Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | October 28, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG Miriam Toews: The Powells.com Interview



    Some people are compelled by a restlessness from within; others are shaped by the unwieldy forces around them. In Miriam Toews's poignant new novel... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

Salvation Boulevard, Movie Tie-In

by

Salvation Boulevard, Movie Tie-In Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Some cases test a private investigators wits, others test his courage, and still others, his character. In Salvation Boulevard, P.I. Carl Van Wagener has found a case that tests them all, and then goes on to test his soul. A professor is dead and a suspect—who has confessed—is in custody. But nothing is what it seems. After all, the dead man is an atheist professor, the accused an Islamic foreign student, the defense attorney a Jew, and the detective a Born Again Christian. As Carl gets deeper and deeper into the investigation of the death of professor Nathaniel MacLeod, his most basic beliefs and relationships are tried and his world is turned upside down. The mega-church, the pastor, and his new wife who have redeemed Carl from a life of grim debauchery insist on his dropping the case. But he cant stop searching for the real killer and the truth—no matter what the personal cost.

Salvation Boulevard is a page-turning thriller in the tradition of John Grisham and Richard Condon that grapples with the ecstatic and entropic nature of religious faith in contemporary America.

Synopsis:

The murder victim: an atheist. The accused: Muslim. The lawyer: Jewish. The detective: Born Again Christian. A thriller about death, faith, and God—from one of Americas best mystery writers.

About the Author

Larry Beinhart is best known as the author of Wag the Dog (originally published as American Hero) on which the film starring Robert DeNiro, Dustin Hoffman, Willie Nelson and Woody Harrelson was based. His No One Rides for Free (1986) received the 1987 Edgar Award for Best First Novel. His most recent book, Fog Facts, a work of nonfiction, examines why some important, even striking, truths are overlooked by the media and the culture at large. Beinhart spent two years in Oxford, England, where he was the Raymond Chandler Fulbright Fellow at Wadham College. He is a regularly featured blogger on Huffingtonpost.com and his articles have appeared in the New York Times, the International Herald Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, the Baltimore Sun, and the Chicago Tribune. He resides in Woodstock, New York, with his wife and two children.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781568586724
Author:
Beinhart, Larry
Publisher:
Nation Books
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Media tie-in
Publication Date:
20110731
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 22.5 oz
Age Level:
from 16 to 110

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
History and Social Science » Politics » General

Salvation Boulevard, Movie Tie-In Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Nation Books - English 9781568586724 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
The murder victim: an atheist. The accused: Muslim. The lawyer: Jewish. The detective: Born Again Christian. A thriller about death, faith, and God—from one of Americas best mystery writers.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.