Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | May 11, 2015

    Heidi Pitlor: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Heidi Pitlor



    Describe your latest book. My novel, The Daylight Marriage, is about a wife and mother who goes missing one day. The narrative alternates between... Continue »
    1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Daylight Marriage

      Heidi Pitlor 9781616203689

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$34.99
New Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

Dead End Gene Pool

by

Dead End Gene Pool Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For generations the Burdens were one of the wealthiest families in New York, thanks to the inherited fortune of Cornelius "The Commodore" Vanderbilt. By 1955, the year of Wendy Burden's birth, the Burdens had become a clan of overfunded, quirky and brainy, steadfastly chauvinistic, and ultimately doomed bluebloods on the verge of financial and moral decline—and were rarely seen not holding a drink.

In Dead End Gene Pool, Wendy invites listeners to meet her tragically flawed family, including an uncle with a fondness for Hitler, a grandfather who believes you can never have enough household staff, and a remarkably flatulent grandmother. At the heart of the story is Wendy's glamorous and aloof mother, who, after her husband's suicide, travels the world in search of the perfect sea and ski tan, leaving her three children in the care of a chain-smoking Scottish nanny, Fifth Avenue grandparents, and an assorted cast of long-suffering household servants (who Wendy and her brothers love to terrorize). Rife with humor, heartbreak, family intrigue, and booze, Dead End Gene Pool offers a glimpse into the fascinating world of old money and gives truth to an old maxim: The rich are different.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of It All and Augusten Burroughs's Running with Scissors, the great-great-great-granddaughter of Cornelius Vanderbilt gives audiences a grand tour of the world of wealth and WASPish peculiarity, in her irreverent and darkly humorous memoir.

About the Author

Wendy Burden, the great-great-great-granddaughter of Cornelius Vanderbilt, is a former illustrator, zookeeper, taxidermist, and owner and chef of the bistro Chez Wendy. She also served as the art director of a pornographic magazine but was fired for being too tasteful. Coleen Marlo is an accomplished actor who has appeared on stage, in film, and on television, and is a member of the prestigious Actors Studio. She also taught acting for ten years at the Lee Strasberg Theatre and Film Institute. An AudioFile Earphones Award winner, Coleen has been awarded three Listen-Up Awards from Publishers Weekly, including for Third World America by Arianna Huffington and The Poisoner's Handbook by Deborah Blum. She has also earned three Audie Award nominations, winning for Snakewoman of Little Egypt by Robert Hellenga. Publishers Weekly has named Coleen Audiobook Reader of the Year for 2010.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781400115693
Author:
Burden, Wendy
Publisher:
Tantor Media Inc
Read by:
Marlo, Coleen
Read:
Marlo, Coleen
Narrated:
Marlo, Coleen
Author:
den, Wendy
Author:
Marlo, Coleen
Author:
Bur
Location:
Old Saybrook
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
General Biography
Edition Description:
Unabridged,Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20100431
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.3 x 6.4 x 1.1 in 0.5 lb
Media Run Time:
540

Other books you might like

  1. Their eyes were watching God :a novel Used Trade Paper $6.50
  2. The Remains of the Day
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  3. The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday...
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  4. Love in the Time of Cholera
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Heaven Has No Favorites Used Book Club Hardcover $7.50
  6. Nightingales: The Extraordinary... Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Audio Books » World Affairs
Biography » General
Biography » Women

Dead End Gene Pool New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$34.99 In Stock
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781400115693 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of It All and Augusten Burroughs's Running with Scissors, the great-great-great-granddaughter of Cornelius Vanderbilt gives audiences a grand tour of the world of wealth and WASPish peculiarity, in her irreverent and darkly humorous memoir.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.