Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$27.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Sociology- General

This title in other editions

Looking for Calvin and Hobbes: The Story of Bill Watterson and His Revolutionary Comic Strip

by

Looking for Calvin and Hobbes: The Story of Bill Watterson and His Revolutionary Comic Strip Cover

ISBN13: 9780826429841
ISBN10: 082642984x
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For ten years, Calvin and Hobbes was one the world's most beloved comic strips. And then, on the last day of 1995, the strip ended. Its mercurial and reclusive creator, Bill Watterson, not only finished the strip but withdrew entirely from public life.

In Looking for Calvin and Hobbes, Nevin Martell sets out on a very personal odyssey to understand the life and career of the intensely private man behind Calvin and Hobbes. Martell talks to a wide range of artists and writers (including Dave Barry, Harvey Pekar, and Brad Bird) as well as some of Watterson's closest friends and professional colleagues, and along the way reflects upon the nature of his own fandom and on the extraordinary legacy that Watterson left behind. This is as close as we're ever likely to get to one of America's most ingenious and intriguing figures - and it's the fascinating story of an intrepid author's search for him, too.

Book News Annotation:

Martell, an author, editor, and music journalist, traces the life and career of Bill Watterson, creator of Calvin and Hobbes. Drawing from interviews with artists and writers like Dave Barry, Harvey Pekar, Jonathan Lethem, and Brad Bird, as well as Watterson's friends, colleagues, and mother, he details his childhood and family, early influences and education, early comics, the genesis of Calvin and Hobbes, its ten years in publication, his books, his refusal to merchandise, why he ended the strip, and the search for an interview with the elusive and private Watterson. Annotation ©2010 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

An affectionate and revealing book about uncovering the story behind this most uncommon trio - a man, a boy and his tiger.

Synopsis:

From the get-go, it was obvious that this was no ordinary comic strip. Calvin was named after the 16th-century Protestant theologian who believed in predestination, Hobbes after the philosopher a century later who once observed that life is "nasty, b

Synopsis:

For ten years, Calvin and Hobbes was one the world's most beloved comic strips. And then, on the last day of 1995, the strip ended. Its mercurial and reclusive creator, Bill Watterson, not only finished the strip but withdrew entirely from public life.

In Looking for Calvin and Hobbes, Nevin Martell sets out on a very personal odyssey to understand the life and career of the intensely private man behind Calvin and Hobbes. Martell talks to a wide range of artists and writers (including Dave Barry, Harvey Pekar, and Brad Bird) as well as some of Watterson's closest friends and professional colleagues, and along the way reflects upon the nature of his own fandom and on the extraordinary legacy that Watterson left behind. This is as close as we're ever likely to get to one of America's most ingenious and intriguing figures - and it's the fascinating story of an intrepid author's search for him, too.

Table of Contents

Prologue
 
1. Working on a Dream
 
2. Making Friends
 
3. Standing on the Shoulders of Giants
 
4. A Boy And His Tiger
 
5. Calvin in Wonderland
 
6. Welcome to the Machine
 
7. This is How You Disappear
 
8. Under the Influence
 
9. There and Back Again
 
10. The Future is Always Uncertain
 
Epilogue

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Glenda, February 24, 2010 (view all comments by Glenda)
Calvin and Hobbes was, and is, one of the most-loved comic strips ever. But Bill Watterson, the strip's creator, guarded his privacy and since the strip ended in 1995, has been almost invisible, like the J.D. Salinger of the comics world.

Trying to make sense of this reclusive man, Nevin Martell has written Looking for Calvin and Hobbes: The Unconventional Story of Bill Watterson and His Revolutionary Comic Strip.

How can you tell the story of someone with utter disdain for publicity, who shied away from the limelight, and who is undoubtedly assisted by family, friends and neighbours who respect his right to privacy? Martell searches for any scrap he can. He interviewed what friends and family he could, he visited Watterson's old haunts, he examines the sources of Watterson's comic inspirations. The slogging and speculation is clearly a labour of love.

I'd like to rate this higher, but it suffers from some flaws. Watterson's desire for privacy limits Martell's material in a way that a more outgoing - or dead - subject would not. Martell also seems uncomfortable with writing a book, and the sections often seem like stitched together magazine articles.

Still, for fans of Calvin and Hobbes, there are many tidbits worth discovering, and it is always worth taking a trip into the life of a beloved author with someone like Martell who shares our affections.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780826429841
Author:
Martell, Nevin
Publisher:
Continuum
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Comics & Graphic Novels
Subject:
Form - Comic Strips & Cartoons
Subject:
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Subject:
Cartoonists -- United States.
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
Popular Culture
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series Volume:
The Unconventional S
Publication Date:
20091031
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
5.4 x 8.5 x 0.8 in

Other books you might like

  1. Zeitoun
    Used Hardcover $11.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Art » Art Business Guides
Arts and Entertainment » Art » Illustration
Arts and Entertainment » Humor » Cartoons » Comics
Biography » Entertainment and Performing Arts
Children's » Comics and Graphic Novels » Comics
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
Humanities » Literary Criticism » Comics and Graphic Novels
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

Looking for Calvin and Hobbes: The Story of Bill Watterson and His Revolutionary Comic Strip New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$27.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Continuum - English 9780826429841 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , An affectionate and revealing book about uncovering the story behind this most uncommon trio - a man, a boy and his tiger.
"Synopsis" by , From the get-go, it was obvious that this was no ordinary comic strip. Calvin was named after the 16th-century Protestant theologian who believed in predestination, Hobbes after the philosopher a century later who once observed that life is "nasty, b
"Synopsis" by ,

For ten years, Calvin and Hobbes was one the world's most beloved comic strips. And then, on the last day of 1995, the strip ended. Its mercurial and reclusive creator, Bill Watterson, not only finished the strip but withdrew entirely from public life.

In Looking for Calvin and Hobbes, Nevin Martell sets out on a very personal odyssey to understand the life and career of the intensely private man behind Calvin and Hobbes. Martell talks to a wide range of artists and writers (including Dave Barry, Harvey Pekar, and Brad Bird) as well as some of Watterson's closest friends and professional colleagues, and along the way reflects upon the nature of his own fandom and on the extraordinary legacy that Watterson left behind. This is as close as we're ever likely to get to one of America's most ingenious and intriguing figures - and it's the fascinating story of an intrepid author's search for him, too.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.