Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 15, 2014

    Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



    There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
11 Local Warehouse Westerns- General
8 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Lonesome Animals

by

Lonesome Animals Cover

ISBN13: 9781619021563
ISBN10: 1619021560
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In Lonesome Animals, Arthur Strawl, a tormented former lawman, is called out of retirement to hunt a serial killer with a sense of the macabre who has been leaving elaborately carved bodies of Native Americans across three counties. As the pursuit ensues, Strawl's own dark and violent history weaves itself into the hunt, shedding light on the remains of his broken family: one wife taken by the river, one by his own hand; an adopted Native American son who fancies himself a Catholic prophet; and a daughter, whose temerity and stoicism contrast against the romantic notions of how the west was won.

In the vein of True Grit and Blood Meridian, Lonesome Animals is a western novel reinvented, a detective story inverted for the west. It contemplates the nature of story and heroism in the face of a collapsing ethos — not only of Native American culture, but also of the first wave of white men who, through the battle against the geography and its indigenous people, guaranteed their own destruction. But it is also about one man's urgent, elegiac search for justice amidst the craven acts committed on the edges of civilization.

Review:

"From the opening sentence of Holbert's remarkable debut, it is obvious that we are in the hands of a master storyteller....Holbert's prose is simultaneously roughly hewn and elegant, and recalls Cormac McCarthy at his best, as do his insights into the relationship between predator and prey. Call it literary fiction, classic western realism, or historical noir, Holbert is a writer of formidable skill and this auspicious debut should have considerable crossover appeal." Publishers Weekly (starred)

Review:

"Holbert's unsettling book demands a strong stomach....At the end the reader will feel relief or satisfaction or some combination, and tip a sweat-stained hat to Holbert for raising the stakes of the Western genre....Holbert's sympathies seem to align with the quality of his prose: the land is rendered in loving, even exquisite detail, so too the crimes....Holbert has gone all-in: This book is audacious." Kirkus

Review:

"Lonesome Animals is dark, beautiful, compelling, strange, vivid; part Western, part detective story, altogether brilliant. With the authority of myth, it is a book obsessed with justice and history, and its two main characters — the retired lawman Russell Strawl and his prophet son Elijah — are as harrowing and moving a marriage as I have read in years. It's an incredible book by an incredible author. It will break your heart and leave you gasping." Elizabeth McCracken, author of The Giant's House

Review:

"Lonesome Animals is an impure marvel. This cowboy noir is loaded with lyrical detail, black humor, and a kind of antic despair. At its center is the compromised lawman Russell Strawl, a pilgrim making slow progress through the blasted ruins of Western myth. He turns violence into a kind of brutal music and provides the weary, stubborn heart of this astonishing debut." Max Phillips, Shamus-winning author of Fade to Blonde

Review:

"Lonesome Animals is exhilarating. The dialogue will blow your hair back, the description of land is prose poetry, and the violence is shocking for its intensity and sudden occurrence. This is a study of morality in a world that has lost its morals, a work that transcends its epic story of good versus evil. No character is spared and neither is the reader. Bruce Holbert's fierce novel will enter the canon as a classic." Chris Offutt, author of Kentucky Straight

Review:

"A lyrical, almost poetic novel. Holbert vividly captures the essence of his characters and of the place that spawned them in Lonesome Animals." Mystery Maven Blog

Synopsis:

Russell Strawl is called out of retirement to hunt a serial killer who has been leaving elaborately carved bodies of Native Americans across three counties. Strawl's own dark and violent history weaves itself into the hunt, shedding light on the remains of his broken family, which in turn leads him to the identity of the killer.

In the vein of True Grit and Blood Meridian, Lonesome Animals is a western novel reinvented, a detective story inverted for the west. It is also about one mans urgent, elegiac search for justice amidst the craven acts committed on the edges of civilization.

