The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$19.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Sociology- Children and Family

More copies of this ISBN

America's Trillion-Dollar Housing Mistake: The Failure of American Housing Policy

by

America's Trillion-Dollar Housing Mistake: The Failure of American Housing Policy Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Low-income housing programs and lesser-known initiatives have harmed those they were meant to help while causing grave collateral damage, Mr. Husock argues. He emphasizes the deep but unappreciated importance to American society of economically diverse urban neighborhoods, and he demonstrates the historic and continuing importance of privately built affordable housing.

Book News Annotation:

Arguing that scarcity of affordable housing for poor families in the United States is "fictional," Husock (director of public policy case studies, Harvard U.'s John F. Kennedy School of Government) calls for the dismantling of public housing policy and favors letting the "market" take care of all housing needs. He looks at such policies as "Section Eight" programs, the Community Reinvestment Act, and Community Development Corporations and maintains that they bring down property values and create "frozen" cities. One chapter discusses Habitat for Humanity, lauding it as an essentially conservative organization that helps the poor pull themselves up by their bootstraps.
Annotation 2004 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Synopsis:

This book explains how public housing projects are not the only housing policy mistakes. Lesser known efforts are just as pernicious, working in concert to undermine sound neighborhoods and perpetuate a dependent underclass.

Synopsis:

For more than seven decades, the American government has acted to provide housing for the poor. In America's Trillion-Dollar Housing Mistake, Howard Husock explains how, as with so many anti-poverty efforts, low-income housing programs have harmed those they were meant to help while causing grave collateral damage to cities and their citizens. Public housing projects, Mr. Husock writes, are only the best-known housing policy mistakes. His book explains how a long list of lesser-known efforts including housing vouchers, community development corporations, the low-income housing tax credit, and the Community Reinvestment Act are just as pernicious, working in concert to undermine sound neighborhoods and perpetuate a dependent underclass. He exposes the false premises underlying publicly subsidized housing, above all the belief that the private housing market inevitably fails the poor. Exploring the link between private housing markets and individual self-improvement, he shows how new and expensive public efforts are merely old wine in new bottles. Instead he argues for the deep but unappreciated importance to American society of economically diverse urban neighborhoods, and he demonstrates the historic and continuing importance of privately built affordable housing, from the brownstones of Brooklyn to the bungalows of Oakland and, in the present day, houses built through Habitat for Humanity. Bearing witness in the tradition of Jane Jacobs, Mr. Husock describes and laments the deadening effects of public and subsidized housing on the economies and vitality of American cities.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781566635318
Author:
Husock, Howard
Publisher:
Ivan R. Dee Publisher
Location:
Chicago
Subject:
General
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Poverty
Subject:
Housing policy
Subject:
Public housing
Subject:
Community development corporations.
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Public Policy - Social Services & Welfare
Subject:
Public Policy - Regional Planning
Subject:
Sociology-Children and Family
Series Volume:
no. 4
Publication Date:
20031031
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
140
Dimensions:
8.80x5.50x.65 in. .60 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Wilma Unlimited: How Wilma Rudolph... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. City life :urban expectations in a... Used Hardcover $3.95
  3. Seaside Used Trade Paper $4.98
  4. The Power of Place Used Trade Paper $3.50
  5. Unknown City : the Lives of Poor and... Used Trade Paper $12.00
  6. Streets of Hope: The Fall and Rise... Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » Management
Business » Writing
History and Social Science » Economics » General
History and Social Science » Law » General
History and Social Science » Politics » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Children and Family
History and Social Science » Sociology » Poverty
Young Adult » General

America's Trillion-Dollar Housing Mistake: The Failure of American Housing Policy New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.95 In Stock
Product details 140 pages Ivan R. Dee Publisher - English 9781566635318 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , This book explains how public housing projects are not the only housing policy mistakes. Lesser known efforts are just as pernicious, working in concert to undermine sound neighborhoods and perpetuate a dependent underclass.
"Synopsis" by , For more than seven decades, the American government has acted to provide housing for the poor. In America's Trillion-Dollar Housing Mistake, Howard Husock explains how, as with so many anti-poverty efforts, low-income housing programs have harmed those they were meant to help while causing grave collateral damage to cities and their citizens. Public housing projects, Mr. Husock writes, are only the best-known housing policy mistakes. His book explains how a long list of lesser-known efforts including housing vouchers, community development corporations, the low-income housing tax credit, and the Community Reinvestment Act are just as pernicious, working in concert to undermine sound neighborhoods and perpetuate a dependent underclass. He exposes the false premises underlying publicly subsidized housing, above all the belief that the private housing market inevitably fails the poor. Exploring the link between private housing markets and individual self-improvement, he shows how new and expensive public efforts are merely old wine in new bottles. Instead he argues for the deep but unappreciated importance to American society of economically diverse urban neighborhoods, and he demonstrates the historic and continuing importance of privately built affordable housing, from the brownstones of Brooklyn to the bungalows of Oakland and, in the present day, houses built through Habitat for Humanity. Bearing witness in the tradition of Jane Jacobs, Mr. Husock describes and laments the deadening effects of public and subsidized housing on the economies and vitality of American cities.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.