25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$34.99
New Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse World History- European History General

The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice

by

The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities—Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam—that transformed the globe in the quest for spice.

Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise—and fall—of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam.

Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and readers are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

Synopsis:

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities—Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam—that transformed the globe in the quest for spice.

About the Author

Michael Krondl is a chef, food writer, and author of Around the American Table: Treasured Recipes and Food Traditions from the American Cookery Collections of the New York Public Library and The Great Little Pumpkin Cookbook. He has published articles in Good Food, Family Circle, Pleasures of Cooking, and Chocolatier, and has contributed entries to The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America. He lives in New York City.

"From the Hardcover edition."

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400105458
Author:
Krondl, Michael
Publisher:
Tantor Media Inc
Read by:
McLaren, Todd
Read:
McLaren, Todd
Author:
McLaren, Todd
Location:
Old Saybrook
Subject:
Eastern Europe - General
Subject:
History
Subject:
Europe - General
Subject:
Specific Ingredients - Herbs, Spices, Condiments
Subject:
World History-European History General
Subject:
General Cooking
Edition Description:
Unabridged,Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20071131
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.3 x 6.4 x 1.1 in 0.5 lb
Media Run Time:
630

Other books you might like

  1. Hollyhocks & Radishes: Mrs. Chard's...
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. A Tale of 12 Kitchens: Family...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Afternoon Delights: Coffeehouse... Used Hardcover $4.50
  4. California Natural History Guides... Used Trade Paper $14.00
  5. Hot, Throbbing Dykes to Watch Out... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. New Pocket Hawaiian Dictionary Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

Cooking and Food » By Ingredient » Herbs and Spices
Cooking and Food » Dishes and Meals » Sauces, Salsa, and Condiments
Cooking and Food » Reference and Etiquette » Historical Food and Cooking
History and Social Science » World History » European History General

The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$34.99 In Stock
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781400105458 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities—Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam—that transformed the globe in the quest for spice.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.