About the Author

Bruce Holbert is a graduate of the University of Iowa Writers Workshop. His work has appeared in The Iowa Review, Hotel Amerika, Other Voices, The Antioch Review, Crab Creek Review, The West Wind Review, and Cairn. Bruce Holbert grew up at the foot of the Okanogan Mountains. His great-grandfather was an Indian scout and among the first settlers of the Grand Coulee.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Lennox, January 13, 2014 (view all comments by Lennox)
A literary masterpiece largely unnoticed by critics, Lonesome Animals is set in eastern Washington in the 1930s, where the bleak landscape is the background for a series of flamboyant and grisly murders. Russell Strawl, a sheriff as dry and tough as the jerky he carries in his saddlebags, is called out of retirement to find the killer. The characters are memorable, the suspense is gripping, and the themes of violence and the power of myth are worthy of lengthy discussion. But the star of the show is the writer's elegant and splendid prose. This author deserves a place in the revisionist Western pantheon right next to Cormac McCarthy.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781619021563
Author:
Holbert, Bruce
Publisher:
Counterpoint
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Westerns - General
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20130514
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. Reverend America Used Trade Paper $8.50
  2. Turn Left at Orion: A Hundred Night... Used Hardcover $17.50
  3. Space Chronicles: Facing the... Sale Trade Paper $8.98

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Debut Fiction
Fiction and Poetry » Westerns » General

Lonesome Animals New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Counterpoint - English 9781619021563 Reviews:
"Review" by , "From the opening sentence of Holbert's remarkable debut, it is obvious that we are in the hands of a master storyteller....Holbert's prose is simultaneously roughly hewn and elegant, and recalls Cormac McCarthy at his best, as do his insights into the relationship between predator and prey. Call it literary fiction, classic western realism, or historical noir, Holbert is a writer of formidable skill and this auspicious debut should have considerable crossover appeal."
"Review" by , "Holbert's unsettling book demands a strong stomach....At the end the reader will feel relief or satisfaction or some combination, and tip a sweat-stained hat to Holbert for raising the stakes of the Western genre....Holbert's sympathies seem to align with the quality of his prose: the land is rendered in loving, even exquisite detail, so too the crimes....Holbert has gone all-in: This book is audacious."
"Review" by , "Lonesome Animals is dark, beautiful, compelling, strange, vivid; part Western, part detective story, altogether brilliant. With the authority of myth, it is a book obsessed with justice and history, and its two main characters — the retired lawman Russell Strawl and his prophet son Elijah — are as harrowing and moving a marriage as I have read in years. It's an incredible book by an incredible author. It will break your heart and leave you gasping."
"Review" by , "Lonesome Animals is an impure marvel. This cowboy noir is loaded with lyrical detail, black humor, and a kind of antic despair. At its center is the compromised lawman Russell Strawl, a pilgrim making slow progress through the blasted ruins of Western myth. He turns violence into a kind of brutal music and provides the weary, stubborn heart of this astonishing debut."
"Review" by , "Lonesome Animals is exhilarating. The dialogue will blow your hair back, the description of land is prose poetry, and the violence is shocking for its intensity and sudden occurrence. This is a study of morality in a world that has lost its morals, a work that transcends its epic story of good versus evil. No character is spared and neither is the reader. Bruce Holbert's fierce novel will enter the canon as a classic."
"Review" by , "A lyrical, almost poetic novel. Holbert vividly captures the essence of his characters and of the place that spawned them in Lonesome Animals."
"Synopsis" by , Russell Strawl is called out of retirement to hunt a serial killer who has been leaving elaborately carved bodies of Native Americans across three counties. Strawl's own dark and violent history weaves itself into the hunt, shedding light on the remains of his broken family, which in turn leads him to the identity of the killer.

In the vein of True Grit and Blood Meridian, Lonesome Animals is a western novel reinvented, a detective story inverted for the west. It is also about one mans urgent, elegiac search for justice amidst the craven acts committed on the edges of civilization.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.