Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

On Order

$29.99
New MP3 CD
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Medicine Nutrition and Psychology

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

by

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

If a piece of individually wrapped cheese retains its shape, color, and texture for years, what does it say about the food we eat and feed our children? Former New York Times reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that took her to research labs, food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening—and sometimes disturbing—account of what we're really eating. Warner looks at how decades of food science have resulted in the cheapest, most abundant, most addictive, and most nutritionally devastating food in the world, and she uncovers startling evidence about the profound health implications of the packaged and fast foods that we eat on a daily basis.

From breakfast cereal to chicken subs to nutrition bars, processed foods account for roughly seventy percent of our nation's calories. Despite the growing presence of farmers' markets and organic produce, strange food additives are nearly impossible to avoid. Combining meticulous research, vivid writing, and cultural analysis, Warner blows the lid off the largely undocumented—and lightly regulated—world of chemically treated and processed foods and lays bare the potential price we may pay for consuming even so-called healthy foods.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma, a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.

About the Author

Melanie Warner is a freelance writer who has covered the food industry as a staff writer for the New York Times.Ann Marie Lee has worked extensively as an actress in the theater, as well as in guest and recurring roles in television and film. She has recorded numerous audiobooks and has received several AudioFile Earphones Awards as well as a Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781452663210
Author:
Warner, Melanie
Publisher:
Tantor Media Inc
Author:
Lee, Ann Marie
Location:
Old Saybrook
Subject:
General Health & Fitness
Subject:
Health and Medicine-General
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Medicine Nutrition and Psychology
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Edition Description:
Unabridged,MP3 - Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20130431
Binding:
MP3 CD
Language:
English
Dimensions:
7.4 x 5.3 x 0.6 in

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal New Mp3 Cd
0 stars - 0 reviews
$29.99 Backorder
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781452663210 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma, a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.