Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | March 10, 2015

    Shawn Donley: IMG Claire Fuller: The Powells.com Interview



    Claire FullerOur Endless Numbered Days tells the story of eight-year-old Peggy and her survivalist father, James, who inexplicably leave behind their London home... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
12 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

Travel Light Revised Edition

by

Travel Light Revised Edition Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Travel Light is the story of Halla, a girl born to a king but cast out onto the hills to die. She lives among bears; she lives among dragons. But the time of dragons is passing, and Odin All-Father offers Halla a choice: Will she stay dragonish and hoard wealth and possessions, or will she travel light?"

—Amal El-Mohtar, NPR, You Must Read This

From the dark ages to modern times, from the dragons of medieval forests to Constantinople, this is a fantastic and philosophical fairy-tale journey that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Diana Wynne Jones, and T. H. Whites The Sword in the Stone.

"No one knows better how to spin a fairy tale than Naomi Mitchison.”—The Observer

"Read it now."—Ursula K. Le Guin

"You will love this book."—Holly Black

"The enchantments of Travel Light contain more truth, more straight talking, a grittier, harder-edged view of the world than any of the mundane descriptions of daily life you will find in … science fiction stories."

— Paul Kincaid, SF Site

"A gem of a book."

— Strange Horizons

"Every page is full of magic and wonder….well worth seeking out."— Rambles

"Combines the best of Rowling and Pullman, being full of magic and fantasy with the hard edge of reality sharp at its edges."

— The New Review/LauraHird.com

Synopsis:

A young woman is transformed by a magical journey.

Synopsis:

“No one knows better how to spin a fairy tale than Naomi Mitchison.”—The Observer

“Read it now.”—Ursula K. Le Guin

“You will love this book.”—Holly Black

From the dark ages to modern times, from the dragons of medieval forests to Constantinople, this is a fantastic and philosophical fairy-tale journey that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Diana Wynne Jones, and T. H. White’s The Sword in the Stone.

About the Author

Naomi Mitchison, author of over 70 books, died in 1999 at the age of 101. She was born in, and lived in, Scotland but traveled widely throughout the world. In the 1960s she was adopted as adviser and mother of the Bakgatla tribe in Botswana.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781931520140
Author:
Mitchison, Naomi
Publisher:
Peapod Classics
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Girls
Subject:
Princesses
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literary
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Series:
Peapod Classics
Publication Date:
20050831
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
144
Dimensions:
7 x 5.5 x 0.4 in 6 oz
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. The house of sleep Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Kalpa Imperial: The Greatest Empire... New Trade Paper $16.00
  3. Doctor Zhivago Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. Wolf Solent Used Hardcover $7.50
  5. The Winshaw Legacy: Or, What a Carve Up!
    Used Trade Paper $10.00
  6. Stranger Things Happen
    New Trade Paper $16.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Humanities » Mythology » Folklore and Storytelling

Travel Light Revised Edition New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.00 In Stock
Product details 144 pages Small Beer Press - English 9781931520140 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A young woman is transformed by a magical journey.
"Synopsis" by ,

“No one knows better how to spin a fairy tale than Naomi Mitchison.”—The Observer

“Read it now.”—Ursula K. Le Guin

“You will love this book.”—Holly Black

From the dark ages to modern times, from the dragons of medieval forests to Constantinople, this is a fantastic and philosophical fairy-tale journey that will appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Diana Wynne Jones, and T. H. White’s The Sword in the Stone.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.