Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.25
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Golden Calf

by

The Golden Calf Cover

 

Staff Pick

This tight little novel is a burst of comic angst and venom in the tradition of Selby, Bukowski, and Nelson Algren. Originally published by Soft Skull back when their books were glued in a basement apartment, this new version of The Golden Calf is part of a rescue effort by local press Another Sky.
Recommended by Kevin Sampsell, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Ray Tompkins is the kind of person you never get to know. He's the security guard, the factory worker, the man working the midnight shift. Nobody really understands Ray - not his coworkers, not his family, and certainly not the women in his life. There is a rage building inside Ray Tompkins and Los Angeles is the fuel - the sick obsession with celebrity mixed with the vacuousness of everyday life. Against this backdrop, Ray Tompkins finds a way to vent his anger. He, too, will be known.

Review:

"Explores the hazy junction where the teeth of the daily grind sink into the day-dreamt certainties of life’s true bell-head sounds. Lee Ranaldo, member of Sonic Youth

Review:

"With a superb narrative control, Baum paints a portrait of male dysfunction set to explode." The List

Review:

"A marvel of pace and comic timing….Much of Baum's narrative bears a similarity to Dostoevsky’s Notes from the Underground." Daily Telegraph

Product Details

ISBN:
9780977605156
Author:
Baum, Henry
Publisher:
Another Sky Press
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Publication Date:
20080631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
180
Dimensions:
8.50x5.50x.41 in. .52 lbs.

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense
Fiction and Poetry » Small Press » Fiction and Prose
Fiction and Poetry » Small Press » General

The Golden Calf New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.25 In Stock
Product details 180 pages Another Sky Press - English 9780977605156 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

This tight little novel is a burst of comic angst and venom in the tradition of Selby, Bukowski, and Nelson Algren. Originally published by Soft Skull back when their books were glued in a basement apartment, this new version of The Golden Calf is part of a rescue effort by local press Another Sky.

"Review" by , "Explores the hazy junction where the teeth of the daily grind sink into the day-dreamt certainties of life’s true bell-head sounds.
"Review" by , "With a superb narrative control, Baum paints a portrait of male dysfunction set to explode."
"Review" by , "A marvel of pace and comic timing….Much of Baum's narrative bears a similarity to Dostoevsky’s Notes from the Underground."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.