 5.13 in 0.37 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Kite Runner
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Divinity and Diversity New Trade Paper $21.99
  3. Getting Off: Pornography and the End...
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  4. A Quiet Revolution: The First... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  5. War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  6. Gandhis Truth on the Origins of Militant Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Politics » General
Humanities » Philosophy » General
Religion » Christianity » Christian Living
Religion » Christianity » Church History » General
Religion » Christianity » Inspirational
Religion » Christianity » Liberation
Religion » Western Religions » Social and Political Issues

Passion for Peace, New and Revised : Struggle for Non-violence (Rev 06 Edition) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.00 In Stock
Product details 176 pages Crossroad Publishing Company - English 9780824524159 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Violence, war, and terrorism fill our televisions, newspapers, and websites. To meet the great need for nonviolent wisdom in the tradition of Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Gandhi, Crossroad presents this new and reedited version of Thomas Mertons Passion for Peace. The book, never before available in an attractive trade edition, presents Mertons most important insights into themes such as the nature of violence, armed conflict, Christian responsibility, and the individual in the state.
"Synopsis" by , This book is a series of Thomas Merton's most important writings on peace, racial issues and non-violence.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.