Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$32.95
New Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
1 Remote Warehouse Biography- Sports

The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit

by

The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.
 
 Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.

Synopsis:

The true story of Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.

Synopsis:

The true story of the first American to win the Grand Prix title, with vivid accounts of the glamorous—and deadly—world of motor racing circa 1961.

About the Author

MICHAEL CANNELL has written about sports for the New Yorker, the New York Times Magazine, Sports Illustrated and Outside, and was editor of the New York Times House & Home section for seven years. His previous book, I.M. Pei: Mandarin of Modernism, was critically acclaimed.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781611746235
Author:
Cannell, Michael
Publisher:
Highbridge Company
Author:
Stella, Fred
Subject:
Sports
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Sports General
Subject:
Biography-Sports
Edition Description:
Unabridged; 9 hours
Publication Date:
20111131
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.38 x 5.13 x 0.88 in 0.5 lb

Related Subjects

Biography » Sports
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Sports General
Transportation » Automotive » Racing

The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$32.95 In Stock
Product details pages Highbridge Company - English 9781611746235 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The true story of Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.
"Synopsis" by , The true story of the first American to win the Grand Prix title, with vivid accounts of the glamorous—and deadly—world of motor racing circa 1961.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.