The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
7 Remote Warehouse General- General

A House in Fez: Building a Life in the Ancient Heart of Morocco

by

A House in Fez: Building a Life in the Ancient Heart of Morocco Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The Medina — the Old City — of Fez is the best-preserved, medieval walled city in the world. Inside this vibrant Moroccan community, internet cafes and mobile phones coexist with a maze of donkey-trod alleyways, thousand-year-old sewer systems, and Arab-style houses, gorgeous with intricate, if often shabby, mosaic work. andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt; While vacationing in Morocco, Suzanna Clarke and her husband, Sandy, are inspired to buy a dilapidated, centuries-old riad in Fez with the aim of restoring it to its original splendor, using only traditional craftsmen and handmade materials. So begins a remarkable adventure that is bewildering, at times hilarious, and ultimately immensely rewarding. andlt;BRandgt; andlt;BRandgt; andlt;iandgt;A House in Fezandlt;/iandgt; chronicles their meticulous restoration, but it is also a journey into Moroccan customs and lore and a window into the lives of its people as friendships blossom. When the riad is finally returned to its former glory, Suzanna finds she has not just restored an old house, but also her soul.

Review:

"Beware of falling in love while on vacation. You might end up buying a riad. Less of a tourist center than Marrakesh or Tangier, Fez is the largest car-free urban area and the best-preserved medieval walled city in the world. While on vacation, Australian photojournalist Clarke and her husband were bewitched by the exotic city, deciding to return and begin a search for a riad (a large home with an inner courtyard) to renovate. This enjoyable narrative chronicles the couple's navigation through a puzzling new world. Readers get to tag along while Clarke deals with Kafkaesque bureaucracy, maneuvers delicately through relationships with neighbors, contractors and construction workers, and goes back to school to improve her French. She weaves this personal narrative together with snippets of the fascinating history and culture of her adopted country. This is an all too brief but enjoyable excursion into one woman's experience with a place she clearly loves. Readers will surely fall under its spell as well." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Eat, Pray, Love" and "A Year in Provence" comes a poignantly told, gorgeously illustrated story of setting up house in Morocco. 8 pages of full-color photos.

About the Author

Suzanna Clarke is a photojournalist and the arts editor of The Courier-Mail (Australia), who splits her time among Australia, Bordeaux, and Fez. Visit her blog, The View From Fez at riadzany.blogspot.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416578932
Author:
Clarke, Suzanna
Publisher:
Pocket Books
Subject:
Construction - General
Subject:
Africa - General
Subject:
Africa
Subject:
Dwellings
Subject:
Buildings
Subject:
Africa, north
Subject:
Historic preservation
Subject:
Residential
Subject:
Historic Preservation - General
Subject:
Buildings - Residential
Subject:
Dwellings -- Maintenance and repair.
Subject:
Morocco Social life and customs.
Subject:
General-General
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20081131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
8-page color photo insert
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.31 in 8.995 oz

Other books you might like

  1. A Year in the World: Journeys of a... Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. The Geography of Bliss: One Grump's...
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  3. The Piano Shop on the Left Bank:...
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. Year of the Roasted Ear: Travels,... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Hot Sun, Cool Shadow: Savoring the... New Trade Paper $16.95
  6. In Ruins: A Journey Through History,... Used Trade Paper $6.95

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Architecture » Historic Preservation » General
Arts and Entertainment » Architecture » Houses
Travel » Africa » General
Travel » Africa » North
Travel » Travel Writing » Africa and Middle East
Travel » Travel Writing » General

A House in Fez: Building a Life in the Ancient Heart of Morocco New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.99 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Pocket Books - English 9781416578932 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Beware of falling in love while on vacation. You might end up buying a riad. Less of a tourist center than Marrakesh or Tangier, Fez is the largest car-free urban area and the best-preserved medieval walled city in the world. While on vacation, Australian photojournalist Clarke and her husband were bewitched by the exotic city, deciding to return and begin a search for a riad (a large home with an inner courtyard) to renovate. This enjoyable narrative chronicles the couple's navigation through a puzzling new world. Readers get to tag along while Clarke deals with Kafkaesque bureaucracy, maneuvers delicately through relationships with neighbors, contractors and construction workers, and goes back to school to improve her French. She weaves this personal narrative together with snippets of the fascinating history and culture of her adopted country. This is an all too brief but enjoyable excursion into one woman's experience with a place she clearly loves. Readers will surely fall under its spell as well." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Eat, Pray, Love" and "A Year in Provence" comes a poignantly told, gorgeously illustrated story of setting up house in Morocco. 8 pages of full-color photos.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.