Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.50
List price: $14.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
6 Remote Warehouse Science Reference- Inventions

More copies of this ISBN

Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet?: The Inventions That Changed Our Homes and Our Lives

by

Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet?: The Inventions That Changed Our Homes and Our Lives Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Which came first, sliced bread or the toaster? When did most people begin wearing deodorant? Who invented the electric blanket? Catherine OReilly tackles questions such as these with a keen curiosity and well-honed writing skills. Her ability to turn any normal home into a jungle of history, invention, and technological wonder is a treat. For fans of Schotts Original Miscellany and The Book of Useless Information, OReillys Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet? is another smart and quirky look at miscellaneous items. Learn the real histories of the blender, the fire extinguisher, the cheese grater, the clock radio, deodorant, Post-its, fabric softener, and, of course, the toilet. These are the unknown stories of everyday items that we take for granted.

Synopsis:

For fans of "The Book of Useless Information," O'Reilly's curious-minded work is a smart and quirky look at miscellaneous items. Learn the real history of the blender, fire extinguisher, deodorant, and, or course, the toilet. 50 color photographs.

Synopsis:

The Book of Useless Information for the practical world.

About the Author

Catherine O'Reilly is a professional writer who lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781602393479
Author:
O'reilly, Catherine
Publisher:
Skyhorse Publishing
Author:
O'Reilly, Catherine
Subject:
Curiosities & Wonders
Subject:
Questions & Answers
Subject:
History
Subject:
Inventions
Subject:
General
Subject:
Inventions -- History.
Subject:
Household appliances -- History.
Subject:
Science Reference-Inventions
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20081131
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
50 color illustrations
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8 x 6 in

Related Subjects

Engineering » Engineering » History
Engineering » Engineering » Inventions
Reference » General
Reference » Trivia

Did Thomas Crapper Really Invent the Toilet?: The Inventions That Changed Our Homes and Our Lives New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Skyhorse Publishing - English 9781602393479 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , For fans of "The Book of Useless Information," O'Reilly's curious-minded work is a smart and quirky look at miscellaneous items. Learn the real history of the blender, fire extinguisher, deodorant, and, or course, the toilet. 50 color photographs.
"Synopsis" by , The Book of Useless Information for the practical world.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.